1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

LINKSYS Wireless-N Gigabit Gaming Router (WRT330N)

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by GrkPontio85, Jan 19, 2007.

  1. GrkPontio85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Greece
    I’m in desperate need of a new router. I currently have an old Linksys Wireless-G broadband Router (WRT54G v 1.1) and its screwing up.

    What does everyone think about the Wireless-N Gigabit Gaming Router (WRT330N)? I have a huge family and we are pretty big on video games/computer games as well as downloading. Is this router worth buying? Is there anything better then this one?

    Here is the link
    http://www.linksys.com/servlet/Sate...ite=US&pagename=Linksys/Common/VisitorWrapper

    Your advise is greatly appreciated. :toast:
  2. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
  3. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Not to mention, 802.11n wireless is still just in draft, and these routers don't perform up to the advertised n spec, anyway. Plus, the companies aren't even 100% sure these routers will be compatible with the final n spec. If the spec changes too much, then you're SOL with your new router, as it will only work at it's highest speed with the Draft-N products, which are sure to vanish once the final spec is ratified. I just recently bought a ZyXel X-550 router for $50. It's performance suprised the heck out of me, absolutely great performance. The only feature it doesn't have compared to the D-link gaming router, is the Gb switch. It has all the QoS packet prioritization of the D-link, works great, too.
  4. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,178 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    how does the QoS thingy work? my d-link dsl-624t has QoS on it too.doo i need that turned on then?
  5. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    it just prioritizes the upload data. its only good if you have multiple machines that requires a sustained upload speed (voip...servers, etc.). It wont have a advantage in gaming, unless your hosting (and multiple servers).
  6. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    It has an advantage in games if your are doing more than one thing over the internet, period. It made a huge difference for my VoIP, while gaming, too.
  7. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    dont know how it can be huge, when your just uploading 10kb/s (dling around 30-40) while gaming while your voip is around 90kb/s...and cable is usually limited around 300-400.
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Trust me, it makes a difference you can hear in VoIP calls. Eliminated the lags and dropouts in gaming, too. It really is worth it, imo. It's not purely about upload speed with these types of things, latency is important as well.
  9. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,178 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    wile e,how do i set it up tho'? i dont really understand the settings for it on my router.
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Mine just worked with voip. But I had to set it for specific applications in reference to gaming, a lot like port fowarding, but I'm not exactly sure how yours works. I had to enter the application name, the ports it uses, and set a drop down menu option to "game".
  11. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    these steps is from my dlink router, but i guess a dlink is a dlink...

    login in to the the web admin of the router...

    go to advance > steam engine

    and Enable it and make sure Dynamic Fragmentation & Automatic Uplink Speed are checked.

    also set the Connection Type accordingly.

    The router than will restart and measure the upload speed and automatically config the QoS.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page