1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Let me know how i did

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by dukercatfan, Jan 1, 2011.

  1. dukercatfan

    dukercatfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ky,USA
    my 1st *lite* gaming rig!
    didnt have much cash to work with....never built a computer either
    I did as much research as i could til i got sick of reading. I know its not a monster but any criticism is welcome so I can learn
    thanks TPU

    ps....I had some of the components from my old system ie hdd and sound card
     
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I definitely do not like it! :p J/K

    Where's the pics?! Are your 250's in a RAID array?
     
  3. dukercatfan

    dukercatfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ky,USA
    i only have the 1 pic sry...its my avatar.......the hdd are not in raid because i am new to all of this and dont know how to set raid up :/
    this is a morph from my old computer so kind of an upgrade not a true NEW system
     
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I'll help yah out if you want to do that. Also, welcome to TPU! :)
     
  5. dukercatfan

    dukercatfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ky,USA
    O yah I ll take any help i can get....It is very stable and runs DDO and BFBC2 very well. I just hope that i didnt waste a grand! I bought 3 extra fans and some adaptors and cables n such so the hardware cost me about 850.00.
    lol
    Ill be building the next 1 in 13 mos so Ill be reading up til then.....looks like my budge twill be 2k next time tho :)

    Ill be checkin this everyday
    thank you and cheers
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2011
  6. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    If you got at least 4GB of Ram then , sorry! to say this but... it is NOT a "lite" gaming rig but a really good budget gaming pc :toast:
     
    dukercatfan says thanks.
  7. dukercatfan

    dukercatfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ky,USA
    4 Gb ddr2.......ok Ill take that! Ive seen 2 , 3 and 4 grfx card sets tho so i figured mine is low end...Im new to the gaming thing. it seems to run good no lag but i dont put the card on high. its balanced or whatever.....not sure if i can overclock anything but the cpu. not even sure if i really need to.
     
  8. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,586 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    From what your system specs are, sounds like a great rig. :D
     
    dukercatfan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Only for guys that likes everything to max quality & super high resolution 30"+ monitor or multi-monitor setup , etc...

    For the rest of people like me (~75-80%) a mid range card is good enough although i am gona buy another 6850 this coming spring & crossfire...:D

    EDIT: BTW Welcome! to TPU :toast:
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2011
    dukercatfan says thanks.
  10. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    Congrats. :toast: Looks like a good solid build. I remember my first one. ;)
    @ Goodman.... Love the avy
     
    dukercatfan and Goodman say thanks.
  11. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Thx! i like all two of her too :D
     
  12. dukercatfan

    dukercatfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ky,USA
  13. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
  14. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,186 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,668
    Appears to be a decent build i would go with a better board and some DDR3 but overall good first build
     
    dukercatfan says thanks.
  15. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    Why did you went with ddr2? ddr3 is cheaper & faster today
     
  16. dukercatfan

    dukercatfan New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ky,USA
    my buddy got on me about the mem....i got the cpu and mobo 1st and that mobo only takes ddr2 i think...it only listed ddr2. and i wasnt sure if ddr3 would work in it.

    I oc cpu to 3.8 but no oc on card....it runs on balanced and my games on default which is high...

    windows index on last system that i got from gateway...$1400.00 w/ rating of 4.5
    My new build cheaper w/ rating of 6.9
    and runs stable so im happy
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page