1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Linked or unlinked?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by ste2425, May 12, 2010.

  1. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,465 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    399
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    Just a quick question which is best in your opinions when oc'in linked or unlinked?
     
  2. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,929 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    Well I dont game much anymore except for EVE which i really dont need to o/c but I do unlink the shaders from the core for F@H. Its all about shaders on that.
     
  3. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,465 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    399
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    ok its just in my bios before i can oc anything i have to set linked or unlinked, where its linked i think it oc's my ram to the equal amount, does this mean i have a greater chance of a stable oc?
     
  4. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,833 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    442
    Location:
    Texas
    Are you talking about running your ram in ganged or unganged mode? As in Dual channel or single Channel? I do not understand what you mean by "linked" or "unlinked"...if it is the Dual/Single channel issue, I have gotten much better results running it unganged, a.k.a. unlinked, than I have ganged, a.k.a. "linked".
     
  5. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,929 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    ah didnt know ya were talking about CPU overclocking lol. But I really dont o/c my CPU, I hate the troubles of goin down and clearing the cmos whenever its too high lol. AMD o/c'ing is a tad diff. than Intel. And it depends on ur mobo.
     
    JATownes says thanks.
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,994 (5.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,085
    Location:
    Ohio
    I assume you're talking about running memory in "ganged" or "unganged" mode, not linking/unlinking the core/shader ratio for graphics cards.

    I've heard it's best to run in "ganged" mode for performance, but it's easier to overclock in "unganged" mode. I can't really say for sure, as I myself have no idea what they do, or what the effects are.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 5 Million points folded for TPU
  7. roast

    roast

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    596 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Ireland.
    Is the OP talking about CPU overclocking or GPU overclocking?

    I see you're using an nVidia chipset, and I'm going to assume you mean Linking the FSB ratio for the RAM and CPU. If so, Its more stable to leave it linked, however depending on your RAM it might be harder to reach a max CPU overclock.
     
  8. heky

    heky

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    889 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Location:
    Slovenia, Europe
    @roast
    Yes, he is talking about CPU overclocking. And you are right, it is probably more stable to leave it linked. But it all depends on the hardware(ram + cpu).
    @ste2425
    There is really just one way to find out, what the best way is. And it is trial and error. Try it out, and bench after each setting, linked and unlinked.
     
  9. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,897 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Singapore
    From what I've read ganged is better for multitasking and unganged is preferable for singlethreaded apps
     
  10. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,465 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    399
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    that great info guys sorry i should have been more detailed linked and unlinked, as it says in my bios, i think does link the speed om my cpu with my ram so if i raise my cpu fsb it will bring up my ram
     
  11. roast

    roast

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    596 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Ireland.
    Yes, it will. Careful though, depending on the quality of your RAM, it might not boot if you push it too high. Its best to try the Link ratio as 1:1, but if you start to get issues and still want to push the CPU further, then switch it from 1:1 to "Sync"
     
    ste2425 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page