1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

LGA2011 Motherboard with 3920

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Aquinus, Mar 2, 2012.

  1. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,469 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,190
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    LGA2011 Motherboard with 3820

    Good morning,

    I'm getting very close to upgrading my poor Phenom II 940 with a new SB-E and I'm looking for users who have a Sandy Bridge-E 3820. I've read that some motherboards do not support the 3820 out of the box and I don't have a 3930k or 3960x to be able to flash the bios. With that said I'm looking for an MSI or ASUS motherboard that will support the 3820 out of the box without a bios flash.

    I'm curious if there is anyone who has a 3820 and has luck with any particular motherboard. I currently have an Asus motherboard and I'm thinking that I was going to stick with Asus, but I haven't had bad luck with MSI either.

    Does anyone have any recommendations for a good motherboard?

    (I'm looking for an ATX mobo, not an Extended ATX.)

    Cheers and thanks before hand.
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2012
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,052 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,211
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    The ASUS P9X79 Deluxe that I reviewed HERE will fit the bill.


    No worries about flashing BIOS with this board...you don't even need a CPU to do it.

    See the white USB port, and the button?

    [​IMG]

    You simply place BIOS on a USB drive, name it the right way, plug it into the white USB port, and push that button. Wait a fwe seconds, and it's done. Updating BIOS for unsupported CPUs is no longer an issue.



    The other two X79 boards I reviewed are a bit larger than standard ATX.
     

    Attached Files:

    HuLkY, fullinfusion and Aquinus say thanks.
  3. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,469 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,190
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Thanks, Cadaveca. I was actually looking at that particular motherboard. Nice review, I think I found my new motherboard then, thanks. :)
     
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,052 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,211
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    NP. at all. I'm using it 24/7 now as my gaming rig, and also for ram reviews. It's a solid product.

    I plan on picking up the quadcore chip, too, so we'll be able to share tips. ;)
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2012
  5. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,469 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,190
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Sounds good, I'm just waiting for my tax return to get put into my account. Once it's there it will be on its way. Right now this is what my upgrade is looking like:

    ASUS P9X79 WS LGA 2011 Intel X79
    Intel Core i7 3820
    G.SKILL Sniper Gaming Series 16GB (4 x 4GB) @ 2133 (9-11-10-28)
    Dual Radeon HD 6870s (I already have one reference MSI,)
    2x Corsair Force Series 3 on SATA 6gb (using X79 in RAID-0)
    3x1Tb 7200 RPM Drives in RAID-5 on SATA 3gb on X79
    1 DVD Burner on off-chipset SATA 6gb.
    SeaSonic Platinum-1000 1000W 80 Plus Platinum

    It's sure to fly, I can't wait. :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2012
  6. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,346 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,138
    Yes and no Dave. Have you tried to update the bios using that method? I have and It only refreshes the current bios..It will not Flash the chip to another bios. Trust me when I say this! My board has 2 bios chips and I wanted to clone the other chip... Well I didnt wait long enough and killed the power. Doing so killed bios chip #1. I tried the way you were saying but nada, no go! I did however get the bios chip re-programed the same night though :rockout:
     
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,052 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,211
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I flashed my board from 0804 to 0904 using this method? Good feedback though, i wonder what happened? Did you label the BIOS incorrectly, perhaps?

    You're running X79 now?

    Directions:

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread.php?1142-How-to-use-ASUS-ROG-USB-BIOS-Flashback

    Worth noting the same problem is mentioned in that thread(but for AMD boards). Interesting!

    EDIT: As an aside, the shipping 0802 BIOS for the P9X79 boards already supports i7 3820. I got my board just before X79 launch in November, with this 0802 BIOS on it.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    • cpu.jpg
      cpu.jpg
      File size:
      45.4 KB
      Views:
      958
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2012
  8. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,469 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,190
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It kind of disturbs me that Asus' site for CPU support says the 3920 is a 6-core. :|
     
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,052 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,211
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    meh.:laugh: Probably a typo. Like yours in the thread title, and above. ;). It's 3820, not 3920.
     
