1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Legacy Dual cores & Quad cores w/modern GPU & games

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by 1ceTr0n, Feb 8, 2013.

  1. 1ceTr0n

    1ceTr0n

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    208 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Pretty interesting and surprising. Glad I ditched my E8500 over a year ago when I did or I'd really be hurting in the game department, but it does well for my HTPC needs now. So much for the "higher clocked dual cores are better for gaming vs slower quad core" that was very prevalent in many tech forums just a few years ago, the PC gaming hardware scene has really change.

    I would have like to have seen a 680 or even a dual SLI setup thrown in for comparison along with the very popular E8400-8600 C2D CPUs that a lot of people ran and still continue to run.


    http://hothardware.com/Reviews/GPU-Redux-Can-Old-DualCores-Drive-A-Modern-Graphics-Card/?page=1


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2013
  2. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    It has more to do thatn dual core vs quad core. The amount of L3 cache is much higher since the E8500 days and it depends if the app is single or multi-threaded.
     
  3. 1ceTr0n

    1ceTr0n

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    208 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205

    Hey, I didn't do the test, I just linked the article. Don't shoot the messenger.
     
  4. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,743 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    194
    Location:
    US
    I remember running my single core Athlon 64 3500+ with 8800GT...
    That was fun. :)

    8800GT did help a LOT, but obviously, even overclocked, that CPU couldn't keep up
     
  5. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    302 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    I used to have a Q6600 clocked at 3.7Ghz, would be interesting to see how that would fare nowadays (probably better than my FX 4100 lol )
     
  6. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    :rockout: just sayin don't shoot me!:toast:
     
  7. 1ceTr0n

    1ceTr0n

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    208 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    I ran a Athlon 64 3700+ back in late 2005 for my new rig when it was "the king" at the time being the first 64bit cpu out in the consumer market. Even with my 7800GT, my 3700+ started to get real slow looking when Intel finally kicked into gear its Core Duo lineup. After that, it was the end of my AMD days for me. I retired it to my first HTPC build with Windows 2005 Media center years ago but it still ran like a freaking old dog with arthritis, couldn't even run streamed 720p feeds worth a damn....
     
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2013
  8. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,204 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    974
    Location:
    Miami
    just goes to show how much slower CPUs age than gfx cards ever since conroe.
     
  9. 1ceTr0n

    1ceTr0n

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    208 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    Be entertaining to see a Presc"hot" cpu thrown into the mix. I remember AMD making some kinda hot plate hand holders and handing them out to attendee's for one of their big public meetings just to really give Intel a hard time because the CPU was so terrible back in the day. :D

    Oh wait, here it is, the "Prescott Survival Kit" rofl!!

    [​IMG]
     
  10. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,825 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    So all I need to do is Oc my Q6600 some :)

    Would be fun to see W1zz do a review with a GTX 680 and a Q6600, E8400, and some others and see how the FPS is.

    And I agree CPU's last much longer than GPU's Performance wise.
     
  11. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    I have a friend who was rocking a single core AMD Athlon (Barton or Thoroughbred) until 2008 in his dedcated gaming machine. That machine saw a lot of hard use, and is still working as his daily driver websurfer as a Linux machine.

    CPUs last so long because most games are still console ports. The next console refresh will finally push people to upgrade, but then will stagnate for another decade or so.
     
  12. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,810 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,343
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    i guess its all from the software itself
    until now dual cores is more effective than 3 or 4 or 10 cores
    more cores more power but in real life you just can max just 1 or 2 core
     
  13. terrastrife New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    172 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Three cores is currently ideal, hence why quads beat duals in modern games.
    The reason for three cores, is because of the stupid xbox360, if a game is going to be on that, it won't be coded for anymore than three cores be it ported to or from pc.
    There are a very very few number of games that make use of four threads properly.

    Thankfully new consoles are like, going to be eight core + so finally the consoles wont be holding back video game progress.
     
  14. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,493 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,049
    Location:
    Mexico
    The Xbox 360 can use 6 threads.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. syeef

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    287 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    I tried to run my GTX680 with my old C2D E8400... it wasn't pretty :( . Looking for a Modern GPU that could support the E8400.
     
  16. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    I just recently put this one together...Q9550 in a Evga 790i Ultra SLI mb. I would be quite satisfied to use it as my daily and gamer if needed. Runs all games very well be it the GTX 295's or GTX 460's. :)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    (Sniper Elite w/GTX 295's installed)
    [​IMG]
     
  17. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,883 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    499
    This seems bias towards processor intensive games. I would have liked to have seen a wider selection.
     
  18. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    im looking to upgrade from my old Q8400 now, tried the FX4100 but it was actually slower in gaming(on my friends BD system) so i sent it back so those old phenom II and Core 2 Quads are not bad still, they were worth the money.
     
  19. ...PACMAN...

    ...PACMAN...

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    302 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Yep they are slow, I can vouch for that :D Everything is playing smooth though, how high did you manage to clock the FX 4100?
     
  20. Krazy Owl

    Krazy Owl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    900 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    Location:
    Montreal
    Man I'm still playing with a single core. I must be a really ancestral gamer then. :p
     
  21. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    4.4Ghz, could not get any more with all cores.
     
    ...PACMAN... says thanks.
  22. terrastrife New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    172 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Wow this has gone offtrack XD
    I shall add to it.
    On the same platform, my 1055T@ 3.6 was slower than a stock FX 8350 in BL2. The desktop itself just felt more smooth too.
    I had the 2 BD patches installed, Win7.
     
  23. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Looking at that article, I'd say scrap any dual core system and replace it with a quad core. Those graphics cards were really held back by the dual core CPU.

    Use the thing as a file server or something, like I did with my E8500 system. Nice and fast.
     
  24. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Games need quads nowadays.
    An overclocked 2500k is the paradigm for gaming with a modern gpu.
     
    mediasorcerer says thanks.
  25. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    692 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Toronto
    dang it, i was hoping this would go into more detail

    i need to know how much my q9550 3.6ghz would cripple a 7970 & i know it will (i'm looking for 60fps at least, not 120)

    i can sort of estimate what this OC is similar to (with cinebench, x264 bench, etc), a certain phenom ii x4 so i could technically find 7970 tests on that cpu

    also i think it's alright to focus on cpu limited games... it's more important to know if you'll be dipping in your 40s than 90s
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page