1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

LG Monitor White Screen

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by yincloud, Feb 12, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. yincloud New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have a LG Flatron E2340T with a white Screen.
    When I turn it on it flashes once and then shows white screen, sometimes monitor does work, but thats random - sometimes when I turn it on, sometimes when its on for a while.
    My PC detects that monitor when I plug it.
     
  2. yincloud New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Bump
     
  3. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,958 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,993
    Location:
    Oregon
    fixing an LCD screen is not an exact science. Check for leaky or bloated caps or obvious stuff overheating. You could try a new Decon board or main board but there is no guarantee. Obviously the back light works

    I have the W2340V
     
    xvi says thanks.
  4. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Post your system specs. Could be a GPU problem. Try the monitor on another computer.
     
  5. yincloud New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Its not a PC related problem, since the monitor worked from time to time and when I unplug DVI cable its still displays white picture, monitor doesnt show that its disconnected.
     
  6. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,897 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,673
    Location:
    US
    I thought LG LCD's were warranted for 3 years ?.. Unless it is passed that time just thought i say..

    And still should try the LCD on another system.
     
  7. yincloud New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have tried monitor on different systems before and result is the same.
     
  8. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,590 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,219
    Then it's time to open it up and see if you can find some damage. As Jetser said: "Check for leaky or bloated caps or obvious stuff overheating."
     
  9. yincloud New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I would do that but this monitor doesnt have any screws...

    [​IMG]
     
  10. SaiZo

    SaiZo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    498 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hesperus IV
    Hi, I have the same brand, but different model (E2250T). If I recall correctly, you have to pry open the sides. Just be careful, because without the proper tools, it's easy to "slip" and damage the components on the inside.

    Do not ever use metal objects, such as a screwdriver when trying to pry it open - it can damage the entire screen if it slips!

    My stand is different also, so I can't verify if your screen shall be opened up the same way (I have a front bezel on the screen that needs to be removed first).

    If you search the net (Google?), I think you might even find your own service manual, but be careful, many crap links can be found leading to a 'dead end'.

    Also, how is the inverter for the screen? I had to get a new one, since the first one was broken - I bought mine second hand however.


    I'll try and see if I can find my Service Manual again, but I think your screen opens up the same way as mine..
     
  11. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,875 (7.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,150
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    The last time this happened at work, a white screen was caused by a member of staff putting a van der graaf generator next to the pc and monitor. Then again, i assume you dont have one of those lying around?
     
  12. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,958 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,993
    Location:
    Oregon
    O it comes apart. Take a screwdriver and put tape over the end and try to work your way around the bezel. Thats if your dont see any plugs where screws may be
     
  13. yincloud New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    What can I even use to pry open my monitor other than a screw driver?

    No, I don't. The first time I got a white screen was after it was turned off for about ~8 hours, It started to work again by pressing down the side of the monitor.

    EDIT: Soo just now after pressing down random spots again on my monitor it started to work again, but im sure its temporary since I got the monitor working like this few times already.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2013
  14. jaggerwild

    jaggerwild

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    122 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Reality
    Open the monitor up after unplugging the power cord, you can use your fingernails if there not naweded off.
    after you have opened it clean any dust out of it, re seat all ribbon cables. if you can see the inverter board and PSU check the caps.carefully for leakage. you may need to use a manifying glass to examine the top and bottum of the caps. After re seating all connectors, with out closing it up, plug it in see if its working now. Make sure NOT to touch the boards inside the monitor while it has power.
    if it works close it up. if not you will need to replace something inside of it, or dump it on Flee Bay and get a new one........
    goOd luck!!!
     
  15. McSteel

    McSteel

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    574 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    White screen = TFT matrix in off (default) position + pure backlight on full blast. This can only mean one thing, since your PC detects (via plug n play) your monitor: your flat/ribbon cable, going from the MCU board to the panel has come out of the connector. Once you properly re-seat it, your monitor should spring back to life. There is a minor chance that something else is wrong in addition to this, but try reconnecting the ribbon cable first, then if it doesn't help, post pictures of the inverter/power board and the MCU board, so that we may help further.
     
  16. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    ^+1 Above. Also, open the monitor chassis with a credit card like thing. That won't cause any damage. :)
     
  17. SaiZo

    SaiZo

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    498 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Hesperus IV
    I used a plectrum actually.. But as an other member said, even a credit card or similar might work. Mine was not glued, had a double adhesive tape. However, when you start to get some sides up, perhaps you could use, as said by another forum member, a screwdriver with tape covering the edge.

    Just be careful.
     
  18. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    I have seen the same issue in a few laptops and it was the LCD panel had failed. But check all the capacitors and connections first. If that doesnt work you must be able to get a cheap replacement panel off of ebay once you get the model number of the panel.
     
  19. yincloud New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Real quality, looks like someone has opened it before it was bought from the store...[​IMG]
     
  20. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Black tape! I see. Check the connections.
     
  21. yincloud New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The ones I can see are connected.
     
  22. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Just to double check, open all the connectors, clean the PCB with Iso-propyl alcohol and reconnect all cables.
     
  23. yincloud New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah, it looks like the the white thin cable was disconnected, I couldn't notice it at first cause it was covered by that duck tape and I was hesitant to remove the tape.
     
  24. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    All the best then. :)
     
  25. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,019
    check the circuitry connected to the LCD matrix. something is wrong there. might be loose connections since you say that its working once or twice.

    black tape doesnt necessarily mean someone had opened it before, many companies use tape and glue nowadays to keep assembling costs down and assembling time down.

    those tapes are specially coated with carbon/something to form a sort of seal from electric fields. so its a good idea to keep the tapes and reuse them again.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page