1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

LG Flatron W2361V Blurring when in motion ?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by LifeOnMars, May 20, 2010.

  1. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Ok I recently bought this 23" LG 1080p monitor and although initially happy with its size and image clarity on static images I did notice some blurring when gaming. I wrote it off as having to adjust from my smaller CRT screen but alas it seems it is really bothering me now. When I camera pan in a game it just blurs everything in motion apart from the game character/object being controlled. It's the horizontal motion predominantly as opposed to vertical that is affected the most.

    I have tried -

    VGA Cable
    DVI-d Cable
    Turning off the monitors RTC - Response Time Compensation
    Using ATI LCD Overdrive ( had no effect)


    Nothing has worked so far:(


    It's that bad, I feel I had a better gaming experience with my old 17"CRT. At least when you moved the image held its resolution :( This new monitor looks fine when static images are displayed but thats no good for gaming is it??

    Any ideas or any help from anybody would be much appreciated :)
     
  2. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    how many games did you try, Might be specificaly related to one game?

    does it blur in movies as well?


    dont really have much expiriance in this department, but i thort those questions might help.
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  3. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    I have tried ALOT of games and it's not exclusive to any one of them,it is also made worse when the game has motion blur built into so I have tried turning that off and it still remains. With movies it does blur on the faster action sequences especially with panning and horizontal movement.
     
  4. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Is there any distinct possibility that an HDMI cable would sort this out? Although it would be using a DVI-d converter to my HD4870x2.
     
  5. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Very odd as it has apparently got a 2ms response time,which is pretty good.
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  6. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Exactly:mad: It's very annoying and starting to hurt my eyes as I try to adjust my focus even though it's the monitor that is causing the blur. I have had LCD monitors in the past and i dont remember having this issue with them. I'm at a loss really and need to sort it as i love my games :)
     
  7. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    i dont think this is somthing that HDMI would fix, especialy if DVI dosnt fix it.


    HDMI is really just DVI + Audio.
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  8. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Maybe a dumb question but are you sure you have it set at its optimal resolution and refresh rate ? :confused:
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  9. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Yep 1920x1080 @60........um, looks like I'm going to have to return this thing doesn't it? Gutted as its so nice having a bigger wider screen but smoothness in gaming is a must for me.

    Just hooked the CRT back up and although colour, size and sharpness suffers.....movement of images is flawless and crystal clear.

    How much is it for a widescreen CRT with a higher res than 1280x1024?
     
  10. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Just get another LCD could be a one off issue, I wouldnt recommend buying a CRT, for starters you cant buy them new anyway so you will have no warranty and I dont think there are any widescreen CRT monitors. As I said if it is a problem its just one of those things, try again and see how you go
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  11. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    Location:
    Portugal
    Hi!

    Return it and try to get a new good one.
    I have the very same monitor running on Full-HD with DVI and I have no blur whatsoever.
    So it must some problem with the monitor's refresh rate.

    CRT widescreen monitors must be very expensive and hard to get (if there are any existing).

    If it helps, I'm running my setup with Catalyst like this:
    Resolution - 1920x1080 @ 60Hz
    3D Refresh Override - Off
    GPU Scaling - Off
    Reduce DVI frequency on high-res displays - Off
    Alternate DVI operational mode - Off
    AVIVO - Default
    HDTV Support - Default (nothing selected)
    LCD Override - Off
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2010
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  12. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Where is the 3D refresh override option? How is your screen connected - vga, dvi or hdmi?

    Also, could you look in your service menu and see the information it tells you as that would be a great help - turn monitor off, hold the menu button and turn monitor back on whilst still holding the menu key.

    Let me know what it says, thanks :)
     
  13. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    Location:
    Portugal
    My screen is connected via DVI.

    The 3D refresh override option is in the Display Options in the Catalyst.

    My Service Menu reports the following:

    CLEAR ETI > NO
    AUTO COLOR > NO
    AGING > OFF
    PANEL > LGD230 1080
    NVRAM INIT > NO
    HPD TIME > 500

    The rest is the version of the screen, I guess, which is 2.00, and below are the color attributes...nothing there interesting...

    I forgot to say I installed the forte Manager and the display drivers form the LG website...although I didn't notice any difference after I installed the drivers. You should try it, if you haven't already.
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  14. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,830 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Unfortunately, there's nothing you can do. It's the basic nature of LCDs to do this, regardless that other people on here think they don't see it. It's because of their sample-and-hold characteristic, rather than the instantaneous illumination characteristic of a scanning dot that a CRT uses. At least they don't flicker annoyingly like CRTs :) (Even a CRT run at 100Hz flickers and even though you can't detect it consciously, you still get eyestrain from it).

