1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking for Motherboard <100$ for Phenom 920

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by udayrulz, Jan 25, 2009.

  1. udayrulz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    As the title says .. looking for a stable mobo , with good overclocking features .

    Will pair it up with MSI 4850 Dual Slot , 2 Sata Hdd's , Gskillz piBlack 2 x2 800Mhz , CM460W Power Supply .
     
  2. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    udayrulz says thanks.
  3. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813138128

    I would recommend this Biostar board over the MSI board because it has
    Biostar:
    North Bridge AMD 790GX
    South Bridge AMD SB750
    Memory Standard DDR2 1066
    Maximum Memory Supported 16GB
    6 SATA 3Gb/s

    MSI:
    North Bridge AMD 790X
    South Bridge ATI SB600
    Memory Standard DDR2 1066(only for AM2+) / 800
    Maximum Memory Supported 8GB
    4 SATA 3Gb/s
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2009
  4. udayrulz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  5. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Thats the Mobo I just suggested. I would go for it, you should be abled to get 3.8 with that board if you have good cooling for that Phenom II
     
    udayrulz says thanks.
  6. udayrulz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks mate .. emm now that i am getting this board .. do you think its worth spending that extra bit for the Phenom II 940 . I don't game a lot .. and if i do so i play @ 1024 X 768 on my 720p HD-TV .
     
  7. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    You should be good with the 920, but the 940 is way easier to OC because it has an unlocked multi.
     
  8. udayrulz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have never bought an AMD based procy ..., on my E7300 i can go upto 3.2Ghz on stock cooling , voltages on an G31 based mobo . Its quite simple to overclock intel's .. just keep on increasing the bus speed and stress testing it .
    Is it similar and easy on the AMD 's too ?
     
  9. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Yes, you can OC more or less the same as intel. But you should lookup an overclocking article on the Phenom II, there are some other things like HT speeds that you have to mess with.
     
  10. udayrulz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Cheers mate .., you have been of great help .

    Thanked you twice :)
     
  11. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    No problem, glad I could help.:toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page