1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking for new CPU/RAM/MOBO at a budget, coming from Q6600

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Fif23, Oct 7, 2012.

  1. Fif23

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    158 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hey there !
    Right now I have a Q6600 with 6 gigs of ram and a good motherboard.

    I am looking to upgrade to something more modern.

    Requirements:
    1. Ultra fast windows 8 performance. When I click a PDF, I don't want to see it loading.
    2. I play COD MW3 and Diablo 3. If a new COD comes out, I want the CPU to handle it too.
    I already have a good GPU.

    So, let's say 100-150 bucks for the CPU tops, maybe the same for a mobo, and 8 gigs of DDR3.

    What's the BEST I can squeeze out of it ?
    I hear at these prices, I have to stick to AMD AM3+ CPU and Mobo.
    Is that assumption correct ?

    And, generally, will I say WOW @ the parformance after I get new parts at this budget ? Coming from 6600 quad core ?
    Thanks for the help !
     
  2. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    The "wow" part of your question will be given by any modern ssd. Save some of your budget to get a 60-120gb ssd as a boot drive and a bigger mechanical drive for storage. Believe me, you will not regret the money spent...

    As far as cpu-mobo-ram go, i would say i3-3220 (awesome gaming performance/price ratio), any quality z77 mobo (choose your brand and features set, according to your needs/taste) and add 8gb of samsung ddr3-1600 (my personal choice, as it overclocks like mad and cost less than many other kits). 130+120+50, so around 300$.
     
    Fif23 says thanks.
  3. tropicmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    15 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    NC/FL
    This will meet your budget but I am not sure you would see an appreciable difference in performance CPU wise. As far as the games you listed that will depend heavily on your GPU.


    PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant / Benchmarks

    CPU: Intel Core i3-2125 3.3GHz Dual-Core Processor ($147.99 @ Amazon)
    Motherboard: ASRock Z77 Extreme4 ATX LGA1155 Motherboard ($122.62 @ Newegg)
    Memory: Kingston Blu 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($35.99 @ Newegg)
    Total: $306.60
    (Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
     
    Fif23 says thanks.
  4. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,001 (6.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,244
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    WHy would he get an Old sandy bridge i3 when he can get the new Ivy Bridge chip for slightly cheaper price?

    Intel Core i3-3225 Ivy Bridge 3.3GHz LGA 1155 55W ...
     
    Fif23 says thanks.
  5. tropicmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    15 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    NC/FL
    Fif23 and MxPhenom 216 say thanks.
  6. Fif23

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    158 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    SSD ! Right ! Totally forgot about these.
    So there's no good reason to get AMD ? i3 only ?
     
  7. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,185 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,976
    Location:
    Home
    AMD only if you can load the 4 cores, for example Battlefield 3. CoD players need not apply.

    Personally I would keep the Q6600 and get SSD first, and see how it goes. If its not fast enough then its probably the Ivy Bridges (or SB if you cannot afford the more expensive board).
     
    Fif23 says thanks.
  8. Fif23

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    158 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    That actually sounds great because i'm not seeing any "lags" on COD and Diablo at this moment....

    I'll go pick up an SSD tomorrow and see how it goes.


    Is the X4 AMD CPU and MOBO cheaper than IB combo ? There are so many AMD's I don't know which ones are solid. What's a good AMD Combo ?
     
  9. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,185 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,976
    Location:
    Home
    At the moment, either the Trinities for low budget (A series), or FX41x0 again for low budgets. Consider FX81x0 only if you need the compute power. Pair with appropriate board, for all other purposes get Intel. People might have differing opinions, but I live in a country where electricity costs a lot, and Intel wins almost every time here (sometimes by slimmest of margins).
     
    Fif23 says thanks.
  10. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,452 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,492
    i would lower the mobo to a $100 range one and get a core i5 ,either SB or IB.
     
    Fif23 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Don't forget that ANY ssd (not only the sata3 ones) will do the trick. You don't need a sata3 mobo+ssd to "feel" the difference. So choose the biggest ssd you can afford.

    It should give your rig quite a boost in responsiveness.
     
    Fif23 says thanks.
  12. dom99

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    234 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Get a Samsung 830 256gb ssd, I did and even in my sata2 MB I don't see any lag on anything, plus the price has come down so much after owning mine for over a year I'm considering raid0 and getting another.

    Or if your budget allows get the new Samsung pro ssd, it's the best ssd available at the moment all data types considered
     
    Fif23 says thanks.
  13. Fif23

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    158 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Got it, so it's safe to say I can pull another year out of this Rig and that I should invest in SSD's for now and an I5 at least in the next upgrade.
    Correct ?
     
  14. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,185 (5.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,976
    Location:
    Home
    That is what I would do.
     
    Fif23 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page