1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

looking for a new video card for my desktop

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by waspman3, Aug 2, 2009.

  1. waspman3

    waspman3

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    228 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rantoul,Ill
    Is there any reason why I can't put an ATI RADEON 4870 1GB into this system below. May have to Google the IBUYPOWER part and go from there.

    iBuyPower Gamer 501AN Desktop (AMD Athlon 5000 Dual Core Processor, 2 GB RAM, 250 GB Hard Drive, NVIDIA GeForce 8400GS 512MB, Vista Premium)
     
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,044 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,802
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    It'd help to know the PSU specs, as that 8400GS isn't much for a power consumer in comparison to a 4870...but if it'd fit in the case there's a good chance it would work, but yeah defiantely do some research and see if others have done some upgrades and if they had any issues.
     
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,228 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,268
    Check the power supply, but I don't see why it wouldn't work. Ibuypower usually puts halfway decent power supplies in their machines.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,956 (12.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,383
    You just need to make sure you have two 6 pin PCI-e power cables coming from the PSU. I couldn't find any information on it unfortunately.
     
  5. waspman3

    waspman3

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    228 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rantoul,Ill
    I had to upgrade the PS when I got it because I'm a gamer. It had a 300 watt ps if I remember correctly and I got a 500 watt ps. I'm more savvy on the how to run a computer than I am of the inside of one. Anyway it has a 3 gyg processer and 2 gb ram. Not sure if that helps. It's almost being a gamer you've gotta replace Video cards every 2-3 years. Am I correct or way off track in my thinking on this?
     
  6. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,131 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    792
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    gtx 260


    and how much did u pay for that? just wondering if ibuypower is still a rip off
     
  7. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,452 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,627
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    It looks like, from just roaming around on the www, that it could be anywhere from a 350 to a 420 watt psu. You best bet is to open it up and get the info off the tag.

    Most all 4870 cards call for 450 watt or better PSUs. If you have a 420 or less, you might be asking for trouble later on. Just my opinion.:)
     
  8. waspman3

    waspman3

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    228 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rantoul,Ill
    Im not sure it was like 3 years ago. I'm not hearing to much good about IBUYPoWERS computers.
     
  9. waspman3

    waspman3

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    228 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rantoul,Ill
    I've got a 55o in there now,a Rocketfish I believe
     
  10. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,603 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    even if you have a 550 watt psu if its a cheap one, you still can't run good car on it, whats are the rails on it.

    ummm whats the model number
     
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I think the OEM's for a Rocketfish PSU is Channellwell or Topower. Pretty sure(98%) its topower. With that said if its a 550W you would be fine.
     
  12. waspman3

    waspman3

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    228 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rantoul,Ill
    Any thoughts on this one or should I stick to the 4870?


    Video / Graphics Cards > PCI Express 2.0
    HIS Radeon HD 4850 IceQ4 TurboX Video Card - 512MB GDDR3, PCI Express 2.0, CrossFireX Ready, (Dual Link) Dual DVI,
    if you do a Google on this you'll get a better idea. Thanks guys
     
  13. jagd

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    460 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    89
    Location:
    TR
    4850 IceQ4 is a good card but if you have a psu to feed 4870 stick to 4870
     
  14. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    550w is more than enough for a 4870. Grab a 1gb one if you can, it really helps.
     
  15. waspman3

    waspman3

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    228 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rantoul,Ill
    Boy have I got a story to tell.I awoke this morning looked in my case and not only did I not see a video card but thought I had a Rocketfish 550 ps. Wrong again..I have a 700 watt ps. Woo hoo but that was only the start. I had to decide if I wanted to go to a local retailer or Best Buy. I've always had good luck with BB and what a choice that turned out to be. I was looking at getting a 4870 when the guy behind the counter sold me a 4890 never been opened @ Clearance price ...$134.00. Needless to say I got that and 2 more gb of Ram. So my IBUYPOWER desktop now has a 3gyg processer,4 gb of Ram and a 4890 ATI Radeon Video card with 1 gb. Think this will last for easily a 2 year period. Playing these games has never looked so good and looked that crisp. Oh the processer is an AMD Athlon. Thanks to all of you for your input. Appreciate it. See ya,more gaming to do!!!
     
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    What a nice update!

    Great to hear man and enjoy! Happy gaming waspman. :)
     
    waspman3 says thanks.
  17. waspman3

    waspman3

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    228 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Rantoul,Ill
    Hey Race Fan-Dude I've been a gamer for like 25 years and this Rig although short of water coolers and stuff still serves it's purpose as a great way to play games. I can't believe I fell for that IBUYPOWER crap back then. But I love Mid towers because of the upgradeability options. Also this should help stop some of those lockups I would think. I'm currently playing the 2k9 baseball game. Wow the detail is something to be reckoned with. Now thinking about getting rid of my Quasmio laptop because I also thought that was a gaming computer. Boy was I wrong,see there's my next project. Thanks Bud for helping steer me in the right direction!!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page