1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking for new Motherboard for LGA775 Q9550 w/ SLi support

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by GeneralDodo, Jun 8, 2009.

  1. GeneralDodo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Miami
    So i've decided to replace my ASUS P5N-D because the damn thing just doesn't have as many options to OC as I want, aside from horrible vdroop I had to pencil mod to somewhat take care of. At any rate, i've been looking up but just can't decide which motherboard to get for my Q9550 :)

    Something that'll keep stable in high OC would be nice. Been looking at http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813141005 this here. tell me what ya think <3
     
  2. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,232 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
  3. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    780i should be ok, alot of people would say to go Intel but with my experience with Nvidia the 780i should work wonders.:)
     
  4. RX-7

    RX-7

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    265 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Wichita,KS
  5. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    I can tell you to NOT get the MSI 750i SLi zilent - mine craps out at about 440 FSB, and still trying to stabilize a Q9650 at 3933Mhz.
     
  6. GeneralDodo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Miami
    thanks for the info.. <3 :)

    I suppose i'll go with the 780i..
    Also read that the Intel chipsets don't support SLi? /shrug

    Hell, in a desperate attempt to get a stable 3.8ghz on this damn board I set HT and NB @ auto voltage.. with FSB @ 1800 x_x..
    to say the least, my BIOS was freezing up and at times my screen would get glitchy, but i managed to enable to default settings and fix it up before it froze again. Did a few tests and yea, my CPU is fine lol. Had me worried a sec that I messed it up
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page