1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking for stress test software.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Sasqui, Sep 13, 2009.

  1. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,990 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,675
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    My old PC - 630 pentium in an aBit AG8, has been brought back out into use after about 2 years.

    First thing I found is my old modded X800 GTO is simply not working - PC wont even recognise it. Thankfully, I have an X850XT that is working, so I took care of that as well as a DVD drive that was bad! It's like it rotted.

    Now I'm getting random crashes with the infamous aBit error code that isn't published. This time, it's beeping with code 2.2. Nothing in the documentation. :banghead:

    I'm typing on it now... hoping it won't crash before I'm finished.

    Looking at a google hit "BurninTest" for a S/W stress test... Can anyone recommend any other comprehensive test suite - one that might even log the problem if found???
     
  2. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,448 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    409
    Did you try checking the memory
     
  3. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,990 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,675
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    That was my first suspect.. has passed with that suite. Haven't tried memtest or swapping sticks... I have 1.5gb (LOL). Two 512 and two 256 - GeIL golden dragon.

    The crashes are so random and relatively far between. Maybe caps? I don't see any that look buldgy or leaking.
     
  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,823 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,079
    Location:
    Florida
    maybe voltage is teh low? try prime 95..you can tell that to just do mem..or cpu..or both..and then you can mod how hard it tests each. :)
     
  5. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,448 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    409
    You can try baking the motherboard in the oven :)
     
  6. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,990 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,675
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    ^ LOL... sure enough, I'm getting math errors on the CPU, one the first run and 2 on the second run. uGuru is reporting a max temp of 45 on the CPU, but me thinks the sensors are fucked. Max temp is 45c.

    I've got it clocked at 3.6 now - 240fsb. I've never had a problem even at 247. Going to bump it down to 235 and see where that gets me.
     
  7. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,990 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,675
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Bumped the CPU voltage to 1.41, Mem to 2.7 and NB to 1.55.

    Crashed on loading windows, now all seems good. :confused:
     
  8. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,823 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,079
    Location:
    Florida
    wait so after it crashed you restarted and now its all fine?
     
  9. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,990 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,675
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Yea, exactly. This thing is a BITCH - I'm expecting more troubles...had some of the Giel ram go bad before and it was sporadic. Sucks!!!
     
  10. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,823 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,079
    Location:
    Florida
    aww that would suck failing ram FTL
     
  11. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,990 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,675
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Yea, based on what happened with the board with the previous Geil ram that failed, I suspect the same thing. Shit.

    I need some DDR500. I think the AG8 only accepts 512mb sticks... not sure.
     
  12. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    I've got 4x512mb Ballistix DDR500 if your interested.
     
  13. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,299 (5.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,257
    Location:
    Ohio
    Use memtest86+, get the bootable iso version. It's a as close as surefire way to isolate memory as you can get.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,990 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,675
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Ok, I'm going to give that a whirl.
     
  15. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,990 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,675
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Took out the two 256mb sticks and she's running flawlessly. Frikking Geil - this will be the second pair I've had go bad.
     
  16. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,823 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,079
    Location:
    Florida
    damn man no good. time for another brand i think?
     
  17. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,299 (5.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,257
    Location:
    Ohio
    I've only had Geil once, and I'm using it now. I have the cas4 800mhz black dragons. They run ddr1000 cas5 at 2.15v.

    Just as everybody has to take a shit once in a while, manufacturers have defects once in a while. It's pretty much a matter of preference. For example, low-end boards like Jetway or ECS brand would be fine for 90% of people, but we enthusiasts want something more from the likes of DFI or ASUS.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,823 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,079
    Location:
    Florida
    and as enthusiests im pretty sure we understand that...but as it goes first time shame on me second time shame on you....now its time to move on. nobody is bashing geil its just time to try something else.
     
  19. codyjansen

    codyjansen

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    321 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Occt?
     
  20. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,990 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,675
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I always liked GEIL, but this is rediculous. Ironically, the pair that has the bad stick was a replacement for the old bad ones. ... Though as a company they were very good at honoring the lifetime warrantee, wonder if it's worth the try to get them replaced again.

    The shit thing is how expensive and hard DDR500 is to find now - especially CAS 2.5 I've always run this rig at a FSB of 240 or so, so DDR400 is a stretch, no?
     
  21. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,990 (2.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,675
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    what be that?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page