1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Limiting bandwidth help!

Discussion in 'General Software' started by TheVanillatech, May 3, 2013.

  1. TheVanillatech New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hi,

    I have this problem where now my mother has figured out how to stream video online, she is endlessly watching snooker highlights in 720p. This is a massive drag on the 8MB ADSL line I have installed, and means that for 4 hours a day (she is addicted), right across the small window I have time to play, my ping in Quake Live jumps from 19 up to 120 every couple of seconds. This makes the game unplayable. This is the only game I play online! :(

    Is there a way I can limit the bandwidth to her connection through software? I am running Windows XP 32bit, and her laptop is running Windows 7 Home 64bit. I am hard wired into the router, she is on wireless connection via laptop.

    Now I know that to stream 720p youtube videos only needs 120k/s max. The problem is that her i-player software will try to buffer as fast as the available bandwidth will allow. Hence my ping spikes. If I could just limit her connection to 150k down / 5k up or something, we could both have smooth internet experiences. This is an 850k down / 100k up connection.

    Any help appreciated!!
  2. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,131 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    Sounds like a job for QoS, but there are members well more versed in setting that up than I. Hopefully they can chime in.
    TheVanillatech says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    TheVanillatech says thanks.
  4. TheVanillatech New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    OKAY I will look into this from that link you sent and see if I can figure it out. Of all the things I can do in an OS, for some reason I have always had a nightmare with networks and routers! :D Maybe it's time to squash these demons. I need to get my Quake fix!

    PS. If anyone can offer a guide to a network noob on how to do this I would be most glad! :)
  5. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Who is your ISP and what model router do you have?
  6. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    i would do QoS and limit the bandwidth both really. openWRT/dd-WRT maybe tomato too? ive got no experience with that.
  7. TheVanillatech New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    9 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  8. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,730 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    577
    Can you have her on a guest network and limit the speed of that network?

    My router (Amped Wireless R20000G) has this feature in the main guest network settings menu.

    I would use that as well as QoS

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page