  10. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,469 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,190
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Whoops. Good catch. Guilty as charged. :)

    Edit: Updated. :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2012
  11. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,469 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,190
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Oh, I might add an additional reason for choosing a SB-E was getting Virtualization with Directed I/O (VT-d) and being able to still overclock. Something the 2600k and 2700k don't do. :)
     
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,052 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,211
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I'l ladd taht the USB BIOS flashback on this board is not like the implementation on the ROG boards that have ROG Connect as well. I do ahve the Rog connect software and cabling from other boards, but it didn't work :(.

    Perhaps that is why fullinfusion had issues that i did not, who knows. Kinda bugs me that it didn't work for him, to be honest, because I know he's 100% on the ball usually when it comes to this stuff.

    there ARe other boards out there, so maybe someone has another suggestion for you..I've only had hte three boards, so cannot comment on anything other than those three.
     
    Aquinus and fullinfusion say thanks.
  13. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,346 (3.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,138
    Ahh you to kind to me Dave! :respect: I didn't rename the bios. I just drag n dropped the bios into the flash drive. I actually acquired another maximus 4 extreme this week, well actually had 3 in my possession and sent my original back as well as a so called new board back to Asus. Dam Intel and there fast changes :banghead:
    Thats why I liked Amd lol... cost less. Anyways LLC is spot on now and the board is working very well. Thanks for the tune in Dave! I missed the renaming thing but the board was strange from the start.
     
  14. yuki2012

    yuki2012 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Quite exciting.
     
  15. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,469 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,190
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    It is! The money is just waiting to be put into my account, it's pending and is supposed to be effective today. All the parts are picked out with overnight shipping. I'm itching to press that checkout button. :p
     
  16. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    London
    My X79 motherboard should be here in a few hours:
    [​IMG]
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  17. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,469 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,190
    Location:
    Concord, NH
  18. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,612 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    London
    Why should I go with 8-dimm slots? By the time I need more RAM I'll upgrade my rig again. Besides the Biostar is one of the cheapest.
     
  19. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,469 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,190
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You want to go cheap on a motherboard with an enthusiast level CPU? You baffle me. ;)

    I think I'm changing my mind on motherboard. I really wanted to go with the MSI GD65 but it doesn't support the 3820 out of the box.

    So my choice for motherboard is now ASUS Rampage IV Formula.
    ASUS Rampage IV Formula LGA 2011 Intel X79 SATA 6G...

    This might be if the Zalman doesn't live up to my expectations, I have a push-pull fan on my Phenom II 940 right now that has two 120mm fans that blow 100cfm each (!!) and if I have two CPU fan headers, that can remain an option. Also the Motherboard I was looking at would have required me to replace my case with a workstation chassis.

    Edit: Except not, I want 8-dimm slots. Gah. >_>
     
  20. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,469 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,190
    Location:
    Concord, NH
  21. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,557 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
    You're getting a 6 core at least right? X79 + QUAD + 4 DIMMs = 1155 with higher power consumption, and bizarrely sometimes worse performance.
     
  22. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,469 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,190
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    No, I'm getting a 3820 as an interim chip while I'm waiting for IVB-E. I've checked out reviews on the 3820 and it looks like a 2600k with a quad-channel memory controller and more PCI-E lanes which is exactly what I want for the moment.

    I know that the 3820 uses more power than 1155 chips. There is logic to my insanity. :toast:

    You're right, in some cases it is slower, but you're also wrong because in some cases it is faster. I'm also not spending twice as much for 2 more cores when IVB-E is very likely to have an 8-core varient when it gets released.

    Also keep in mind, almost anything is going to be faster than my poor Phenom II 940 with DDR2.

    Edit: I've also made the mistake of not leaving room for upgrades in the future, and X79 offers some pretty nice features.
     
  23. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,469 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,190
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Parts ordered, there is no turning back. :)
     
  24. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,557 (1.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
    ...interim chip? You could go 1155 and call the 2600k your interim chip while you wait for Ivy. You'd get about the same performance boost from that upgrade but for half the money and end up using half the power. Unless you need the performance NOW and are grabbing a 6 core, or need a cheaper route to 32/64gbs of ram, you'd be much better served with Ivy and 1155.

    As of right now X79 is best thought of as the "go big or go home" platform.

    Edit* And I see it's too late haha
     
  25. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,469 (6.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,190
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Heh, I did consider an 1155 chip, but when you're willing on spending 1800 USD on an upgrade, that's all or nothing. :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page