1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking for a good GPU to pair with;

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by bpgt64, Jul 28, 2009.

  1. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    AMD 7850 "Kuma" BE
    2x2GB G.Skill DDR2 1066
    ASUS M3A76-CM AM2+/AM2 AMD 760G Micro ATX AMD
    1 TB WD Caviar Green Drive(Storage)
    500GB Seagate Barracuda (App drive/OS)

    Full Rig;
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231149
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103678
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131376
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16823166079
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811144231
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136317


    I was thinking something like a GTX 250 or possibly a HD 4870/50, I am going to have about 200 bucks more to spend on the rig here pretty soon(selling a UD4P, 9600GT(not HDCP Compliant). Would like a fairly strong GPU(150 ish to spend), and BD-ROM drive.
     
  2. Zoelef New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    $125 -Sapphire Radeon 4870 w/code AWESOME10 at checkout, a $10 MIR (not factored in), and free ground shipping. On the flipside, their free ground shipping will take 3-6 business days if you're on the east coast.

    As for Blu-Ray drives, well, I have no idea.
     
    bpgt64 says thanks.
  3. aj28 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    352 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    BD-ROM should run you no more than $70 of that $200, depending on the exact speed you want. I'd go ahead and drop the remainder on a 4850/4870, as either should be a safe bet. Sticking with an HD4 should keep headaches to a minimum when it comes to HD playback and chipset drivers... I notice you didn't post your PSU, however. If you intend to use the 500W in the Apevia case, the 4870 is out of the question. You could try a 4850, but I'd be more inclined to drop that recommendation down to a 4830 pending a PSU upgrade.
     
  4. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    for 150 you can sometimes get a GTX 260 core216
     
  5. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    The only problem is queit a few GPUs don't fit properly in the case I am buying. So it needs to be shorter than 9 inches in length. Some users have posted that they were able to drill or out, or somehow modify the case into fitting cards like, HD 4870/GTX260. Which is what I would prefer getting.

    I also need to consider the possibility of getting a card that can capture video as well. I know ATI used to have the "All in wonder" series. But for the most part those cards have diverged from GPU/Capture combo cards. Into separate pieces of hardware. I am not planning on playing video games on this computer however, so I am thinking for now I am going to use the "HD 3000" series chip onboard video, untill I can confirm the confinements of the case.
     
  6. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    isn't the 55nm GTS 250 like exactly 9 inches or something?
     
  7. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Yea...the GTX 260 for instance is 10.5
     
  8. mrhuggles

    mrhuggles

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    i gotta say, i am really loving this GTS 250 55nm [512mb] card i got a hold of, i tried out crysis demo and it got fairly good framerate in my resolution even with the options turned all the way up, it was not like 60fps but it was good enough to be fun [1360x768]
     
  9. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,799 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    674
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Get you a GTX260 and break out the cutters.
     
  10. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    I have a buddy who's handy with a dremmel, and other modification tools. The on-board Video card is strong enough to suit me for now...However I would much rather have a dedicated card.

    Still trying to figure out the best combination of Video Card/Video(TV) Capture card.
     
  11. SNiiPE_DoGG New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    582 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    135
    well a 4870 is exactly the length of the motherboard so I dont see how you couldnt fit it - its smaller than a 260 IIRC
     
  12. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Definitely going to have to be a single card solution, most of the dual cards are 10+ inches, and this has to be sub 9.5 according to the manufacturer. Who knows, going to find out tomorrow however! I'd like to have something in there of HD4870/50 caliber, either that or a GTX 260. But we'll have to wait and see how hard to mod this case is going to be.
     
  13. aj28 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    352 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    If card length is causing you a lot of headaches, just go with a different case. Any of the Silverstone SG01/SG02 with model number ending in "F" has extended room for longer graphics cards. Their site shows one outfitted with a 12" 2900XTX: http://silverstonetek.com/products/p_contents.php?pno=SG01-F&area=usa

    (The SG02 is about $30 cheaper, but has a plastic bezel rather than brushed aluminum.)

    I'll repeat though, I really-really-really don't think you ought to be using the 500W Apevia in that case. They claim 16A/18A on the 12V rails, but from personal experience I can tell you that things weighs less than a 300W Antec. It might run, but not for long, and not if you keep the room too hot... 4850 maybe, but no 4870 and no 260, at least by my best approximation.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page