1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking for a Video Card...

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Soylent Joe, Sep 13, 2009.

  1. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    I want to get a new GPU to use on my old system and/or HTPC.
    I'll mainly have it in my secondary computer, it's a bit old but it's still alive.

    Sony Vaio [insert model no. here]
    P4 "Northwood" 3.2GHz
    2GB DDR 553 (1x 1gb, 2x 512mb)
    250GB Maxtor HDD
    Asus [insert model no. here] motherboard
    DVD burner and 2nd DVD reader
    ATI Radeon X300 128mb (PCIe)
    364W PSU
    The HTPC has better specs so if it works on this it'll work on that.

    Limitations:
    Can't exceed 8" in length
    Can't need more than like 350W
    Don't want to pay more than $100

    I was looking at the Sapphire 4850 that's only $100, but it wants a 450W PSU. So can anyone think of a card that fits the requirements that has the most power for the price? Maybe a 4770 or something else, it doesn't have to be ATI.
     
  2. mosheen

    mosheen

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    321 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    4670
     
  3. MN12BIRD

    MN12BIRD

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    471 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Yeah 4670 or 4770 I think are your best bet.
     
  4. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
  5. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    HD 4770, that's what i'd go with.
     
  6. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Well if I got a 4770, I'd get this one. So it's either the 1GB Gigabyte 4670 for $70 shipped or the 512MB Sapphire 4770 for $110 shipped. What would be the better buy? I'm thinking it'd be the 4670...
     
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Definitely HD4670, just so you don't need to switch out the power supply.
     
  8. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Yeah, and if you were to see the stupid way the PSU is installed, you'd understand my pain. :D

    Guess the 4670 is the winner.
     
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Or maybe even 4650 if you wanna save a little bit of cash.
     
  10. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    no, lol ur wrong on that one m8. the HD 4770 is a lot better than the HD 4670, almost twice the performance if not better. and what resolution? if its 1680x1050 definitely the HD 4770. but then it is only a 350watt. HD 4670 to be safe. If your at 1280x1024 it should suffice.
     
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,129 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,192
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  12. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Well, it'd be at 1360x768, an odd resolution. And there's really now way to swap out PSU's, I don't want to fork out that much right now.
     
  13. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    wouldn't a 9600GSO be pushing it with the 350watt? if he had more juice then i'd definitely point to that, but i'd say HD 4670 to be safe.
     
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    G92 or G94?

    Not that odd of a resolution. Basically it's "720p extended". Mainly found in 16:9 HDTV's.
     
  15. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Says about 180-250W for the 9600. The 4770 doesn't seem to suck a whole lot more juice than the 4650.
     
  16. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    yea, that's why i pointed to that. it'd run any game at ur res no prob, well with the usual stalker:CS and crysis.
     
  17. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Well if I get something that needs a 6-pin power imput, it will be coming from a 2x molex to 6 pin adapter, and I know that isn't really good for cards.
     
  18. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    i was talking about the HD 4770. the 9600GSO would be fine as well. u have a nice selection to pick from right now. I'd say 9600GSO, HD 4670, HD 4770. though personally i'd gowith the HD 4670 just because ur PSU is only 350watts.
     
  19. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,969 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    Location:
    Florida, US
    don't forget this is for a HTPC not a gaming rig
    a 4650/70 would fit the bill perfectly
     
  20. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    ah, see i didn't read that lol. yea HTPC DEFINITELY an HD 4650/70 though the HD 4670 is barely what? like $5-10 more. get one of those no question.
     
  21. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Well what I meant was mainly for the P4 system, and if I happen to sell that computer, I'll put it in my HTPC. I do play some games on the P4 computer.


    I was always looking at the 4670, the 4650 was kinda meh
     
  22. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    yea they're in the same family but the HD 4670 is quite a bit better than the HD 4650.
     
  23. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,408 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Can the 4670 fold?

    Edit: "my ATI4650/4670 doesn't have current support for folding so a little help from the Folding Forums came in handy. as far as I know, all other ATI cards that can fold are supported.
    to make the 4650/4670 fold; go to ATI website, searsh for SDK V1.2.1-beta.
    you will be given a choice and you want to click the link to 'ati.amd.com/technology/streamingcomputing/sdkdwnld.html'.
    after installing, locate your Folding@home-gpu folder and replace amdcalcl.dll and amdcalrt.dll with the new .dll files you just installed.
    restart your machine. good folding on ATI4650/4670 cards."

    Guess it can with a little work, if I can get it running I'll just leave F@H on all the time :)
     
    theonedub says thanks.
  24. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,620 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    376
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    yep, any card that has SPU's can fold. and as ur edit states, some may take a lil more thinking to get it going ;)
     
  25. mosheen

    mosheen

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Messages:
    321 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    4650 ddr3 even better ;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page