1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Latest iMacs Suffer From Graphics Freeze

Discussion in 'News' started by Polaris573, Oct 4, 2007.

  1. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    Apple's latest iMacs suffer seem to suffer from a graphics card problem that causes the computer screens to lock up. Numerous discussion threads on Apple's support forums report that, while the iMac display becomes unresponsive, the Mac itself appears to work normally. Apparently indicating the fault relates to the iMac's ATI Radeon HD card. iMac users suffering the screen freeze can get their Mac working again with a hard restart. Some users claim the fault appeared after they had installed recent software drivers (v1.1) for the Radeon HD card -- others claim that restoring the iMac to factory settings fixes the machine. While Apple is alleged to be aware of the issue, no fix for the flaw has yet been made available.

    Source: PC World
  2. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I would point to the mac drivers personally. Im not familiar with macs or ATI cards and their drivers with macs, but it seems like a driver conflict or miscall to me.
  3. Fuse-Wire

    Fuse-Wire New Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    855 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Scotland, Far away from normality as possible
    i would have to say it must be the mac drivers too, ive never had a problem with any ATI card i have came across especially drivers, almost all my friends have got ATI cards at never heard a problem, mind you none of them have one in a mac so i cant pinpoint any problems. one way or another it seems to only be on macs
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,700 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,861
    Definitely sounds like a driver issue.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  5. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Apple has offically said this problem is caused by the ATI Raedon HD. This is apparent from the fact that the OS still runs, but the display is frozen. Sounds to me like this is a graphics driver problem conflicting with UNIX OS X drivers.
  6. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,889 (8.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,462
    I use a G5 everyday for work. Iv been using Macs for well over ten years and I can tell you the drivers have ALWAYS sucked. Nothing beats OSX for stability but if you want to do anything other than Photoshop and Freehand you better get a PC.
  7. DMSMac_Consult New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2006
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Wouldn't be the first time an embedded Radeon chip had a problem in a Mac though ... tons of dual-USB iBooks had problems with the Radeon graphics chip that caused a massive motherboard recall.

    And I have a Radeon 2400PRO from MSI in my PC, and occassionally I get screen freezes and activating the VPU recovery feature is the only thing that brings it back. So it could be inherent to the 2400 chipset. It'd be interesting to know whether the both the 2400 and 2600 equipped iMacs are having problems, or just one or the other.
  8. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Oh man that sucks for people that happens to. Also considering they have to use special drivers.
  9. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    That's why I would rather use a PC :)
  10. xylomn

    xylomn New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    661 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Swindon, England, United Kingdom
    so much for the so called 'it just works' computer lol
  11. Ravenas

    Ravenas

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    4,635 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Tennessee
    It's no better on a PC; people experience the same problems frequently just not necessarily with their OS, but rather a software based app.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page