1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Linksys password recovery

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by karolpl2004, Apr 13, 2007.

  1. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    652 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    Hey,
    I kinda misplaced my linksys password and i need to open a port. is there anyway i can recover that password? any tools i can use?
     
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I haven't the slightest idea, but you can do a reset on it, then completely reconfigure it. There should be a reset button on the back. You have to use a pin (or something similar) and hold it in for 10sec, I believe. That will reset it completely back to factory defaults.
     
  3. Dreya

    Dreya New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    Factory defaults on linksys
    Username Admin
    Password password

    If that helps, I'd try that prior to reset.
     
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2007
  4. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Just reset the router, they have some small button which you need to hold for like 10 seconds.
     
  5. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,686 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    I don't think it is. Default is usually;

    User Name: (Blank)
    Password: admin

    or

    User Name: admin
    Password: admin
     
  6. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
    Installed Linksys router a week ago and both user name and password are admin.
    Hope resetting works for you.
     
  7. Dreya

    Dreya New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Shropshire, UK
    AOL linksys systems use Admin and password as default
    Linksys older routers used blank user names and admin as password and new ones use admin and admin.

    Sorry should have been a little clearer with my explanations.
    Assumed that the others would have been tried first. :cry:
     
  8. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,686 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Oh, ok. I've never come across AOL Linksys routers. Nice to know.
     
  9. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,455
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Just do a reset
     
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yep, reset is the best option. Setting a custom User name and password nullifies the default password.
     
  11. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    more like reset is the ONLY option :p
    Unless he has leet hax0r skillz, which i guess he doesnt.

    Reset to factory defaults :( and reconfigure your security.
    Maybe write the username and pw on a piece of card and tape it to the bottom of the router in case you forget again? (or if some other resident tech geek needs to fix something and your not around, aka my network technician friend when he had to fix my parents computer)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page