1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

LLC and videocards?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by d1nky, Apr 12, 2013.

  1. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,561 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,212
    i been trying to find if the 79**s have LLC (i would guess some kind of LLC)

    and if so, is it possible to change through a bios editor?
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,528 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    No vbios editor for 79xx serise available at this time

    General
    LLC = Load Line Calibration? [sets voltage under load]: in *Essence this is the equivalent of AMD Power Play

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
  3. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I would love to have this, as my 7950 nearly drops 0,1V when overclocked and at full load.

    I don't think there is any card support it or something like it though. The only thing that comes close are cards that just have an awesome VRM, which minimises the voltage drop.

    I suppose all the mechanics are availably for a sort of primitive LLC to work on most 79x0 cards, mainly being digital voltage control and voltage measurement.
    Thus, someone with awesome bios skills or perhaps afterburner(profile) skills should be able to build something like it I guess.
    d1nky says thanks.
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,801
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Both 7950 and 7970 have VRM control available on some models. ASUS 7970 MATRIX offers LLC adjustment and PWM switching frequency adjustments via software, and other cards have this available only with soldering on a couple of wires, and using an ASUS ROG motherboard with GPU controls in BIOS.
  5. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Yeah indeed, I was trying to make the point that basically every card has the ingredients needed for some sort of LLC, but that the bios or drivers of most cards don't support such a feature.

    But indeed, the ASUS MATRIX would be a great example of a card that supports LLC out of the box!
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,801
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, the reference 7970/7950 cards do offer that functionality though, so I wanted to point out that if you really want to have this feature, it simply requires buying the right motherboard, and finding the softwares too.
    Mathragh says thanks.
  7. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,561 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,212
    so im unable to edit bios, because theres no editing software.

    asus cards have a beefy 12phase power design, correct me if im wrong but most have 7 or there about.

    i couldnt flash a 7970 matrix bios because of shaders etc. (but has anyone experimented doing this?)

    all i want to do is up the percentage of loadline to get more of 1.300 instead of vdroop to 1.250.

    ive only just bought a motherboard :/ was going to get the ROG crosshair, damn if id known that earlier!!
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,759 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,801
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Only the Rampage 4 Extreme and Maximus V Extreme offer the GPU features needed.


    That voltage drop is kind of needed...so that when the load is lessened, the voltage doesn't overshoot too far. All 7-series cards have some droop in the voltage, which directly correlates to how much power the card pulls.

    7950 can't run the Matrix BIOS, and cards that do run the matrix BIOS, the VRM controls do not work, since the card is physically different. You can adjust voltage on the Matrix cards by simply pushing the buttons on the PCB, even. DCUII 7970 cards can run the Matrix BIOS(I've done it myself), but it doesn't actually offer anything of use, really.
  9. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,561 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,212
    the problem i have is if i want to compensate for vdroop ill have to push 1.350v+. and as you know when the load decreases itll hit that 1.350 which i dont want, hence the LLC.

    but what im asking is if a bios could be edited, would loadline be in the bios or would it be a physical parameter?
  10. McSteel

    McSteel

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    563 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    The PWM control chip in the VRM is responsible for the implementation of voltage control. It can only be done via duty cycle adjustment. This means that even when you do edit VGA BIOS, you can issue commands to the V-reg IC all day long, if it's unable to implement them. I suppose you could botch it, and just add some BIOS profiles with higher requested voltage (such that the actual realized voltage will be at the level you desire), and tie them up to application profiles for specific games/programs/benches, and/or hotkeys for quick switching. You'd need to stay focused on what you're doing, since you wouldn't want to forget to switch back from an extreme profile, so as not to overvolt your GPU into oblivion.
    d1nky says thanks.
  11. d1nky

    d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,561 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,212
    its a shame that cards nowadays are getting advanced phase designs but cant combat the vdroop just like a mobo, damn some cards have better vrms etc than some mobos.

    and switching between edited profiles doesnt sound appealing, i could do similar with an app like AB.

    i was just hoping like motherboards we could counteract the vdroop with a touch of loadline. so that we wouldnt need to counteract vdroop with an higher voltage.

    maybe its a thing for future cards, as i know some highend cards have vague feature like this.

    and thanks guys.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page