1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Leaked Slides Reveal Details on Intel Atom 'Bay Trail-T' Platform

Discussion in 'News' started by Cristian_25H, Nov 19, 2012.

  1. Cristian_25H

    Cristian_25H News Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,626 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Still on the East Side
    As confirmed by some freshly-leaked slides, 2014 will see Intel bring some new guns to the fight with ARM, including Bay Trail-T, the successor of Clover Trail and the first Atom platform to take advantage of the 22 nm manufacturing process.

    The star of Bay Trail-T is the Valleyview SoC which will feature four (out-of-order) Silvermont cores clocked at up to 2.1 GHz (delivering up to 60% higher performance than the Clover Trail chip), a two-channel LPDDR3 memory controller, an upgraded video decoder, support for resolutions up to 2560 x 1600 pixels, and a new GPU boasting DirectX 11 capabilities and offering up to a 3x performance boost over Clover Trail.

    Devices based on Bay Trail-T are expected to have a standby battery life of 20 days and would last for 11 hours of continuous video playback, before needing to be charged.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Mobile Geeks
     
    Naito says thanks.
  2. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    wow, that's A LOT of power that Bay Trail-T is packing. Very impressive...
     
  3. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,154 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    466
    Location:
    Burlington, VT
    Intel doesn't fuck around.
     
  4. mayankleoboy1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    It only fucks up.
     
    de.das.dude and [Ion] say thanks.
  5. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    831 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    Why not enable HT on the quad-core part?
     
  6. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Heat, much of it
     
  7. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    831 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
    HT doesn't increase heat output - look at 3770K vs. 3570K, 2600K vs 2500K.
     
  8. CounterZeus

    CounterZeus

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    232 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Belgium
    a chip with HT enabled will *possibly* produce more heat, because more of the CPU might be used. Still, max heat output should be the same...
     
  9. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,838 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,024
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Ever since AMD started churning out AMD Fusion chips, most of the Atom CPU's are meh. I wonder how these stack up against latest AMD APU's.
     
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,776 (9.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,237
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    CPU side probably better but the GPU side probably not as always.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    That is exactly what it does :)
    I have all 4, tested a lot of times, HTs are much hotter @ load, naturally.
    2 CPUs can be under a certain TDP, that doesn't mean they consume the same and produce the same amount of heat :)
     
  12. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    499 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Mmm.... Out of Order execution

    May make for some decent tablets sitting between the ARM-based Windows RT and the ultra-low voltage Core i processor-based variants. Good midpoint for battery and performance.
     
  13. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,916 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,121
    GPU side will still be meh. its intel afterall.
     
  14. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Intel needs to bring OoO Atom to the market already. Atom is a lackluster boring underperformer. And they just CUT the best Atom they had... the D2700 because they priced it too high / performance.

    LOL WUT? 32-bit only OS coverage? For 2014/2015/2016?!! (based on 3 years average commissioning/implementation life). And what is "compute continuum"? Sounds like an indie band.
     
    dieterd says thanks.
  15. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,915 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,434
    A lot of early low power Atoms have/had HT as well, as well as modern ones. So not a whole lot of extra heat there.

    Didn't they get OoO a while ago?

    EDIT: Nope it seems not. I read about it a while ago but that was just confirmation they're getting there. :)
     
  16. dieterd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    120 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    they need 22nm atoms right now not after 2 years... or they think that ARM's will snooze for 2 years?
     
  17. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    849 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Look behind you!!
    Yes it does and it always has.
     
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    About time they bring out of order to the atoms.
     
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Still lacks VTx, still only 32 bit, still going to buy an APU.
     
  20. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,915 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,434
    I don't see how VTx helps Atom tbh, and there have always been 64 bit versions. Wikipedia says this though:

     
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Mini-servers, VM's, tons of uses for VTx not everyone wants to lug around a 15-17" laptop when they can do what they need on a 10.6" one. Good that they have 64 bit that was getting a bit sad. Intel crippled the holy hell out of the old models.
     
  22. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,617 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    326
    Virtualize on an Atom? VTx seems worthless until at least the i3s
     
  23. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Why mini servers work for small companies. For a server to work right you need vt.
     
  24. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Atom Desktop can do 64 bit
    Atom Mobile can't
     
  25. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,750 (3.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    Location:
    Mexico
    OoO 64bit and 4 cores until 2014... meh... I'll keep buying Bobcats. Thank you.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page