1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

LGA2011 Motherboard with 3920

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Aquinus, Mar 2, 2012.

  1. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,934 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,912
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I will if I have to, like I said I haven't tried a single game on it yet. Dirt 3 just finished downloading on Steam, which is going to run like a dream anyways (it did with one 6870 and my phenom ii 940,) but I did just get 3dMark2011 and Win 7 SP1 installed. :3

    On multiplier alone I think I can hit 4.4ghz, then a little bclk tweaking and I've heard it isn't unfathomable to hit 5ghz, but with this chip I want to watch temperatures carefully as I go. As I said before earlier, I'm not used to over-clocking Intel chips let alone a 32nm chip so the voltages are a little foreign to me. I'm starting light.
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,934 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,912
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    4.4ghz without a hitch using turbo an a minor tweak of the bclk (3mhz). I don't know why everyone is getting their panties in a bunch over the 3820 vs the 2600k and 3770k, but the 3820 doesn't seem to have a problem pumping out more speed. I might push it a bit more as I get more confident overclocking it. Something worth noting is that the turbo doesn't actually want to hit 44 bins, it seems to stop at 43 even though 44 is selected. It doesn't exceed 62*C @ 4.437ghz @ +.11 volts over stock. (I do like the offset vs manual overclocking when it comes to voltage on the P9X79 Deluxe.)

    Thanks again, Dave for recommending the P9X79 Deluxe, it's amazing.
    cadaveca says thanks.
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,801
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    It is a great board, for sure. I knew as soon as I powered it up that I'd be spending a lot of time with it for memory reviews, because the BIOS is so flexible. ASUS BIOS engineers are doing a great job making these boards work well, for sure.

    Are you running the 125 MHz BCLK divider? This should get you 4.5 GHz with 36 multi, and 2000 Mhz ram. You should be able to drop the ram to 9-10-9-27 @ 2000 with 1.65 V. I can toss up a screenshot of my BIOS timings page if you like, too, as I'm pretty sure you even got the same ram kit that I reviewed a few weeks back.
  4. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,934 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,912
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Sure, I would be happy to give it a try. I'm at 2200 @ 9-11-10-28 @ 1.65v at the moment with a low 103.2 bclk for starters. I've been working so I haven't had a whole lot of time to play with it yet.
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,801
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I'll reboot right now and get a sceenie for you that I'll edit into this post. In A few minutes!


    EDIT: PICS:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Mar 9, 2012
  6. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    I should stop looking at this thread else I'll be spending money I don't have on a comp I don't need
  7. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,934 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,912
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I didn't need a SB-E, a 2600k could have worked just as well but the x79 chipset and this ASUS board are just gorgeous and when you use your computer more than you sleep, you better believe I was going to buy a nice one! :cool:

    Dave: When the wife wakes up and I actually have access to my tower, I will give that a try. Thanks. :)
  8. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    haha but you still can benefit considerably from X79 vs LGA 1155 while I'd barely see the difference
  9. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,934 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,912
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Do you game? I do, not as much as I used to, but every game so far that I've thrown at my 6870 in crossfire and the 3820, there has been practically no slowdowns (except when I tried using beta drivers... I think I will stick with the current release. :( )

    Honestly, the 3820 is cheaper than the 2600k and will be cheaper than the 3770k. The chip idles pretty low (I don't have numbers, I need the tools to do it... but I know Dave does!) in fact idling this machine uses less power than my Phenom II 940 did with one 6870. Now over-clocking is a different story. Just running Heaven 3 benchmark pushed my usage up to 400-watts (over-clocked 6870s,) and that was with 11% usage on the 3820 @ 4.4ghz (!!).

    Now with all of this said, I'm sure you've noticed how the 3960x is an 8-core with 2 cores laser cut. I suspect that IVB-E will have a surprise for us. (wink, wink, hint, hint.)

    Also with the x79 chipset there are huge possibilities for upgrades where if you have a SB or IVB, you're a little limited if you need more than a 2700k/3770k but like you said, it's over kill for most users (over kill as we speak now that is.)

    I'm partial to my hardware though, but I'm not going to lie, it flies, but when I built it I was definitely planning for the future. I don't expect that I will have to replace the motherboard, psu, and drives in a long time, but the CPU and memory have plenty of room for improvement and since I only occasionally game now, the 6870s in crossfire will last a while as well.

    I guess what I'm really trying to say is, quality hardware will deliver and last a long time. Look at all the users still using the x48 chipset and are just now considering upgrading.
  10. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,934 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,912
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Latest accomplishment.

    [​IMG]
  11. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,858 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Wow, what temps do you get?
  12. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,934 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,912
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    65*C tops @ 1.4v on the hottest core, the coldest core tops out at 58*C.

    Edit: Dave, the T3 command rate is crap. It makes latency jump to 150ns. The ripjaws handle T1 just fine.
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2012
  13. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,801
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Something else is causing the latency jump. 150ns is not right, should be much less. Might want to investigate further.

    Your results should be like this(although I ran this @ 3.9 GHz, so bandwidth in the screenshot may appear low):

    [​IMG]

    However, I did tell you to play with that, did I not? :laugh:

    Attached Files:

  14. claylomax

    claylomax

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,586 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    255
    Location:
    London
  15. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,934 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,912
    Location:
    Concord, NH

    Attached Files:

  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,801
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
  17. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,934 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,912
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Yeah, runs great.
  18. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,801
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I figured it would. You now, becuase IC quality can vary so much, I just wanted to give ya an easy starting point that you could tweak to what you liked. I wasn't really expecting ya to push that far, pretty decent, IMHO.


    :respect:
  19. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,934 (6.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,912
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Yeah, it's a pretty good over-clock all things considered. I don't think I'm going to try and push it any further. It seemed to become unstable > 2366mhz, but I didn't experiment with the timing at that point a whole lot. I'm perfectly satisfied with 2333 @ 1T, 10-11-10-28.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page