1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Lian Li PC-A10B

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by t_ski, Nov 23, 2006.

  1. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,819 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,271
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2006
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. wtf8269

    wtf8269 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,495 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ohio
    Awesome case. One thing I wanted to add is that with a little bit of modding and using these drive bay covers you could pretty easily mount a dual 120mm radiator in the front.
     
  3. Protius New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,411 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Wonderful Ohio
    beautiful case, like how there's room for dual psu's
     
  4. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    very nice case, a dremel in there would do wonders :p
     
  5. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    hey what heatsink do you have on the northbridge?
     
  6. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    Thermalright HR-05 SLI ;)
     
  7. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
  8. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
  9. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,819 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,271
    pt is correct. It is the Thermalright HR-05-SLI heatsink, and I have a 70mm Masscool fan strapped to it. With the fan running at 5v it is not noticable over the other case fans, and if I need to I can crank it up to 12v. At full speed the NB idles at around 34C, at 5v it idles around 40C.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    nice im using the stock heatsink right now and its rather annoying...

    edit: do you have a pic with the cpu heatsink installed?
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2006
  11. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,819 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,271
    lol It's just the stock AMD sink for now. Unfortunately, due to the radiator incompatibility I can't use my watercooling loop yet. Using ether radiator I have would require some modding to the case, which I'm not ready to do at this point.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. iron_gr New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greece
    Why is this negative?

    I can't understand, what is wrong with that?
     
  13. GJSNeptune

    GJSNeptune New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,571 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Ohio
    People like to use two or three.
     
  14. iron_gr New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    20 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greece
    Yes, but this is not negative for this case IMHO!
     
  15. GJSNeptune

    GJSNeptune New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,571 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Ohio
    Shrug. t_ski, can you get an A05b, review it, and send it to me? :toast:

    Or raffle it with 100 tickets, 99 being mine?
     
  16. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    I have a double 120mm rad... I'd say it's definatly a bad thing if i can't get my watercooling setup in there.
     
  17. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,819 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,271
    As big as this case is, it's meant to be a case for a power user. The everyday-average Joe wouldn't have 5 HDD's, dual PSU's, etc. in their case.

    What's more of a negative is the radiator incompatibility I was talking about (post above yours). The only radiator that I've found that comes close to fitting is a Swiftech MCR220 or 320. Even those rads require some kind of mod (or at least mounting the rad far above the case) for the tubing to work properly. I have not received any word on a single 120mm rad that could lay flat on top of this case and use the opening for the included 120mm fan or the tubing knockouts.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. agelakos New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I want to know If GIGABYTE P35C-DS3R is compatible with LianLi pc-A10 and suits with
    this really very good case!
     
  19. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,819 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,271
    Post a link to that product and I will check it out for you.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. agelakos New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  21. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,819 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,271
    I looked at the link you gave, and I don't see anything out of the ordinary for that motherboard. It is the same size as my DFI board, and the mounting holes seem to conform to ATX standards. Is there something in particular you were worried about?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. agelakos New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No just the dimensions, I think aren't like others motherboards, like p5k3 asus etc...
    Thanks anyway
     
  23. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,819 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,271
    The Gigabyte site lists the motherboard dimensions as 305mm x 245mm. Using a conversion tool I get 12" x 9.6", which is the same as many motherboards I have seen, as well as the DFI Ultra-D used in the pictures above. Unless there is something I am not aware of, you should have no issues with the two together. :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page