1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

learning about GPU

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Knoxx29, Jul 24, 2014.

  1. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    847 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all.
    I am learning about GPU I was testing my GPU to see how it works, about temperatures and so on,
    Here its a pic of it while it was tested,
    Can someone expert tell me if these
    Numbers are good or if there's something I could change.
    20140724_234446.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2014
  2. Volks New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Messages:
    6 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    nothing bad here. what bothers you?
     
  3. m&m's

    m&m's

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    257 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    210
    Location:
    North
    Your GPU seems to be running at 2D clocks. It says 99% load, it's only running at 540MHz and your voltage is at 0.887V, but I don't like FurMark. You should try GPU-Z to get all the info you need about your graphic card.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    847 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Germany
    I was just curious, what do I need to do to run
    At 3D clocks
     
  5. LightningJR

    LightningJR

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    279 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Precision is showing the proper numbers so the core clock is correct. 3D/2D clocks change based on load. I don't see any issues with the pic, do have a problem? If not then I am confused as to what you want.
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  6. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    847 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Germany
    What do you mean 3D/2D change based on load?
     
  7. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    347 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Jyväskylä, Finland
    There's a button called "prt src" in your keyboard..
     
    THE_EGG and GreiverBlade say thanks.
  8. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    847 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Germany
    And, what's that mean?
     
  9. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    US
    lol, he is trolling you guys :)
     
  10. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    847 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Germany
    I bet
     
  11. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,465 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,739
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    nope ... he's explaining a logical way to take a screenshot of the desktop and soft running .... : Prt Scr then Ctrl+C in paint or any other image software (personally i use Irfanview)...

    and by the way, Furmark isnt a good tool for that purpose ... mostly make throttle any card (seems that your watercooled 770 4gb is throttling to me ... my 580 did the same when i stress tested it with Furmark/Kombustor, running at half of the core speed, but it was a air cooled ahah )

    IE:
    example.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2014
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  12. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    US
    jeeesus, all of you guys are either trolls or special.
     
  13. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,465 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,739
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    nope we are explaining something to the OP aka teaching him something ... ok 9700Pro didn't wrote it the good way but still ...
    and remember Trolls is kinda insulting: don't use it for nothing unless you are sure it's a real troll ...

    and special : better be special than normal because normality doesn't exist nowadays : it's called being sheepish

    also more info on Kombustor(Furmark) stress throttling
    https://www.google.com/search?q=Kombustopr&gws_rd=ssl#q=kombustor throttling you can see it happens quite often (but the temps are higher since mostly on air cooled card)

    Sample 2:
    example 2.jpg
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  14. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    847 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Germany
    If furmark isn't a good tool, which one should I use insted?
     
  15. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,465 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,739
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    none?

    just monitor your card with EVGA Precision in your daily use: no need to stress test a GPU, if he's stable during your daily use then no worries to have on your OC

    also as you can see on my post above the scam about winning money easily .... my 290 doesn't throttle ... i think FurMark hate nVidia o_O
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  16. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    847 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Germany
    Haahhaha, good one.
    Btw, I was thinking to overclock my GPU, is there any benefit doing it?
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  17. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,465 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,739
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    well ... i had a Zotac GTX770 2gb AMP, with a good OC it can reach a stock 780 level (and a R9 290 stock level xD ) and since your's is watercooled it might even deal a bit more oomph
    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  18. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    847 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Germany
    But I mean, it's a deal overclocking the 770
    Superclocked version
     
  19. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,465 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,739
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    i didn't quite get what you try to ask ? :D

    btw factory OC come with a premium unjustified price most of the time (but it does count for the non reference cooler, like the Zotac i had ... well if i paid it full retail price that is ... )
    IE: my R9 290 is a plain stock 290 from ASUS yet even like that i can OC it to reach "factory Oc'ed card" but it cost quite a bit less (if i paid it the full retail price ... that is... )

    also my post above answered your question as it show the "gain" of a 770 OC'ed further than the stock OC of the card (as a basic example ofc)
     
  20. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    847 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Germany
    I meant, my GPU it's the evga geforce gtx 770 superclocked version, and I want to do some further overclock to it, but I ask ml it's a deal on a superclocked gpu to do further overclock?
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  21. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,465 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,739
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    always, as i said my Zotac one was a factory OC one (and one of the highest at the time) so as the chart i posted above shows, it's always something to take, plus it's free (if it's stable tho ... my Zotac was kinda a bad clocker only 5-10% on core/mem clock but since already factory OC'ed the gain over a stock was quite good.)
     
  22. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    847 (2.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Germany
    Got it now, it's time to learn how to overclock a GPU, as you said mine it's watercooled so it can be push it further
     
  23. LightningJR

    LightningJR

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    279 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    I love to overclock but as I get older I find myself overclocking less on my GPU UNLESS I am having performance issues or I am trying to reach a FPS goal. I would say only overclock it if you aren't satisfied with the frame-rate you're getting now. When I first got my GTX 670 at launch I didn't OC it at all for a long while because I had no need for it. Now though I do, when I play a more intensive game, if I find the time between Diablo 3 and DOTA 2 that is. :p ;)
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  24. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    347 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Jyväskylä, Finland
    In fact wasn't trolling, just wondering that why people take photos with camera/phone on the screen.. I've used prt src over 10 years and never took photo from the screen. :|
     
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
  25. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,465 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,739
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    i do sometime ... for unigine's benchies where prt scrn and ctrl+v doesn't work ... (solutioned with Dropbox auto screencap upload xD) also TPU screencapture didn't do the trick for these bench :D but for FurMark/Kombustor yep it works flawlessly
    i already disculped you of trolling intent (aka: read above ;) ) and the OP seems that he found the answers needed :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page