    It doesn't matter how low the millisecond response rate is, you still get it; just a bit less with some monitors and less still if run at 120Hz.

    The only way to currently get rid of it, is to use an LCD monitor with nvidia's 3D Vision turned on. The 3D glasses completely eliminate the blurring and ghosting (due to their shutter operation) and the performance then is as good as a CRT, or better.

    I know all this, because I've got 3D Vision, came across the same problem and investigated it. Needless to say, I'm very disappointed. LCD displays are a big backwards step in this respect.

    In this one respect, CRTs are vastly superior and is why I've kept several old CRTs just for gaming, since they're not being made any more.
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  15. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    Location:
    Portugal
    I kinda noticed something in the beginning...but I rarely notice any blur now.

    I used a 17'' CRT for 8 years and when I switched to LCDs it was different, but the slight blur i saw, I though it was natural and that it came with the technology...so I ignored it...since almost all LCDs I use do this...

    In fact I noticed it more in my LG screen than in my laptop screen. I really cannot see any blur there.

    Actually I am having more trouble getting the contrast/brightness right, with the LCD screens.
     
  16. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Just gonna get used to it then :) But qubit, I agree.......CRT smoothness is epic, it retains the detail of image and clarity.
     
    qubit says thanks.
  17. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    One more thing, my monitor keeps reverting to 59HZ rather than 60HZ, I'm on Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit. Any fix for this as it seems to always revert straight away after I have just tried to change it?
     
  18. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,830 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    That's definitely a driver issue. I don't really know why it's doing it unfortunately, but have you got the latest driver and Windows patches on? Latest chipset drivers too, but in my experience, they don't make all that much difference. Computer usually works the same even without them.

    I came across this forum post googling while writing this post, which might have the answer:

    http://www.overclock.net/windows/515256-windows-7-59hz-60hz-workaround-fix.html
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  19. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Unfortunately thats only a fix for multiple displays, i also tried that DVI-d frequency option but that didnt work either .....hmmm
     
  20. choppy

    choppy

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK
    thanks for this - been looking at LG 23" monitors too, not sure if this is something specific about LG monitors?

    i base that on the fact that ive used a HannsG 19" LCD that worked fine . also used a Samsung 40" LCD that never blurred.
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,791 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,168
    Have you looked at any other LCD monitors in shops to see if it's you or the monitor? I did have a LCD monitor once that was defective and had excessive ghosting, so it could be that.
     
    LifeOnMars says thanks.
  22. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    UPDATE

    Ok so I returned the LG and downgraded resolution to 1680x1050 with a 20" DELL monitor. Pleased to report that the blurring is a non issue now so either something was up with the monitor or the size of the display was emphasizing the effect caused by LCD's (relative to how close I am sitting to it)

    Also because it's only a 20", 1680x1050 looks just as pin sharp to me in games as the higher resolution monitor looked so I really don't feel like I'm losing out.

    I'm probably now looking to sell my HD 4870X2 and get a nice HD 5770 for this resolution. Any suggestions on a very quiet, high performing edition of this card would be greatly appreciated :)
     
  23. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,830 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,485
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    I wouldn't downgrade your graphics card, because games become ever more demanding, unless you really want DX11 capability for the handful of games that support it... which will likely run with a poor frame rate on a 5770 (remember 60fps is the minimum you need for smooth gameplay). Also, there's always cases where tough scenes in a games will render slowly even at a lower resolution, so you can never have too much CPU & GPU power in your rig when it comes to games. It's probably a good idea to stretch for a 5870, if you can afford it.

    Also, I'm curious why the motion blur has become a non-issue for you, as all LCDs do it to some extent or other?

    I agree that the lower resolution will look just fine too - it did on my Samsung 2233RZ at 1680x1050.
     
  24. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    To bad you change for smaller screen , i wouldn't do that...

    Anyways my first one i bought was 23".6 Asus & the letters was never clear no matter what i did , i exchange for a 24" Samsung (only $15.xx more) & this one is great sharp , clear & really nice colors

    Samsung is the way to go now in LCD they make good quality screen

    One thing that people didn't mention since you only had problem with games is that , did you tried turning V-Sync on or off in your games?

    But i guess it is to late for that now...:ohwell:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page