1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking for some F or Y splitters for water cooling

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by kodex, Feb 11, 2008.

  1. kodex New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I was trying to wrap my head around how to set up some quick-disconnect fittings so that I would be able to add some more GPU blocks to my loop at a later time. After thinking for about an hour and looking at a few pictures for inspiration, it occurred to me that I could use F or Y splitters to accomplish this. However, I wasn't able to find any that had valves like these in the 5th picture. I'm looking for some that will allow me to add a second block to the loop without draining/clamping it. I'd need them to have 1/2" inner diameter connections, preferably with compression fittings, though barbs will work also.

    Thanks in advance.
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2008
  2. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
  3. kodex New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Thanks for the reply, but read my post next time. I need 1/2" ID connectors and some sort of valves on the ones that branch off from the main line. I want to add more blocks to my loop later without draining the whole system or getting coolant on the inside of my PC.

    Also, Y splitters work too if they fit the above criteria.
  4. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    There are some poly "F" splitters out there, but with that attitude, I don't think I feel like looking for them.
  5. kodex New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Sorry if I came off as an ass, but I was being as nice as I could. I wanted to reiterate to him what I needed, as he didn't seem to get what I was after in my first post.
  6. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    kodex says thanks.
  7. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Here are some other options. "Non-spill" quick disconnects:

    http://www.usplastic.com/catalog/category.asp?catalog_name=USPlastic&category_name=6917&Page=1

    [​IMG]

    I've got 4 of the regular quick disconnects (Personally, I am using nylon hose-clamps).

    Poke around there and you may find what you are looking for. You'll probably get more even flow with a T, but the distrubution bar you pointed out looks great. Maybe with some dilligent poking around, you can find those for sale separately.

    [​IMG]

    I don't see a valve on the last (larger) connect...?
    kodex says thanks.
  8. kodex New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I was considering just connecting some more tubing with quick-disconnects to the unused connections. I was wondering if they might leak due to water pressure, though?

    I'd probably go for these, as they aren't all that pricey. They also look pretty spiffy.
  9. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Most of the ones from USPlastics have a high pressure (and vaccuum rating) - a lot are meant for biohazard and hazardous chemicals, so they don't mess around. I have yet to see a leak after 5+ years. The only thing that ever did leak was a seal on the bottom of my resevoir, but that was my bad.

    And did you consider putting the system in series? That's how I did it. There's pros and cons to both.
    kodex says thanks.
  10. kodex New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I spent about an hour thinking of how I could get quick disconnects to go together well in a series, but I couldn't figure out what exactly I'd need. I figured that using a splitter would be the easiest and the simplest.

    If you've got quick-disconnects in a series, would you mind posting some pics?
  11. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    wow! looks like ive been hiding under a rock :nutkick:

    see what sticking to the norm does!

    thnx for the link to the koolance stuff there :toast: but i still dont see any Y or F style just straight and 90's :rolleyes:

    youre looking for Y's and/or F's not manifolds right?

    have you tried the plumbing section? you might be surprised.
  12. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    Swiftech has some really cool F fittings that work great for that purpose, but they are not compression and the bottom of the F is .25" i think
  13. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Be glad to, can't do till this evening - trying to earn my pay here at work :)
  14. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    he wants those but with shut-offs

    have you tried mcmaster-carr?
  15. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Yea, I'm aware... the USPlastics site has "spill proof" quick disconnects (auto shut-off) - I think he's considering the options and also interested in parallel vs. series.

    I did series because of the predictable flow (plus koolance reccommended it)... With the disconnects, I can quickly take my graphics card out of the loop, or swap out a CPU in short order.
  16. kodex New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I'm looking for whatever gets the job done. It doesn't really matter to me if I use quick-disconnects in a series, Y or F splitters in parallel, or some combination thereof.
  17. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    So here are some pics. The top one shows more detail, and you can see the nylon hose clamp for the return back to the pump - resting above the bottom HDD.

    If you look at the top disconnect to the CPU, you'll notice I drew flow direction arrows - there's also a hose clamp from the radiator...

    The loop for the video card is setup so it can be disconnected and the two loose ends connected M-F. There are no hose clamps there so I'm just careful with a towel (and gravity) if I'm taking that out.

    Bottom pic is to annoy people who don't like LED lights :rolleyes:

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
    kodex and intel igent say thanks.
  18. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    looks good Sasqui!

    you put the rad in the top and modded that fan into the bottom of your case?

    i think you have the same case as me :)

    whered ya get those feet?

    :toast:
    Sasqui says thanks.
  19. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Thanks... It's the Koolance PC2 case - a modded Cheiftec - the top is built by Koolance with radiator/readout and control module - (3) 80mm fans to the radiator - wish they were larger.

    Yea, I added the fan to the bottom... cool air blowing up. Fun job that was! It's a 120mm TT with fan Pot, nice and quiet.

    And those feet are made by "sunbeam" - Cant' even remember where I got them :)

    :toast: Back.
  20. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    those cases (chieftech dragon + antec plusview) were awesome for modding and are great cases

    :rockout:

    i wish they still had them around :ohwell:

    id like to post some pix of my case but all ive got is my phone camera and the pix i try to upload are too big

    i think youd like it, i made quite a bit of changes to it :)

    :toast:
  21. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    is that chieftech case made by antec, or do they use antec parts?? The 5.25 bays look exactly like Antec ones.

    and if you use techpowerup.org to upload pics you can resize them any size you want to compress them down, or they will take them full size too!
  22. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I've seen a few manufacturers using the same shell and components, so I'm not sure exactly. They also have an aluminumm variant.

    Sorry to kodex - this thread is being jacked!
  23. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    chieftech and antec are separate companies but they built cases based on the same design, main difference being that the chieftech models were aluminum and came in various colours. they also had diffent side panel windows IIRC.

    it says the file size is too big its like 598k or something :confused:

    its a good thread ideas are aplenty :)

    :toast:
  24. kodex New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    100 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Thanks for the pictures Sasqui. I was under the impression that you had some cards in SLi or CrossFire along with those quick-disconnects, though. Oh well, I'm still up for suggestions if you guys have any.
  25. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    There's nothing that prevents putting another loop for a 2nd GPU (or even the chipset). The koolance flow is limited by the 1/4" tubing, so it really aint built for more than 2 or 3 blocks. (hell, don't think there SLI even existed when it was made.) If ever I build another water rig, it'll have larger tubing.

    Some extremely awesome things about the Koolance:
    • Self contained, well built
    • Radiator fans are thermally controlled - I only hear the fans occasionally in the summer
    • Redundant pumps (2 of them!)
    • Thermal shutdown (a water temp sensor shuts the whole system down before bad things happen - once I forgot to unclamp the tube and it shutdown after I walked away, TG).

    For SLI/CF GPU loops, it may be better to do something in parallel so one card isn't taking all the heat form the first.
    kodex says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page