1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Logitech Z-5500 Digital Soundroom

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by DanishDevil, Apr 16, 2008.

  1. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,482 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,761
    90% of people hate creative cards for their quality (or lack thereof)

    If you dont want a xonar, grab an auzentech - if you want the best of everything, they auzen have their own X-fi.
     
  2. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,911 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,357
    gettin hold of an Auzentech is gonna be difficult. my usual retail store = sold out, Ebuyer = Dont stock them. Ebay = Pricey, not many + wrong model.

    Im trying not to buy online as when i do I gotta ask my dad to use his credit/debit card :p (I haz no debit card) & he's stupidly cautious about buying stuff online - you do not know how much trouble i went through just to get him to trust Ebuyer - If it was ebuyer he woulda put up a fuss but he still woulda bought it provided i can put a deposit or pay upfront.

    I will contact my usual retail store n see how that goes. otherwise its still Creative & Asus's cards floating around on the market.

    ::EDIT::

    Ive been looking for the Auzentech XFi Prelude but all i can find is the X-plosion Cinema
     
  3. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,641 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    172
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    No problems gaming here with D2. Creative's EAX crap doesn't really do anything, to me.
    It's never been accurate and real sounding before. Maybe 5 is different, but I wouldn't hold my breath.
     
  4. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground
    my 2 weeks old z-5500 was 380$ ...

    i have on the back of speakers 0808 latest firmware 2.1.0 boost 22;2nd skin eat 50% of max power

    have made a few bass test and was a failure ;z has start to make a buzzing sound i think the lower freq. aren't supported well

    at this time i have only stereo output from pc to the console and digital coaxial from dvd (DTS is decoded)

    i'll like to connect with 3 stereo jacks from pc to console but i have only 6 free wires at my cable from pc to TV(2 wires tv-out) and Z5500;i use a ftp cable which was set under the floor and i don't want to have visible cables so does anyone know if i can use 1 ground (the shield of ftp cable) for all the 3 stereo in-output?
     
  5. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    when you say FTP cable do you mean ethernet cable (or normal network cable)?
     
  6. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground

    networking is not my field but the cable has 8 wires shielded and the individual wire is solid copper
     
  7. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    All right guys. I've set it all up. Have the pictures!

    Cold Storm
    1. Device: Auzentech X-plosion 7.1 Modded
    2. System Firmware: V.2.1.0
    3. M/N: S-0115A
    4. PID: R738
    5. Speaker connection: Speaker Wire
    6. Boost 22: Yes
    7. Anime, Movies, Rap, Rock


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Took the pictures from my picture phone... lmao...
     
  8. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    nice... i see you got the second skin going... (purple light)
     
  9. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Oh yeah, I did all the little "secrets" that are on the first post.. It's a great system. You can't beat the price for this... Have the op amp modded on the Azuen and I don't even need the extra bass boost in order to have the glass behind the desk rattle!
     
  10. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,911 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,357
    Not to everyones taste but Symphony X's most recent album sounds gorgous on these speakers
     
  11. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I have a problem with my speakers. I can only hear 2 speakers working. I am in 6 channel direct on the LCD. Have I plugged the connectors in the right slots on my sound card? Left to right, black, pink then green.
     
  12. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    I found this extract from another website.

    Connecting a PC's 2 Channel Stereo Analog output:

    If your PC or Laptop only has stereo output (2 Channel Left / Right) you can still simulate the 5.1 experience via your Z-5500. You need to first set the toggle switch at the back of the Control Center from 6 Channel Direct to Stereo 1-3. You then plug in the stereo mini-plug coming from your PC/laptop to any of the 3 (now stereo) input jacks at the back of the Control Center. You have to enable this input by selecting it from the Control Center's Input options. You can then simulate Dolby 5.1 (for Movies or Music) by selecting Pro Logic II (PLII) Movies or Music under Effects in the Control Center.

    Edit: Make sure you read my edits in your previous thread as well :)
     
  13. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Left to right is this
    Pink, Black Green

    And for a picture here is one from Overclockers For a little more help on the card and anything else
     
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,482 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,761
    you're also going to need a 5.1 source. make sure you arent testing with music or stereo files.
     
  15. Dia01

    Dia01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    498 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    Bought mine about 1 month ago for my HTPC setup. Can not be any happier with them although still need to set the rear speakers up once I finish renovating the lounge room. The sub is bloody enormous!

    Firmware - v2.1.0
    M/N - S011SB
    PID - R817
    Speaker connection - Speaker Wire
    Input - Motherboard Toslink Optical

    IMGP1080.jpg
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2008
  16. will

    will

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    455 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Hereford, England
    Nice setup! What case is that HTPC using? I think you would get better sound if you moved your left and right speakers further apart, you will get better stereo imaging and the soundstage should improve a lot.
     
    Dia01 says thanks.
  17. Dia01

    Dia01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    498 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    Case is a Thermaltake DH102. I'm actually thinking of mounting the front left and right speakers on the wall once I finish renovating as well as the rears on the back wall.
     
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2008
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,482 (11.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,761
    oh yeah. i can definately agree, getting the spacing right really matters with speakers like this. They arent designed to be right next to each other.

    Mine sounds rather poor atm, since my desk still hasnt been moved to my new house, the rear speakers are mounted on the ceiling while the fronts are on the floor. Makes for a pretty weird soundstage.
     
