1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking for NEW AGP GPU

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by hoax32, Dec 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    Hi everybody!
    I sold some stuff on ebay and collected some money!
    My P4 HT 3.06GHz is on its way and now Im looking for a new AGP graphics card.
    It has to have following specs:

    -at least 400MHz clock
    -at least 256MB Memory
    -has to support AGP 4x slots
    -1x AGP & 1x DVI

    Im ready to spend not more than $40 on it!
    Does anyone have a suggestion?
    Thanks guys! :toast:
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,515 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,918
    Look around Craigslist and ebay for something used. You will find nothing worthwhile new. Try finding an ATi X800 or something like that.
    hoax32 says thanks.
  3. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    I would like to ger a x1000 and up.
    Anny ideas it that area?
  4. Error 404

    Error 404 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    hoax32 says thanks.
  5. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    WOW!
    Thats a litle over my budget!
    I found a radeon9700 for $17, maybe ill take that 1.
    I created a benchmark list, comparing the cards im looking @:

    [​IMG]

    The 9250 is my current 1.
    I plan to upgrade to 1 of em.
    The 9700 is my choice right now, but im waiting for more oppininons and recommendations!
    Thanks guys! :toast:
  6. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,354 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    549
    Location:
    AZ
    hoax32 says thanks.
  7. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,696 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    362
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Oh for christ's sake, man. Have you not listened to a word we've said?

    You're SIDEgrading there, not UPgrading. If you INSIST on sticking with your current rig, and not getting a new one like any sane person would, do not go for anything less than a 7800GS. It will be bottlenecked by your P4, but it will be a LOT better than that ATi crap you're currently jumping on.

    EDIT: Sorry, I meant at least a 6800GS.
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2010
    hoax32 says thanks.
  8. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,915
    Is the pc for gaming and if so which games do you intend to play?

    Often it would be wiser to save up a bit more and upgrade cpu/mobo combo.... ;)

    I have an FX5500 which I could send you for free, but probably it won't be any better than what you have since it's one of the worst nvidia cards ever made...

    Also a 9800 Ati, but I've never tested it properly so it could be totally dead..

    But on second thoughts I'd really suggest you stick with what you have till you have a larger budget. The cards I mentioned were on my daughter's pc, it is struggling to play her girlie (sims, barbie dressups...) games with the 5500 and I plan to upgrade her soon.
    hoax32 says thanks.
  9. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    If you can somehow find yourself an inexpensive platform with a PCIE connector for GPU instead of old gen AGP, I will give you a 4650 1gb for the price of shipping. It runs pristine and requires no PSU pins.

    My GF used it beforehand but she has upgraded to a GTS450 so its kind of just lying around. It can handle pretty much all games and reasonable frame rates.
    hoax32 says thanks.
  10. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,354 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    549
    Location:
    AZ
    he's got like a 50$ budget total from what I can surmize. it's not really going to do much towards a total rig upgrade but he cans how a noticible boost over what he has in the mean time.

    so yeah I agree he should save for a whole rig changeout, but for now 50$ for a faster cpu and 4x as fast gpu isn't too shabby.
    hoax32 says thanks.
  11. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,696 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    362
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    It's not bacsue he doesn't have the money, it's becauase he refuses to abandon his old PC. He has actually said he will never get a new one because he "loves" it too much...
    hoax32 says thanks.
  12. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Try and get hold of a hd4670 agp version if you have to use AGP.

    Not sure how well it performs but got a FX5700 just sat next to me, yours for postage should you want it, will refund you if DOA as I've never ran the card.



    *edit* really red machine?

    Woah imagine if he used one of our rigs, he'd be off his tits! lol
    hoax32 says thanks.
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,444 (10.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    6800GT DDR3 would be nice, i seen some on the forums (hardF, anantech, OC.net) for like 35$
    hoax32 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,066 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    i remember that thread... he's a lost cause..
    hoax32 says thanks.
  15. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,696 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    362
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Indeed. We need to do something about that...
  16. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,561 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,915
    Well I understand that. I've kept nearly all of my old pc's... If I show you a photo of the room they're in you'd go :shadedshu

    But well the world must go on, upgrading is inevitable if you want to really enjoy your time on a pc..

