1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Lepa Shows Off 80 Plus Gold-Certified 1600W Full-Modular PSU

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Apr 9, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,246 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,584
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Lepa unveiled a mammoth-capacity 80 Plus Gold certified PSU, the G1600. As its name suggests, it is capable of delivering 1600W of power, which should be sufficient for quad-GPU gaming PCs or extreme overclocking benches. The PSU achieves its gargantuan capacity using six 12V rails, including two 20A and four 30A ones. The PSU is cooled by a 135 mm fan. It features fully-modular cabling, which appears to include two 8-pin EPS connectors, and as many as twelve 6+2 pin PCIe power connectors, apart from a large number of SATA/Molex/Berg connectors. The PSU will start shipping very soon.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Cowcotland
  2. Scatler

    Scatler

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    100 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    This might sound dumb but why and when would you need this much power? Won't 1 kw psu be enough for just about anything?
    Never the less this psu is quite impressive.
  3. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Duel Xeons + 3 680s overclocked in SLI :D
  4. crmaris

    crmaris Reviewer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    458 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    490
    Location:
    Greece
    1600 Watts. This could be really interesting!!
  5. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,898 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,188
    Finally something that exceeds that 1500W from Silverstone. Although there was that new Toughpower from Thermaltake recently with 1500W, almost forgot that.
  6. adulaamin

    adulaamin

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    630 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Baguio City, Philippines
    I hope you get one for a review... :)
  7. THE_EGG

    THE_EGG

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,387 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    407
    Location:
    Brisbane QLD, Australia
    correction on the GPU's, 4 GTX 480's overclocked in SLI :D
  8. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,613 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    348
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    Where is my 2kw psu?
  9. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,993 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,942
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Last edited: Apr 9, 2012
  10. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,613 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    348
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
  11. entropy13

    entropy13

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    4,898 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,188
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,993 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,942
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I bet your cooling solution for a system that would use something like this wouldn't be limited to the case either, so I guess I don't really see your point of bringing this up, not that I'm disagreeing with you.
  13. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,613 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    348
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    Is 133a vs 144a combined so it's no weaker.
  14. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,993 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,942
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Except the PSU limits you to 133 A, even if the rails support more amperage it doesn't mean the PSU provides more juice. Just because it can deliver that much power doesn't mean that adding the maximum draw by each rail is going to equal the combined output for 12v as a whole. Keep in mind the amperage on each rail is what it, by itself, is capable of delivering, not the total maximum for the PSU, use the combined output for that.
  15. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,795 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I have a LEPA G900 and it seems to be very reliable in my biggest folding/crunching rig that has 2 GTX 460s and a 3.8GHz Phenom II 955BE @ 1.5v. The PCIe modular cables were the thickest I have ever seen on any of my PSUs (granted I haven't owned anythign over an 800w previously).

    I expect this PSU to be high quality as well. I wonder if it's based on an Enermax platform like mine, although it doesn't have the gold fan lol.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    1600w & 80+ Gold certified! AWESOME! Please try to review this crmaris, although i would never need something this robust i would like to see just how good of a unit it is! I think this could benefit smaller unit's :eek:
  17. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,246 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,584
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Try Bulldozer + Fermi tri-SLI on 1000W.
  18. bogami

    bogami

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    233 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Slovenia
    What do i see. ENERMAX 1500. It looks copied.:wtf: Or did they added 1- 2 more mostfets for 12 v rail.? Want to see interial parts.:nutkick:
    I berely use 1100 w(MAX.) on my sistem (4 way SLI ,GTX 590 -691 hz ,and 5 gh 2600k, GA-P67A-UD7-B3, REVODRIVE 240 GB ,Creative Blaster X-Fi HD titanium ,18 vent's, 2 pumps.4GB f-3 17600 CL7).

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page