1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Locking & Sound Looping / Visual Bugs

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by END., Aug 21, 2010.

1. END. New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hi everyone. I'm new to this but I will try to explain my problem as well as I can.

I have recently received my PC back from repairs and I noticed that whenever I play Cod2 or Cod4 ONLINE, after a while the PC freezes. I can't Alt+F4 or go into task manager. It just freezes completely and the sound keeps looping. Each time I have to manually restart my PC from the button. Single player works fine for both games and VGA temperatures aren't a problem since I've tried keeping it as cool as possible and the problem still occurred. The VGA is also not the problem cos I've tried 3 different ones, a 280GTX, 285GTX and now I got a 512MB 9600GT, and the problem still occurs.

I've also noticed some visual bugs in some games, visual bugs that appeared with all the 3 different VGA's installed. I noticed that in BioShock2 some water ripples appear with pixels and bright lights emitted from broken electricity cables appear in like a shutter mode.
    In Splinter Cell Conviction, some surface reflections also appear with pixels. In Assassin's Creed 2 whenever a bright white light appears in a cinematic, the image is like getting constantly refreshed from top to bottom.

As I already said the VGA's are fine since they are all new. Even the Mobo is new although I really don't know how to be certain the issue is not related.

Here is my rig:

Manufacturer:
    Custom Built.

Processor:
    Intel Core2Quad Q9550 @ 2.83GHz.

Memory:
    OCZ Blade 4GB DDR2 800MHz.

Hard Drive:
    Seagate 500GB + a Maxtor 120GB which is always empty.

Video Card:
    9600GT 512MB

Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit.

Motherboard:
    Asus P5QD Turbo.

PSU: 750W NOX Extreme Pulsar

Thanks for your time and attention. :)