1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

LG monitor secret menu- Panel name??

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by itsakjt, Apr 13, 2013.

  1. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    So I found the way to enter LG monitor service menu. Just turn off the monitor, wait for 5 seconds. Then press and hold the menu button. With it pressed, press the power button. The monitor will be on. Release menu button. Then press menu again and you will get the secret menu.
    So this way, I found a field called "Panel" and in my LG E2042TC, it is written CMI 200 L23. I immediately searched Google and came to know that the panel is manufactured by Cheimei Innolux corporation- Taiwan's largest LCD manufacturer and the world's second largest(as per wiki). So how is this CMI brand? Any ideas?
     
    v12dock says thanks.
  2. Depth

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    602 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Made In Taiwan?

    My first idea is to use the monitor as instructed by any distributor and use the super-secret menu for diagnostic/benchmark purposes

    My second idea is to dance, inspired by your avatar:

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
    itsakjt says thanks.
  3. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    LOL awesome. :D
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
  4. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,611 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Very nice find works on my monitor
     
  5. Iceni

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    430 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    112
    Location:
    coventry UK
    Just done this on my LG ISP277L. You have to hold the menu button and then power on, then hit menu again.

    IPS277L
    NT68753 ver 1.71
    120114 MNTSW ETI. 79

    Clear ETI > no
    Auto color > no
    Aging >no
    Panel >LGD270wf5
    NVRAM INIT >no
    HPD > 500

    Mine seems to be an LG factory panel.
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2013
  6. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    It seems for the expensive models, LG uses their own panels only. :) My old W1943S cost more than my present E2042TC and the W1943 used a LG original panel but the present one uses CMI panel.
     
  7. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,484 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,544
    Panel - LGD215IPS
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,590 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    Yes, I remember on my old 22" LG you could actually change the panel name and get a better picture. I don't remember what I did exactly because it was years ago now, but on Oblivion game I was getting shadowing with certain colors at night-time during the game. I changed the panel name through that secret menu and the problem was solved.
     
    de.das.dude and itsakjt say thanks.
  9. sweaty New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    LG service menu

    please can any one help meee? been messing around with the service menu on my LGD270WF5 but ya cant reset to default values!..please can anyone list a good set of values for an lg 27 ips? (offset,gain) I guess it varies from model to model but itd be ace to see the values of something similar as a rough guide -as I cant find a single person on the whole dang internet with the same make as me...cheers
     
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2013
  10. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Did you try the init NVRAM option? Open the service menu and scroll to the init NVRAM option. Then press and hold the button with which the values are changed for a few seconds. The display will go off and the monitor will be reset to factory values. Before doing it, just keep a note of your panel name and change any settings required.
     
    sweaty says thanks.
  11. sweaty New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    lg service menu reset

    :D nice 1 itsakjt! :respect: that's fixed it...thank you so much,your an absolute legend!!
     
  12. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    No problem. Thanks for reporting back. :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page