1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking for a new AM2 motherboard. (With models in mind)

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Zero-U, Apr 21, 2007.

  1. Zero-U New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi, been reading through this forum for a while but never thought of registering since reading alone is good enough to answer my question. :)

    But, today, I've finally come to a question I need to ask, here:

    Well I'm building a new AM2 system.

    For now, I've got my X3800+ EE (65W) AM2 processor and is looking for a suitable mobo for it. Looking around and asking those local hardware stores, I've got these few models in mind.

    Anyway I'm an experienced stock-overclocker so I think you understand. :cool:

    Gigabyte GA-M55S-S3 (nForce 550)
    Gigabyte GA-M55SLI S4 (nForce4 SLi x8)
    Gigabyte GA-M57SLI S4 (nForce 570 SLi x8)

    Reading tells me that the 5xx series motherboard above don't have PCI bus lock. I'm worried about that as I will throw in my Audigy Value with the new board.

    I don't know about the nForce4 SLi though, any answers/owners can tell me?

    Don't mind about price tag, I've got the cash, but please don't shoot farer than those 3 listed please. I've got my own reasons. :rolleyes:

    Actually, the M55S-S3 can be removed from the list but I put it there in case any of you got advices on it.

    Additional questions:
    Will the nForce4 SLi differ a lot from the nForce5 SLi in performance (ignore features)?

    Is the M55SLi a good overclocking board?

    Thanks for reading. :)
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    I can't tell you first hand about nf4 SLI mobos, as I haven't modded mine to be an SLI board yet, But my DFI NF Ultra II M2 will do 342HT.. Hope that helps.
  3. Zero-U New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So your's is nForce4 ultra? 342 is just too much for me, especially on stock parts. :)

    I think the SLi version won't differ much though. Thanks for the info though.

    I've just come up with a m-atx low-end model, Abit NF-M2S, my friend is offering it for me at very low price (new unit). Anyone that have experience on that board can share?
  4. Zero-U New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    *BUMP*

    Do nForce4 series chipset has the PCI bus lock function in BIOS? The 5xx series don't have it.
  5. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    some 5xx have pci-lock, probably most, it's just a bios option
  6. trt740

    trt740

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    10,935 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,113
    Yes mine does lets you set pci speeds which is in effect a lock.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page