1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Linksys E2500 mods

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by cdawall, Oct 11, 2012.

  1. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    So is it worth it to go out and mod my router. Signal strength is ok, but when I move coming up soon it will not be enough to catch the entire house and detached garage.

    I was looking at this antenna mod and flashing the router to DD_WRT.
  2. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,363 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,502
    If you will be needing more range then the antenna mod is probably worth it.

    I am currently debating weather or not to install ddwrt myself on my negear 3700.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,189 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,029
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    If you don't live in a mansion, you could use the Coax in the house to carry your wi-fi signal. If you put a 2.4ghz filter on the Coax coming in and a 2.4ghz band-pass filter on the antenna, you could put a antenna off the Coax closest to your garage in addition to where-ever the router already is, but that involves a bit more work. On 100ft of Coax, 2.4ghz signal attenuation was marginal. Just an idea if you like crazy ideas.
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    That seems like a lot more involved than adding the two little antennas in the back.
  5. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,363 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,502
    Wireless repeater would work right?
    What about power line adapters?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,160 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,548
    Location:
    Florida
    i have ddwrt on my e2000 i love it so much you can do very capable routers. my longest uptime was like 6 months rock steady more devices then i can count as well as running servers.

    i will admit though if you need distence the antenna mod will have to be done. ddwrt on these routers allows voltage boots to the antennas but it doesnt really do anything for range.
  7. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,777 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,235
    I have an E2000 - what benefit do you get by going DDWRT? I'm fairly satisfied with the amount of controls on the router stock and don't need much more.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,160 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,548
    Location:
    Florida
    the networking i do. I do bandwidth measurements on individual systems. It runs more stable for my needs and I have more control over firewall regulations and logging.
  9. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,363 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,502
    I am beginning to need to measure bandwidth of certain 24/7 downloaders... I think I am going to get ddwrt for sure.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,189 (6.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,029
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I'm not using DD-WRT on my E4200 because the 5ghz band is a little finicky at normal power levels. The level it stablizes at is too low to give me a half decent signal so I've stayed away from it. I used to have a WRT300-N that I used as a wireless network bridge. That worked great.
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,668 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    Well I have terrible wifi in my room while deployed so went ahead and ordered the kit finally to upgrade my E2500 along with some slightly bigger antennas just in case that isn't good enough. Going to be using the E2500 as a repeater already flashed it with DD-WRT and had it try to work, but it cannot stay connected to the network :/

    [​IMG]

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page