1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking for a Nvidia GeForce Card (650W)

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Arjento, Nov 4, 2009.

1. Arjento New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hi all,

Well I bought my Dell XPS 600 in early 2006 and wish to finally get a new Nvidia Geforce graphics card since my card may be getting a little old (I have a NVIDIA GEFORCE 6800 256MB SINGLE CARD). I've put it off until the last moment when I absolutely need to upgrade my graphics card (Dragon Age!)

I'm a relative newbie when it comes to upgrading and I don't even know how to install the card when I get it! (I'll cross that bridge when the time comes)

After contacting Dell I've been told that my power supply is 650 watts (I believe this is important). I've been looking at the 9800GT's on Amazon and this one I am interest in - http://www.amazon.co_uk/dp/B002GNYR76/?tag=tec053-21

Should I go for higher than the 9800GT? Would my power supply allow it?

My PC Stats are:

Intel(R) Pentium(R) D CPU 3.00GHz
    XPS 600, PD, 830 (3.00GHZ) 2X1MB, EM64T
    MEMORY DUAL CHANNEL 2048MB (4X512) 667MH
    250GB SATA (7200RPM) HARD DRIVE WITH 8MB
    NVIDIA GEFORCE 6800 256MB SINGLE CARD

(If you need more spec information let me know how to get it)

I just copied/paste my specs above not sure what they all mean.

Thanks for your help.

skylamer says thanks.
  2. Asylum

Asylum

Thanks Received:
    Arjento says thanks.
  3. MKmods Case Mod Guru

Thanks Received:
    the 9800GT is fine but the GTS 250 Asylum posts is quite a bit better and only needs 1 6 pin power plug so it would fit nicely.

An ATI 4770,4850 is also a good choice in ur price range.

If ur PS is 650 watts it should be plenty for 1 video card.

Unless you have a 24" or bigger LCD a 512mb video card will be fine for you.

Arjento says thanks.
  4. KainXS

KainXS

Thanks Received: