1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

logitech z906 and asus xonar problems

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by lszilveszter, Jan 7, 2013.

  1. lszilveszter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey guys...I have just bought a Z906 and asus xonar DG sound card...I am using the 6 channel direct input cable...the one with the 3 jack..this was given with the z906 but for some reason I cant do the dolby test...the front two speakers are working but when it goes for the center speaker the sound is heard in both the front two speakers...non of the rear speakers are working...this is only in the 5.1 test...in music or movies they work...but for the music since I mentioned it...its like it cant do a clear stereo...and I listen to flac quality ....another question is with that 6 channel cable... there are 3 colors both on sound card and on subwoofer...and the the 3 jacks are colored as well to match them...but there is only sound from the greenish jack...if I unplug the other two there is still sound like nothing happened :wtf: !! so would it make a difference if I got an optical cable...?

    thanks
     
  2. KingPing

    KingPing

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    828 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Argentina (South America)
    Dolby won't do 5.1 through analog only 2.1. You can use the analog outputs (the 3 jacks), i have a similar Logitech 5.1 connected trough analog to a Xonar DX.

    Have you configured correctly the analog output in the Xonar DG audio center?

    If it is similar to the DX audio center, you have to select MAIN, then set AUDIO CHANNEL to 6 channels and ANALOG OUT to 5.1 speakers.
     
    lszilveszter says thanks.
  3. lszilveszter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am using that 3 jack cable that was given with the z906..I am not using the one that has 2 jacks in one end and 1 jack at the other..the stereo cable...but the incredible thing is that if I unplug 2 of the 3 from the sound card or from the back of the sub-woofer the sound is still going just like nothing happened...shouldn't those 3 jacks using like one for sub and center and the other two for the other satellites...?
    And yes I have the same audio interface...and I selected the ones that you mentioned...but if I am trying to change it the analog out from 5.1 to 2 speakers nothing happens...all 5 speakers will continue to work if the effect from the z906 is put in 3d mode..or all 4 work if it is put in 4.1 mode....:banghead: will an optical cable make a difference?? :confused:
     
  4. lszilveszter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I went down today to the store to buy optical cable..since I wasnt sure which one to get...I saw that there was a z906 put out for testing...so I asked an employee if I could plug this cable in to the sobwoofer :
    http://www.beststuff.co.uk/store/images/T/42919.jpg

    well...I did plug it in...but we couldn't get it out...no matter how hard we tried...so the end of the plug broke in to whole...fortunately the employee did it...is that cable good for the z906 and for the asus xonar dg? if so why on earth wouldn't came out ??????
     
  5. KingPing

    KingPing

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    828 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Argentina (South America)
    It sounds to me that the problem lies in the Logitech 5.1. I have this option in mine that plays 2.1 sounds in all speakers, i think it's called matrix or something. See if that option is enable, if so disable it.


    No idea, i never had a problem like that with an optical cable.
     
    lszilveszter says thanks.
  6. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Dolby Digital can't be passed through analogue. You need to switch to a fibre optic or digital coaxial cable.

    Please bear in mind you'll only get Dolby Digital through DVD playback, because the ASUS DG doesnt support real time Dolby Digital Live encoding.
     
    lszilveszter says thanks.
  7. lszilveszter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    as my problems unfold slowly...I just found out that if I push the effect button on the logitech console untill no lights are on...than the dolby test works...like I can hear the sound in all 5 speakers plus the woofer...but it wont work if I select the 3D effect...should it work like this....?
     
  8. lszilveszter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0


    ...so if I get an optical cable and if fortunately it wont get stuck like the one in the store... shouldn't the 5.1 be working on everything that is encoded that way...? like hd movies or something like that...?
     
  9. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Yes this is normal. All 3D effect is a matrix which expands stereo into a 5.1 as a basic method of filling all the speakers. If there is a Dolby Digital the 3D effects option is rendered useless.

    Yes, DVD Movies, Blu-ray movies, any downloaded movies which are pre encoded in 5.1. To set it up you have to enable SPDIF out in your media player for the soundcard to detect the bitstreams.