  19. Whilhelm

    Whilhelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    844 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    Barrie, Canada.
    I have a set of these, they are fantastic little speakers for what they cost. Here is a few shots of my old college dorm room showing how I had them set up.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    I eventually replaced it with a receiver and got a bigger sub and bigger fronts, center, and rear speakers I still use the Z-5500s as side surrounds in the 7.1 setup. Eventually I am going to get a totally new matching set of speakers but for now the hodgepodge of speakers I have going now sound pretty great to me.:)

    [​IMG]

    Thats my contribution to a good thread full of people that enjoy great sound quality. :toast:
     

    Attached Files:

  20. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    951 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    how can i check the firmware on my z-5500's and can i upgrade it?

    there's no need just curious..
     
  21. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    The first post will show you how to Check for the firmware on it. And all the little things that you can play with
     
  22. urge Guest

    Hello everyone!

    I found this site a couple days ago while looking for some information. I have had my Z-5500 for a couple weeks now but to be honest I havent had the oppurtunity to really use it to its full potential. The highest ive probably gone on my volume control is 6 bars. The thing is freakin loud even just that much haha and I like LOUD. I got 2 10 inch subs in my car (although they currently arent working :mad:)

    Anyways, i sent the info to join to devil and here are some pictures of my setup. I dont have pictures of my rear speakers because they are just on the floor right now. I dont know whether to mount them on my wall or buy some sort of stands for them.

    IMG_1580.jpg

    IMG_1597.jpg

    IMG_1605.jpg

    I know I just got here but i have some questions for you guys =P

    1) Ive read about this whole second skin thing and saw the trick on how to enable it. However i also remember reading something in this thread saying that it lowers the sound? What pros and cons come along with the second skin and is it worth it to change to it?

    2) I have onboard sound on my fairly new motherboard. It had a realtek HD audio manager which lets me configure the sound from Headphones to 8CH. Currently however im using the green/orange/black cable that came with the Z-5500's. The motherboard also has an optical out so I want to buy one since I hear the sound is alot better but the question is do i need to upgrade and get a real sound card for the optical? or should I be getting true 5.1 already coming out of my computer. I tested with a dvd and the Pro logic movie setting makes the characters voices go away but i still hear sound effects... If i set it to 6ch it works fine though. Is this becuase of the way I have it hooked up?

    3) How do you guys manage having more than one digital audio cable going to the reciever? I would ideally like to have my xbox using digital audio along with my computer without having to unplug/plug everytime i want to switch between the two.

    4) I currently have Volume +3 since im using analog (at least I think im using analog). Am I hurting anything by having that setting configured? I read in this thread it was useful for adjusting the gain since analog comes through at a lower audio level. but I just wanted some input.

    5) My front speakers didnt need much cable since they are close to the speaker. To keep things tidier I have the length I didnt need tied up like how it came out of the box. Will this hurt the speakers or will it create resistance and degrade sound quality? If so how should the wires be wrapped/rolled up?

    If I was unclear in any of the questions. I can rephrase something if need be. I tried to look for these answers in the 24 pages of posts and looked through most of them but couldnt find what I was looking for. Thank you all in advance for reading and replying =)
     
  23. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    To get real 5.1 e.g. Dolby Digital/DTS you need a specialist soundcard which is capable of encoding. The following sound cards can encode stereo into 5.1 bitstreams when using either digital coaxial or fibre:

    HT OMEGA STRIKER 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz PCI Interface Sound Card - Retail $63.99

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16829271001


    HT OMEGA CLARO 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Interface Sound Card - Retail $159.99

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16829271002

    AuzenTech AZT-XPCINE 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz $99.99

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16829156006


    ASUS Xonar D2 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Interface Ultra Fidelity $179.99

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16829132001

    Edit: The Logitech Z-5500 has both fibre and coaxial. You can connect the Xbox via fibre to the receiver and use coaxial from the soundcard to the receiver.
     
  24. urge Guest

    Info:


    1)All devices that you have connected to the system and how they are connected

    currently only my computer. I have my 46" samsung LCD HDTV as a secondary monitor however and play dvd's and games that way.

    2)System Firmware Version

    not sure... dont really want to reset my settings to check =\

    3)M/N (from the back of your sub)

    S-0015A

    4)PID (from under any of your satellites or sub - really your manufacturer date)

    PID - R740

    5)Speaker connection type (RCA or speaker wire)

    Speaker wire that came with the system

    6)Do you have Boost 22 capability

    I tested and I have boost +11 capability but even though I put the volume up with no sound being played i was kinda freaked out to go higher.

    7)What your favorite song/album/movie/game is to use with them!

    A fun song to play on these puppies is...Chemical Brothers - Bass test (The crazy bass effect at the begining is fantastic)

    Artist - Anything rock, Disturbed, Tool, OLP, lots. Havent tested and movies for real yet. Dance/Jungle is good too.
     
  25. urge Guest

    Thanks Darren, some good info there. The higher end HT Omega looks fantastic but I cant find it available anywhere around me =(. The ASUS Xonar doesnt have Optical out which blows so thats out. That pretty much leaves me with the AuzenTech AZT. The thing also comes with a digital optical cable which is nice! Still hard to find around here but at least its available. Do you have any personal experience with the above cards? If the HT Omegas are really that much better I might try to find one on ebay or something....
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page