1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Lavalys Starts The New Year With The Release of EVEREST v5.00

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 6, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Lavalys announces the general availability of version 5.00 of its EVEREST family of products which includes the widely used PC diagnostics and benchmarking tool EVEREST Ultimate Edition and the popular IT asset management and network monitoring solution EVEREST Corporate Edition.

    This release improves upon EVEREST's already impressive set of tools with some brand new features and a very long list of enhancements in direct response to customer feedbacks. Under the hood, version 5.00 continues the long tradition of accuracy and comprehensiveness brought by previous versions with support for the latest hardware technologies bringing the total number of specific supported devices over 85,000.

    Some of these new features and enhancements include:
    • New alerting feature that triggers on overheating, voltage drop, overvoltage and cooling fan failure.
    • Support for Intel Core i7 “Nehalem”, Intel Atom "Diamondville" and AMD Phenom II "Deneb" processors.
    • Support for OpenGL 3.0 with OpenGL version compliancy test.
    • Support for Windows 7 and a new auto-load feature under Windows Vista.
    • Extended audio information by adding OpenAL and High Definition Audio pages.
    • New information page for installed Windows Vista Sidebar Gadgets.
    • GPGPU devices information for ATI Stream and nVIDIA CUDA.

    Pricing and Availability

    EVEREST Ultimate Edition and EVEREST Corporate Edition 5.00 are available immediately for download at www.lavalys.com. EVEREST licenses can be purchased directly from Lavalys Online Store or from your local Lavalys reseller. For more information about our products, upgrade policies and pricing, please contact us at sales at lavalys.com.

    Source: Lavalys
     
  2. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Its really awesome, but it sucks you have to pay for it.
     
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,008 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
    yeah unfortunately even programmers have to eat. how can they eat? buy bread. how do they buy bread? money. no money, no programmer, no software.
     
    PVTCaboose1337 and 1c3d0g say thanks.
  4. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Yes that is very true.

    Just bought a key.:D
     
  5. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    eh Everest. Intel's chipset ultility says that I have GM965 but Everest says PM965. :)
     
  6. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Support for Windows 7 and a new auto-load feature under Windows Vista

    That was added in the 4.60 betas a while ago, wish I could use existing key :ohwell:
     
  7. Haytch

    Haytch New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Australia
    Long story short . . . There was an issue in purchasing my licence and i ended up with a second licence. Anyone want to offer my computer an oral examination ?
     
  8. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    So you got a second license for free?
     
  9. swaaye

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    234 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    They have a reduced cost for upgrades.
     
  10. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    296
    I used my existing key, no problems. I even copied and pasted my .ini from the 4.60 version into the 5.00 version so I would not have to redo all my preferences.
     
    alexp999 says thanks.
  11. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Does that work? :D

    Will give it a go.

    Thanks

    EDIT:

    Downloaded the zip version, pasted files into Everest directory and it carried on as norm! :D
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2009
  12. Haytch

    Haytch New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Australia
    Not exactly. I think the best way to explain what happened would be to use the good old saying, 'Never get a women to do a mans job'.
     
  13. FilipM

    FilipM New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    802 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Bitola, Macedonia
    I just installed mine, it sort of upgraded (installed in same folder, same icon works) license worked.
     
  14. Haytch

    Haytch New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Australia
    I use to have the older version installed and never thought of saving the .ini files for my settings, so i just cut the whole folder and relocated it off my o.s partition. Everytime i formatted, it made no difference, because everest could be started by going to the relocated directory. This always maintained my settings (Except startup, but i prefer to manually boot up Everest anyways).

    Ive installed the new version and i tried to copy my .ini files over to the new version but i dont get the custom OSD panel :( Any advice ?
     
  15. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    296
    Strange, I have been using the same everest.ini file for at least six months, over probably a dozen BETA releases of 4.60, and it worked the same from 4.60.1631 to 5.00.1650.
     
  16. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    296
    BTW, the first BETA for 5.00 is available.
     
  17. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,569 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    675
    Installed v5.0 right over 4.60 and i dont have to put in a new key. Im carrying on as though i didnt upgrade.
     
  18. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    296
    I am curious, how do you install over the previous version, just copy the new files to the existing folder?
     
  19. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,569 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    675
    I just ran the exe for version 5.00. It installed and no issues.
     
  20. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    296
    Hmm...

    When I ran the .exe, it installed a "Lavalys" folder, while my previous 4.60 was in a folder named "everestultimate_build_1631_zx2ctmy3swb". That is probably why I needed to enter my key and copy the .ini file to the new version?
     
  21. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,569 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    675
    Not for me. :confused:
     
  22. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    296
    So, did 5.00 install to the same folder as your previous version?

    Or, if it installed to a new folder, you are saying your license key and .ini file automatically were imported to the new folder?

    EDIT: BETA 1655 is available if anyone is interested.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2009
  23. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,569 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    675
    It installed in the same folder as 4.60.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page