    All other material such as MP3s, online videos, games etc will be in stereo, but you can use that 3D effects button to fill up all five speakers. It wouldn't sound as good as Dolby Digital but its better than stereo. Your only other alternative is to have a Dolby Digital Live enabled soundcard so listen to all your material in Dolby 5.1.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2013
    lszilveszter says thanks.
  10. lszilveszter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so the asus xonar dg doesn't know dolby..??? :banghead: I taught that if a sound card is 5.1...thats dolby sorund...oh man...:| this was a big mistake than ....
     
  11. lszilveszter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so than the asus xonar dx know the dolby? but if my sound card doesent know...shouldnt the logitech system convert it to dolby digital...?
     
  12. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    No, it does do Dolby on pre-encoded material such as DVD's, Bluray DVD and certain movie files recorded in DD using a digital cable in SPDIF-output mode.

    Normal files, like MP3s, movie files and games tend to be recorded in PCM Stereo not Dolby Digital hence why you'll never get Dolby from them without encoding and up mixing them with a certified Dolby Digital Live soundcard.

    Also, 5.1 just means 5 speakers and a subwoofer, it doesn't mean Dolby Digital. Dolby Digital can be had in 2.0 as well, it's just a patented of audio produced by Dolby Laboratories which features predominately on DVD soundtracks.
     
  13. lszilveszter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    what sound card is recommended to work in DD with my logitech z906? I also want it to be stable with drivers and not to expensive of course...around $80.00 +-
     
  14. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Why don't you use your current soundcard. Dolby Digital in DVDs, Bluray titles and movies files recorded in DD - isnt that enough?
     
  15. lszilveszter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    That would do...but I am listening a lot of music...and since I got this system I am trying to listen to flac only...because of the quality...I watch movies one or twice a week
     
  16. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    The cheapest ones are probably the Xonar DX, Asus Xonar D2X, Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty Professional, X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty, Creative Soundblaster Z.


    http://uk.store.creative.com/sound-blaster/sound-blaster-recon3d-fatal1ty-professional/1-20886.aspx
    Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro....
    Creative Soundblaster Z PCIe Gaming Sound Card | E...
    XONAR DX/XD PCIE LOW PROFILE - 7.1 CHANNEL AUDIO C...
    Asus Xonar D2X Soundcard | Ebuyer.com

    Before you buy anything do your own research to be sure it supports Dolby Digital Live, ideally DTS Connect too.
     
    lszilveszter says thanks.
  17. lszilveszter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks for the suport..I think I will go for the asus xonar dx, :)
    but I am still confused how come I only need 1 cable to hear the sound on my asus xonar dg...what is for the other two? I know there a 4th one but thats for the microphone...
     
  18. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Because a single digital cable can hold upto 5 channels when compressed.
     
  19. lszilveszter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I am not talking about the optical cable...I am talking about the other 3 inputs that the sound card has...it has actually 4 plus the optical....but on of the 4 its for the microphone...so than 1 is for the sound...and the other two does nothing...the "side" and the "sub" does nothing...if I unplug the cables from these two the sound continues to be on....the only one that seems to work is the "front" input...fyi---I am using the 3 way cable...the logitech prospect that I rcvd with the z906 it says that this is the 6 channel input cable...so why only 1 cable works ?
     
  20. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    They are for anologue connectivity.

    Typically, pink is for microphone or line-in, green is front speakers, black is for the rear speakers or side, orange is for center or subwoofer.


    They all work,

    You are only getting audio from the front speakers because the material is recorded in stereo. If the audio you're listening to is only stereo it'll only be outputed in two channels, thus only two speakers will operate regardless of there being 6 channel speakers. To utilise 6 speakers (without upmixing using 3D effect, or prologic etc) you need to playback material which already has 6 decrete channels. i.e. a DVD disc.
     
    lszilveszter says thanks.
  21. lszilveszter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    thanks for clearing that up for me...
     
  22. lszilveszter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have bought an optical cable...but there is no sound...no matter what input I select on the z906...do I have to do something else...? like in windows or something...
     
  23. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,486 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    359
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    you would need to set the default device in windows sound to the xonar digital output (optical)
     
  24. lszilveszter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I selected the digital audio...and when I am playing some music it shows me the oscilloscope is moving but still no sound...
     
  25. lszilveszter New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    16 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    no sound is comming out if I select the 3rd or 4th input on the logitech central console...:ohwell:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page