1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Limit bandwidth to a specific ethernet port

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by MadClown, Aug 23, 2008.

  1. MadClown

    MadClown New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    NY, the state were you cant defend yourself
    Allright, so I got this problem, my loser of a brother who sucks at life finds it necessary to download every limit thing from the 360 marketplace(or xboxlive is a total bandwidth hog while idleing), but I want to know how to limit bandwidth on a specific port.

    Im using a Linksys WRT54G with Tomato firmware.

    Thanks an advance:toast:
  2. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    you could always try QOS or w/e thats in dd-wrt (probably in tomato too) and give your rig a priority over the xbox..
    MadClown says thanks.
  3. MadClown

    MadClown New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    NY, the state were you cant defend yourself
    i tried that with stock firmware and had no luck, mabey tomato's will work, ill give it a shot

    edit: idk how to use it with tomato, lol
  4. MadClown

    MadClown New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    NY, the state were you cant defend yourself
    i take it that it isnt possible then
  5. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    You could make your own computer a server.
    Plug the router to your PC, then plug his Xbox/Pc into your PC, let's him access internet through your PC.

    You will need some kind of software, something like a firewall, so you can block things you don't want to get through.
    Even without the firewall, since your computer plug direcly to the router, you will have first priroity with the internet bandwitdh.

    You need 2 ethernet ports or 2 network cards on your PC.
    And your computer need to be on for his xbox/pc to access internet.

    Sorry for my English, It isn't my native language.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page