1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Latest 785G Motherboards Continue to Support Core Unlocking

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 30, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,855 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    When it first surfaced that some triple-core and dual-core AMD Phenom series processors could make their disabled cores available under special circumstances thanks to shoddy BIOS-coding associated with the Advanced Clock Calibration (ACC), the anomaly quickly transformed into a potential selling-point for AMD processors, that with the right motherboard, a cheaper AMD processor could be unlocked into a significantly powerful processor for the price. Although AMD made noise calling motherboard vendors to quickly isolate and fix the issue, months on, it hasn't been fixed even with AMD's newest desktop platform based on the AMD 785G+SB710 chipset. An almost deliberate precedent, one we can't have problem with.

    Chinese website Coolaler.com has learned that MSI's newest AMD 785G motherboard, the 785GM-E65, can not only unlock the two disabled cores on the Phenom II X2 550, but also provide reasonable overclocking stability for the processor. Coolaler used a retail Phenom II X2 550 on the new motherboard, and simply set the ACC feature in the BIOS setup to "auto" (which enables it from the BIOS end). The system booted with all physical cores on the processor enabled, and allowed overclocking it to 3.609 GHz (18 x 200 MHz, 1.344 V). The chip was subjected to full-load using two instances of Orthos to test its stability, to which it emerged fairly stable.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Coolaler
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  2. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Board looks cool. Good use of ports, and sweet feature of unlocking cores! I wonder if AMD will start lasering the cores now :(

    PS: Sweet new avvy ;)
     
  3. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,251 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    what in the ? is that multi-colored PS2 port (for keyboard or mouse or both together)? and what is that black thing about the PS2 port?
     
  4. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Latvia
    PS2 port colors makes me wanna get this lol.
     
  5. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Dual color means it will work with either mouse or keyboard.

    Above appears to be a V.92 modem port.
     
  6. mamisano New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    43 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    More likely optical audio (TOSLINK) out.
     
  7. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    I still don't think this is accidental. It's too easy to restore those cores.
     
  8. MrAlex New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    99 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    An evil scheme by AMD so that Quad-Core secretly take over, then 1 day we discover they aren't faulty and AMD transmits a secret signal that unlocks all 4 cores and says BITCHES ITS 4+ FROM NOW ON!
     
    Meizuman says thanks.
  9. wolf2009 Guest

    lol, wish it were so
     
  10. MrAlex New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    99 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Or maybe people know there's a chance to unlock 4 cores so it increases sales? :p
     
  11. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    837 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Latvia
    I know :p :toast:
     
  12. nINJAkECIL

    nINJAkECIL New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    235 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    the disabled cores aren't 100% working....
    strange things though...when doing the benchmark (3DMark, Cinebench, SuperPi, etc..) all 4 cores working smoothly, even when overclocking, but things turns ugly when doing just browsing...got random hangs...
    maybe it's just the bios...dunno

    1 thing for sure...you got another toy when buying X2 550 :D
     
  13. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    why do they lock cores? if you can unlock them where is the point in locking them anyway?
     
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2009
  14. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    im building the 785 for my brother (gygabyte) i like building for ppl cause me gets to test it!

    the chip they sell is the one supported by amd at the price and at the cores they release it at. period and yes u can unlock them (mobo companies doing) they arnt nesssary "locking them"
     
  15. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    If all dual cores were unlockable it would kill AMD. But allowing here and there. That is smart. Not killing the quad sales only improving the dual core ones.
     
  16. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    it hasnt killed anythinng if anything it made the chips more popular. There is no now and then, they know they can do it. Plus the new 95w are on the way. After phenom series im sure they wont alow it. People who want there max everything will still go for 955 and 965. being able to unclock lower chips will just be a bonus for those who couldnt. AMD didnt formaly ask them to stop anything especialy with the upcoming chipset. why would they? its helping. watchng the market latley?
     
  17. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I think you may be right. Either way, weird placement, though.
     
  18. tastegw

    tastegw

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    314 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    phenom x2 550 is one cheap quad! (j/k)
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,484 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    looks like a nice little board - and yes, thats a phone jack for a modem. Its not optical TOSLINK. Being an AMD chipset, they'll do digital audio via the HDMI.
     
    DanishDevil says thanks.
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Nope. It's a toslink port. http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=754
     
  21. inferKNOX

    inferKNOX

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    902 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    SouthERN Africa
    W00T! AMD, ATi & MSi are doing great!:rockout:
    I see myself sticking with them for the foreseeable future!:D
     
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,484 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,763
    really?

    It has no covery-flap thing.

    edit: ah yeah, i can see it. its black, so it blends in. all the ones i've seen, we're grey (or detachable)
     
  23. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    671 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    The BIOSTAR 785G+710 combo can unlock cores to, and even support a 6GHz+ OC to boot, but I like the more extensive rear port layout of this MSI one.
     
  24. aj28 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    352 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Looks good.

    No, I don't think the core unlocking is an accident. Rather, I think it's a hole AMD is willing to leave open to attract enthusiasts and tweakers back to their crowd. Not something they'll advertise, for fear of misrepresentation, but definitely a quiet and purposeful gesture.

    Also, no, I doubt they'll laser. Keep in mind that we don't know at what stage of production these things are diagnosed as being defective, not to mention the plausibility and more importantly the cost effectiveness of such a measure. Hell, AMD may not be cutting them simply to save a bit of cash on the process. They need to get rid of the defective cores one way or another anyway, so there's no point in intentionally crippling them any more than a fault in manufacturing already has.
     
  25. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Id definitely grab this board if it allows unlocking and damn good oc's and stability.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page