1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking to Build a PC - Details Inside!

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Bokteelo, Mar 5, 2009.

  1. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    The 550 is Channelwell, but read my previous post as to why that doesn't matter.
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Oh I thought the 750 and 550 were Seasonic..
  3. Bokteelo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Stop arguing in your comptalk and speak English please! I'm quite lost here.
  4. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,661 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ohio
    Give him a break he's really new to this, he is just making sure he is getting his money worth. Get a phenom II.
  5. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    lol. OEM means Original Equipment Manufacturer. It just means that Channel Well Technologies actual builds the Corsair PSU. But it is built to Corsair's specifications based on a Channel Well design.
  6. Bokteelo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Is it possible to have 2 cooling fans? I want my computer to be as cool as f***ing possible!

    And thanks for telling me what OEM stood for!

    Revenge, so the PII X4 BE would be the way to go huh. (I'm going to shove in the AM3 socket mobo, so anybody have good recommendations for DDR3 RAM?)
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2009
  7. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
  9. Bokteelo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
  10. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I think you should stick with DDR2 honestly.. I was gonna do DDR3 as well but it just doesn't seem worth it.
  11. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    I couldn't agree more with the people telling you to go Phenom II 940BE. Right now newegg has a customer code to get an additional $10 off. (up through the 12th of March)
    As for a motherboard, you'll end up paying a little extra for one that's PII ready, otherwise you might have to pick up a cheap Sempy (short for Semperon) to update the motherboard's bios.
  12. Bokteelo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Hm... Is there a mobo that supports DDR2 AND DDR3 RAM?

    And one more time! Can I have 2 cooling fans?

    So what it looks like so far:


    PSU - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139005
    HD - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136319
    Cooling - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835233023&Tpk=Xigmatek HDT-S1284EE
    CPU - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103471
    MB - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128377
    RAM - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148150

    So which memory and mobo am I going to be going for? I WANT to incrementally upgrade, but I don't absolutely need to. Only thing I'm going to upgrade is an extra 4870, I'll be satisfied with just that if nothing else is upgradeable.
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2009
  13. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Two fans on the Xigmatek? No. You don't need two tho. And yes there are some upcoming boards that do both but like I said DDR2 is fine.
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    2 cooling fans for what?

    And yes, there's an Asus board that supports both DDR2 and 3. It was posted earlier. It costs more than the other DDR3 boards tho, so it offsets the price of just going DDR3 to begin withh. Just grab the AM3 board, and the ram Shadow linked.

    If you go with a DDR2 only board, you may as well just build the Q9550 setup, because you'll have to upgrade your board to upgrade your cpu down the road anyway.
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2009
  15. Bokteelo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    I've seen some gaming computers that have like, a billion fans. (Well, 2-3-4!) Like, 2 on the side, 1 on the top, something like that right?

    And crap, which exactly is the AM3 board? I'll never be able to figure which is which unless told by experienced professionals, so if possible could you go back a few pages?

    What exactly is RAM latency? And setting clocks with RAM?

    -Lost-
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    The more case fans you have, the cooler it will be. It will all depend on your case selection tho. You want at least 2 120mm fans on the case, 3 or 4 would be better, but not 100% needed in most cases.

    We'll get to setting ram when you actually get it put together and have to worry about it. Until then, don't fuss about it too much.

    I'd say this board for lower cost: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131366

    Or this board for better Crossfire performance if you ever decide to go for 2 gfx cards: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128377

    And like I said in my previous post in an edit, if you go with a DDR2 board on AMD, you may as well just get the Q9550 setup because you'll likely have to replace the board to upgrade the cpu in either case.
  17. Bokteelo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I'd say a P45 board, high speed DDR2 ram, and a Q9550.
  19. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Not really true, most of the current AM2+ boards are releasing bios updates to support AM3 and DDR3. I know that he doesn't know how to flash his bios, but if he's anything like anyone else who's ever joined this site he will know within a few months.
    Bokteelo says thanks.
  20. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Lookin good man. HD 4870 1gb would be the best to get now. You can get another later when they are super cheap.
  21. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    AMD is dropping DDR2 support in their upcoming top of the line cpus. It was posted in their roadmap.
  22. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    He has a 790X and DDR3 kit listed. I say go for that stuff.
  23. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    I know this, but the 940 and upcoming 945 both support DDR2 still. If he gets a board that supports DDR2 and flashes the bios down the road he'll be all set to use DDR3.
  24. Bokteelo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    479 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Isn't flashing the bios extremely dangerous?
  25. bigtye New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    212 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Melbourne
    yes you can have lots of case fans. many cases come with 2x12cm fans (one in front and one in back) but have spots for mounting more. How many fans you fit, comes down to how many the case is designed to have. Also you must then have enough power to power them all. The psu's (power supply units) you are looking at, corsair/channel well, are both good so you should be fine within reason.

    Also, when you have picked all your parts, post up here before you buy and ask people tol tell you if the parts won't work together.

    As to AM3 boards, many websites list the board as AM3 or Am2+ in the description.

    eg this australian site, see the mother board sub catagories

    http://www.scorptec.com.au/computer/19/

    Tye

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page