1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking for a program to test my PSU

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by JUGGERNUTZ, Jul 6, 2007.

  1. JUGGERNUTZ

    JUGGERNUTZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    77 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    i have been working on an issue with my graphics. 3d graphics flickering/studdering. we have come to the conclusion that it might be my power supply.. i need to find a program either to monitor and or stress test it..thanks
     
  2. Demos_sav

    Demos_sav New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    877 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Cyprus
  3. JUGGERNUTZ

    JUGGERNUTZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    77 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    thanks. i am looking online right now and most of the programs i am finding just monitor or show the current voltage readings
     
  4. JUGGERNUTZ

    JUGGERNUTZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    77 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    could someone check out my pc specs and tell if i could be under powering or boarder line. i do have a lot of things in my tower
     
  5. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    650 should be fine, but no theres no way to software test your PSU.

    You need to read the lines directly.
     
  6. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    782 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
    JUGGERNUTZ says thanks.
  7. JUGGERNUTZ

    JUGGERNUTZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    77 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
  8. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    782 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
    you are welcome
     
  9. JUGGERNUTZ

    JUGGERNUTZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    77 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    for what i have in my pc, it says i only need 575 watts. but i have this flicker/studder. i have replaced everything except my PSU and my HDD. could there be a defect in my PSU to cause this problem?
     
  10. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,737 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,537
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I would suggest seeing as there is no ideal solution, one way to help, download speedfan if you dont have it, it tends to be pretty accurate with 3/5/12 volt rail info, run ATI tools 3D artifact scanner at the same time speedfan is open, the aretifact scanner is known to be one of the most denmanding 3D app around, if you like you could also run a background proggie to really stress, check your rails, if one or more of them go constantly below say 11.85 on the +12V, and so on and so forth then thats probably your problem, post the results so we can see.
     
    JUGGERNUTZ says thanks.
  11. JUGGERNUTZ

    JUGGERNUTZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    77 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    thanks very nice. i give it a go :rockout:
     
  12. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,737 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,537
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Always a pleasure!
     
  13. JUGGERNUTZ

    JUGGERNUTZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    77 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    speedfan, very nice programe. everything is right there... so far just running the atitool the lowest drop in the +12v is to 12.08.. ill turn up the juice.. ill run ntune stress test in the back ground
     
  14. JUGGERNUTZ

    JUGGERNUTZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    77 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    ok here are my results for about 15 min. of test
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,737 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,537
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    hmmm that looks fine to me.....where is your 5V rail info?
     
  16. JUGGERNUTZ

    JUGGERNUTZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    77 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    where do i find that
     
  17. JUGGERNUTZ

    JUGGERNUTZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    77 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    check this screeen shot. i stress tested it still running atitool and speed fan with 3dmark06 running. oh n ot to bad a score either i think with all stock settings!
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,857 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Take a pic of speedfan before stressing your PC, then use ATI Tool's fuzzy cube and take a pic afterwards, what are the differences?

    That is a nice score, my x1950pro OC'd get's about 5400's in 3dMark06, but it still does great for me! Those cards are great for sure!
     
  19. JUGGERNUTZ

    JUGGERNUTZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    77 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    the results before and after are about the same. the max on my +12v. is 12.20 idle
     
  20. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,857 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    That's pretty stable, I'd say if it was changing by .10 or more then there might be a problem, but a couple hundredths shouldn't hurt anything.
     
  21. JUGGERNUTZ

    JUGGERNUTZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    77 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    the lowest it went down was to 12.08v
     
  22. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,857 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Well that is a droop, but it's still above 12.0v so I don't know how much it would be worth worrying about. Hard saying if the PSU is the culprit of your stuttering issue or not. Has it stuttered lately? Do these tests when it is and see what you get. There may be something there...
     
  23. JUGGERNUTZ

    JUGGERNUTZ New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    77 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    after all the tests i was running, it started to studder about half as much. i dont get it. like right now it is not studdering at all. i do agree, i need to run these test while it is studdering.. as far as the PSU. i think that i have plenty of power. i ran the extreme power supply calculator and it says with my set up all i need to run it is 482watts...
    side note.... i talked to gigabyte tonight and they are sending my MOBO back. they side that the only problem they found with the MOBO was that there was a falty bios casueing no boot up.. anyways cant wait to get my MOBO back. it is a very sweet board..have a good weekend. off to play S.T.A.L.K.E.R.:D
     
  24. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,097 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    Fluctuation isn't a problem until around 11.5v on a high stress system so its definatly fine.

    A struggling PSU will give you BSOD's and restarts, not flickers.

    What "stuttering"?

    Like pause......... play........ pause.... play?


    Thats either heat or GPU drivers. Most likely GPU heat. Some Ti4200's did this with >42.xx detonators.
     
  25. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,857 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,705
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    He said it's kind of a flicker/stutter if I recall. But maybe you can help in this issue, I've had him check a lot of things out, and haven't found anything out that could be the cause...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page