1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

little problem with my HD 4850, HELP please.

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by CH@NO, May 13, 2009.

  1. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    Hi.

    The card arrived today, I uninstall the drivers of my 8800GTS, and run DriverSweeper, then install the new Catalyst drivers (9.4 for XP x86)

    The installation showed zero probs, but when the system restarted a window saying that the system find a High Definition Audio Device appeared, then I cannot install the device.

    Everest show that my card came with a RV770 High Definition Audio Controller, I suppose the audio device that refuse to install is this since under the "audio devices in device manager" doesn't show any Rv770 Audio device.

    The card is a Sapphire HD 4850 that comes with DVI/HDMI/VGA connectors.

    The card seems to work ok, even I OCKed it already and runed FurMark just fine, I didn't tried 3DMark06 yet, but ATM didn't show any artifacts or stability issues.

    So the question is HOW I can install the RV770 Audio Controller or WHY I cannot install the device???

    Also, for what purpposes is the RV770 Audio device???, I suppose is for the HDMI interface but I'm not sure.

    HELP PLEASE!!!!
  2. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,177 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    When mine did that on vista,i just went to device manager,and right click the hdaudio device and select update driver from the internet.It should install with the driver package though.
  3. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    I'm using XP, so updatin the driver via internet isn't available via device manager.

    The card ran just fine 3DMark06, the audio device of the card could be damaged???

    and again, It only serve for the HDMI interface or what???
  4. stefanels

    stefanels

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2008
    Messages:
    907 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Transylvania (RO) working in Barcelona (ES)
    CH@NO says thanks.
  5. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,810 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,440
    CH@NO says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,824 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    CH@NO says thanks.
  7. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    4,810 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,440
    Were here to help. Ya gotta be quick when your a natural helper:D
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    the direct link doesn't work but I downloaded in the main site of ATi.

    Didn't knew that using XP needs an extra driver for the HDMI interface, after all this is my first VGA that comes with a dedicated HDMI port though.

    MANY thanx for the help, the problem is now fixed.

    TPU ROCKS!!! :toast::toast: :rockout::rockout: :respect::respect:
  9. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    thanx for trying to help anyway.

    Always keep that spirit. ;):cool:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page