1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Logi X-530's on a single green jack?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by a_ump, Sep 22, 2010.

  1. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,603 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    368
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    well i bought this 5.1 randomly with what i had left from scholarship money, just wanted the loudest at walmart. So the Logitech X-530's were it. Now i'm good with most hardware, just never explored speakers too much. Now this thing has a black, green, and orange connectors and i only have the Blue, green, pink jacks on my motherboard. I assume i will have to buy a sound card to get full and true use of the 5.1? And for the meantime, is there anyway to get more than 2 sat's n my sub goin?
     
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,568 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,100
    gain access to the control panel for your audio chip and see if you can set those 3 ports to what you want or they are dedicated to a specific task full time. I know with mine, I can plug something in, and from a drop down menu I can tell the CP what it is that I plugged into each jack.
     
  3. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    ^^
    Yeah, in the drivers for my Realtek onboard audio I can retask my blue port (line out) to be rear (that would be your black) and my mic port to be center/sub (your pick). Green still goes to green, that's front.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,922 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    if you don't have the software to do it - get a line splitter (3.6mm stereo) they are cheap and common. double it twice coming out of your pc and it will send the same signal to all 3 inputs on the speakers.

    messy but it gets the job done when options are slim.
     
  5. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,150 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    "full 5.1" as in Dolby Digital or DTS surround sound? You need a Home Cinema System with a supported amplifier.

    Nope, because the content that you are playing back, MP3's, games etc for the most part are recorded in stereo and hence stereo is what gets played back i.e. 2 sats and sub working only. In the Realtek software you should be able to make the MIC jack or line-in jack operate as a rear black jack, but even so you might not get any sound coming from rear in most situations. You need a specialist soundcard with Dolby Digital or DTS encoding with a Home Cinema System.

    digibucc method, is more of a mod to duplicate the channels, it will work but its not ideal.

    Use software like FFDShow to allow you to manipulate the audio channels to get 5.1, it will only work with movies though.
     
    Last edited: Sep 22, 2010
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,922 (5.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    That's not really 5.1, it's stereo duplicated over the other 4 channels.

    wat

    I got a generic 5.1 surround speaker set and it goes to my generic Realtek onboard audio and I get full surround sound in applications that support it. Most games do, and most newer movies do. Music, however, is always in stereo, and you would need something with upmixing support to be able to get that to play over all channels.
     
    Dent1 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,150 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    That is basically what I said lol

    I mentioned the upmixing software somewhere. FFDShow can be used for non supported movies and there is a way to get it working with music files but it isnt as straight forward.
     
  8. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,922 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    my realtek has "speaker fill" in it's options to make stereo go out all speakers.

    @hat: I never said it was 5.1 - He asked how to get his other 2 satellites working - I gave him a way.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page