    _______________

    Just let's keep this thread free of insults please, no matter how much you disagree with the OP's opinion.
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2010
    hoax32 and Red_Machine say thanks.
  17. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,696 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    362
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    You should see my room. I still have an old Pentium III I built myself. XD

    But refusing to buy a new PC because you're too attatched to your old one is not good. By all means keep it, just don't insist on using it as your main PC.
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 20, 2010
    hoax32 says thanks.
  18. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    *ahem*
    A HD 4670 AGP would be a colossal bottleneck on a AGP 4x with a Pentium 4 (not to mention the HD 3850). I recommend something in the lines of what others have said, go for a nVidia 6200/6600/6800/7300/7600 or a Radeon x800/x1300/x1500/x1650/HD2400. Anything above that, I believe, would be somewhat overkill due to the AGP 4x bottleneck and a waste of your money.
    He could just keep his current old PC and buy a new one. I also have my Old Pentium 3 ready to run with a TNT2 and a Radeon 9200 so that I can play those old games that are buggy as hell on newer systems. Colin McRae Rally Original, Age of Empires I & II, Alien Nations, Driver, Sega Rally 2, just to name a few...
    hoax32 says thanks.
  19. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    U guys are awesome! :laugh:
    This rig is verry special to me, because I build it by miself! :cry:
    "Shnief"
    I would never let it go!
    I knouuu some of u think, that im laaaaame!, but thats, how Iam!
    This rig does everything, I want!
    May it be 720p clips on yt or playing GTA San andreas online with my friends!
    It runs like a rocket and why upgrading to a new 1, if I dont need to?
    Its not like im trying to run crysis on this metal box.
    ==========================================
    Alright then: back to topic:

    I already bought my new P4!
    Its a 3.06GHz with Hyper Threading! :rockout:
    That should speed up things!
    I, just a second ago, upgrade my ram from 1GB (PC2100) to 1GB(PC2700) Dual channel!
    Now its time for my GPU!
    Its gonna be a X800PRO!!! :)
    Well next im planing to get a SATA 7200rpm HDD!
    And after that, 2GBPC3200 DDR!
    Maybe a 3.4GHz P4 Extream Edition (OC it to 4GHz :rockout: )

    Hope all that is gonna be enough for WaW medium settings!
    Thanx Guys!!!!!!! :toast:
  20. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND

    Why not build another rig?

    Also there is NO point getting different p4s, pretty much all of them do 4ghz :laugh: ( just get a decent cooler and up the fsb and voltage, as the fab process is 180nm it should eat volts for breakfast)


    In the UK you would only need to spennd £300 pounds to build a rig that would literally tear yours to pieces by the way XD p4s have got to be one of the worst intel cpus lol
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2010
    hoax32 says thanks.
  21. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    Dude your wasting your time. Buy a 4650 agp off ebay. I sold mine on their for like $55 shipped at the time. Seriously those x800's won't be much better. Im currently running on a p4 at 2.8 with 1m cache and a 6600gt. Although it plays cod 4 i doubt it would play waw any good.

    Buy a 4650 and if you want to upgrade to a extreme edition later it would be a slight upgrade just cause it has 2mb cache.

    Honestly you would be better selling this system and building a cheap dual core but obviously you cannot be talked into that. Don't waste your money on garbage either that's slight upgrades just like that 1gb pc 2700 over 2100.
    hoax32 says thanks.
  22. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX

    Check out the benchmark, that I posted on the top of the page. ;)
    Thats just the X800, but Im getting the 256MB pro edition!
    Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh yeahhhhhhhh!:toast:
    Now I feal like a real gamer!!!!! :roll: :nutkick:
    XD


    EDIT: I got the ram for FREE! (And its dual channel ;) ) :toast:
  23. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Do you not want to play any new games?
  24. Josh154

    Josh154 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,229 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    317
    Location:
    Hartford SD
    The 4650 is still a much better card and honestly it's not much more.

    Sell that 1gb stick you have now then and put that on top of the cash you wanted to spend for a x800 and get a used 4650 or something.
    hoax32 says thanks.
  25. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    not really, im happy with:

    -Cossacks 2
    -Cossacks BTW
    -Max Payne 2
    -GTA San Andreas
    -CoD2
    -Silent Hill 4
    -Wolfenstein Enemy Territory
    -Track manic Nations Forever
    ........more games in that category......

    C you guys?
    All theese games already run good on my 9250!
    I just want to push the FPS from 20 a little higher! :)

    LOL: I might get 10 bux from that. Ill rather run to mcdonalds and clean peoples puke for 20! XD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page