1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking for pots for volt mods and some guidance 1st timer here

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by DOM, May 9, 2008.

  1. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Its done just need the pots and put it back in the case

    pics ;)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2008
  2. largon

    largon

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,782 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    DOM says thanks.
  3. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
  4. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    DOM says thanks.
  5. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,965 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    826
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    Don't use a cleaner compound or tinner unless you have a really fancy $100+ soldering iron.

    Just use a wet sponge. ;) Trust me, its just as good and I was taught that in "hands on" electronics classes. :D

    *update* Heh, I was typing when he said it. :laugh:
     
    DOM says thanks.
  6. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    okay so im most likely

    get the 25-Watt Pencil going to see if they got it later today see how the tip is

    and the flux

    and would this Solder do 0.50oz. Standard Rosin Core Solder (60%-tin, 40%-lead), Diameter 0.032"

    also should i get 50k for all the MODS or 10k for the VDIMM MOD

    and i'll go with the wet sponge :D trying to save also

    cuz I found this site for the posts there less but you need to have The subtotal of each item must be more than $4.99. To meet the request: :p
     
  7. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    You can order a single VR from ALied, if you wish. Plus there search system is far superior. You always know what you are looking at. I'll pay the little extra for peace of mind.

    And that's basically the solder I use. Both my iron and solder came from WalMart. lol.

    Oh, and I didn't scroll down far enough to see the vMCH and vDIMM mods. Use 25turn trimpots, and just use the values they recommend. Like I said in the PM, I recommend Bourns trimpots. The Honeywells I have aren't as linear, and can get a bit touchy.
     
  8. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    but I know the Bourns Mfr's part# and to pay 2 for one kind of hurts lol cuz there like .90 some at the place

    also im going to try the VMCH MOD NB mod first see how it goes want to get 4GHz :D
     
  9. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    doest it matter if there lead free pots ?
     
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Not from a performance standpoint. Only from an environmentally friendly standpoint. lol.
     
  11. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    LOL thought that much cuz where you get yours there only keep in stock the LF ones it seems

    well going to radio shack at 10am when they open see if they got the things I need cuz walmart had a 25watt iron but looks like they took something out of it :p think it was something to do with being ROHS Compliant

    think im getting them from where you get yours :p total oder has to be $24.99 :wtf:
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2008
  12. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    whats a good gauge or awg wire to use for volt mods ? 30awg is the lowest I found also can get it at radioshack :D
     
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I just cut up an old 40pin IDE cable, and used single strands from it. Solid core telephone wire works well, too.
     
  14. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    well I already got 30 AWG wire from RS should that work Good ?
     
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Should be fine. It's solid conductor, which is easier to use for soldering on a pcb.
     
  16. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
  17. calvary1980

    calvary1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,801 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    Location:
    Toronto, CA
    I know. I just realized Radioshack only had a 1K and 10K so I deleted the post. 1K is used for Video Cards.

    - Christine
     
  18. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    well need to go back and get a lower heat solder got silver bearing solder 96/4 mofo dont wanna work :banghead:
     
  19. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    almost done :twitch: so tired lol

    got all the wires hooked up just need the pots and also put the mobo back in the case

    crosses fingers, hope nothing dies :rockout:
     
  20. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,132 (5.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Looks clean dom
     
    DOM says thanks.
  21. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    thanks :toast:

    lets hope it works :pimp:
     
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Very good for a first time, DOM.

    Let me guess, the third picture is actually the mod you tried first?
     
  23. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Yeah lol

    Vmch, Vdimm, Vcore last was Vdroop

    should get the pots wenday day going use the p4 and some other ddr2 ram dont wanna kill anything first to test lol
     
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    You can tell you weren't used to how your iron works in that pic. One got a little warm. lol.
     
  25. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    on the top of the mofset :p or by the mobo ? i think its the flux

    i didnt get what the wiping was for thanks for telling me :mad: thats why i was having a hard time yesterday, i was letting it get all blk/brn. LOL

    but well see if my dream comes true :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page