1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking at Upgrading Laptop Memory...

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by satindemon4u, Dec 9, 2013.

  1. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    765 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Hello all. Looking to upgrade my memory. Currently in my Vaio I have one stick of 4GB. Now, according to Speccy it is running at a whopping 798MHz (11-11-11-28). So I was looking to upgrade.

    Was looking on Newegg and found some Kingston HyperX. I actually found two different products that I like but am wondering which to go with. Both are a total of 4GB but in two 2 Gig sticks. One however is 1866 and the other is 1600. Currently due to a sale the 1866 is a dollar cheaper so I mean why not? But, I don't have the cash for either one of these right now so I am wondering something. If the sale goes off when I do have the money should I just opt for the 1600? Will I notice much of a difference? I have a dedicated graphics card so it's not like I am pulling really on Intel Graphics.

    Here are both products...

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820104300

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820104258

    System specs as of right now....

    Intel Core i7 3667U @ 2.00GHz
    4GB DDR3 memory
    Nvidia GeForce GT 740M
    500GB Western Digital HDD
  2. DF is BUSY

    DF is BUSY

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    267 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    if there is a difference in 1866 and 1600 its almost un-noticeable in real world time. since the 1866 is cheaper, why not go for that one?

    also, if you are really "chasing numbers", the 1600 is cas9 while the 1866 is cas11 (which is kinda high for 1866 ram IIRC)..... so i'd go for 1600+cas9 personally, but again its very negligible
    Arjai says thanks.
  3. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    765 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Alright. I didn't think the difference was too great. However I did manage to find the 1866 for $40 on amazon! Same exact product and everything. Thank you Amazon wish list toolbar hahah!
  4. bonehead123

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2013
    Messages:
    18 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    In a deep, dark place you don't wanna go
    if you really wanna "upgrade" your memory, why not go for 2x 4GB sticks ? Moving up to memory that has a little better cas specs is NOT really gonna make that big of a difference in your machine's performance. BUT going from 4GB to 8 GB WILL ..............
  5. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    765 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    I thought about that. But as it currently stands I don't use close to all of my memory. So wouldn't that just leave me with more leftover memory? On top of that I figured my biggest gain would be from going to single channel, to dual channel.
  6. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,394 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    If you do any sort of gaming on that laptop definitely go for 8gb, if you still have ram to spare then i recommend getting a samsung 840 evo or pro and making use of Rapid Mode
    Arjai says thanks.
  7. Octopuss

    Octopuss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    776 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Czech republic
    Faster memory might be pretty pointless in a notebook.
    For example, my father in law has this shitty HP Pavilion dv7 brick with Sandy Bridge i7 in it and 1600MHz memory that runs at 1333MHz. I almost wasted money on 1866MHz modules and luckily noticed this before I bought them. Stupid retarded manufacturer-forced hardcoded limits.
  8. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    765 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    I do some gaming on it, yes. I currently have a free slot open. So was either thinking x2 2GB sticks or x2 4GB sticks.
  9. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,394 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188
    Just get another 4GB stick of ram to match the one you already got installed and call it a day if youre not prepared to spend any more money
  10. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    765 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Thought about that. Wasn't sure if different speeds would cause anything...weird or unwanted haha
  11. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,394 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,188

    nope, Just buy a 1600mhz module and if the other one is slower then it will default to the slower speed. Nothing weird at all
  12. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    765 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Nice! I suppose I will go take a look at those. Probably cut my cost in half.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page