1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking to Build C2D Help Picking a Mobo and Cpu

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by DOM, Nov 21, 2006.

  1. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Looking to Build C2D Need Help Picking a Mobo and Cpu

    Well I really dont know which mobo to pick cuz my Wife let me get two thigs one for my B-day and one for X-Mas. Cuz are the C2D's prices every going down anytime soon? Well i was looking at the 6300 and the 6400 but dont know if its worth the 40 extra bucks for the 6400 and as the mobo which one's are good that are out, or is there one coming out thats going to be good for ati cards like full 2x16x pci-e or is there one out aready? really need help before i oder them want to do it tonight.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2006
  2. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
  3. Protius New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,411 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Wonderful Ohio
  4. wtf8269

    wtf8269 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,495 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ohio
    There's a DFI Crossfire board using the RD600 chipset coming out sometime soon. I don't know when exactly, but it's the motherboard I'd get if I went Conroe. The only problem is that the socket is located toward the top of the board, making it hard to fit larger than average CPU heatsinks.
     
  5. Protius New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,411 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Wonderful Ohio
    ^ do u know when that suckers comin out?

    i remember seeing a pic of it and it's colors are really funky
     
  6. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
  7. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    is that going to be the best or what?
     
  8. Protius New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,411 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Wonderful Ohio
    the r600 is hard to tell, but will most likely be best at ocing, but that probly wont be out soon

    that 975x is suppose to be the best current intel overclocker (correct me if i'm wrong) have heard any bad things about it. Main reason i'm goin with that is cuz of crossfire support
     
  9. wtf8269

    wtf8269 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,495 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ohio
    The RD600 will probably be one of the best. DFI will also be releasing a 680i based socket 775 motherboard.
     
  10. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    well tigger69 has the 965, but i dont think i want to go with the 680i based, now its between 975 or 965 cuz i want to stay with ati. unless the RD600 is going to come out soon like this year will it? and does it matter if its 4 or 8 pin Cpu power connector cuz the 975 says 4pin and 965 says 8pin and my psu has 4 pin
     
  11. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    you can just use the 4 pin i a 8 pin slot (says so in Zerks computer build guide, I think it says most times I'll go see).

    "If your motherboard has a big 8 pin connector instead of the usual 4 pin connector and your PSU only has one 4 pin connector, do not worry. Just plug in the 4 pin connector where it fits there. The extra four pins are for very demanding systems to ensure stability and are usually not needed."
     
  12. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    well i dont know which one to get i was also thinking of the Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 Motherboard that your going to get right? and i just :confused: cuz that mobo is also good but cost less but i need some help cuz i think its not how much it cost but what you can do with it. but i also like ASUS
     
  13. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
  14. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
  15. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Cuz i was look at getting the ASUS P5B Deluxe with out the WiFi-AP dont think i need that really dont know what its for :laugh: but i had got this mobo http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813135022 and it worked with my ram cuz dont got the cash to buy new ram cuz the cpu and mobo are going on a credit card and i have to pay it off before the 0.0% finishes and another $300 on ram isnt going to help me do that :laugh:
     
  16. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    http://usa.asus.com/products3.aspx?l1=3&l2=11&l3=307&slname=Intel P965
    you can use your ram

    Those 2 mobos are the same except for wi-fi.

    LIE!!!! >>> Notice: Only DDR2-800 memory supporting JEDEC approved 1.8V operation with timings of 5-5-5 or 6-6-6 is supported on Intel Desktop Boards based on Intel 965 Express Chipsets <<< I think this is a newegg lie!

    EDIT #2 - I cant find the post were we were talking about seasonic m12. Its advertised as a quad rail, but in actuality it is not, though it could be converted to quad rail easily...

    "What Seasonic tells me is that there was an issue with high end video cards overloading a single 12V rail. So with Intel's blessing, Seasonic removed the OCP."
    so they made the quad rail 1 rail. still a great psu.
    http://jonnyguru.com/review_details.php?id=13&page_num=3
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2006
  17. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    so did i make a good choice on the mobo ? {ASUS P5B Deluxe} and is the 6400 worth the extra $38.50 over the 6300? and are the Intel Xeon Conroe a better cpu then the regular C2D's?
     
  18. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,628 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,389
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I would steer you towards the DS3 (having RMA'd an ASUS because of known voltage problems), but they are both great boards once you figure out quirks.

    If you are really interested in overclocking, get the 6400. If it's a solid chip, the 8x multiplier will put you soundly into the low - mid 400 FSB, for an OC of 3.4 to 3.6. If you have good DDR2-800 ram, you should be able to run well up to DDR2-1000 range with looser timings.

    I got the 6600 and found a sweet spot with the 8x multi around 445 fsb (3.56 GHz on a Gigabyte DQ6), ram running at DDR2-990 5-8-8-18. All on STOCK Air. So I may well have been a little richer if I had gone with the 6400 :)
     
  19. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    It's not recommended. Certain boards draw quite some power and could melt the connector. The extra wires are there to balance the load, use them.
     
  20. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,628 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,389
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Even Intel boards say the 4 pin connector is fine, UNLESS you are pushing an Pentium Extreme Edition (not Core2DuoX)... but arguably 8 pins is safer than 4.

    Both the ASUS and the Gigabyte boards coem with an 8 pin connector, but have a cap on 4 of them... and both say the same thing about the Pentuim D EE.
     
  21. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    thanks guys, so what about this ? are the Intel Xeon Conroe a better cpu then the regular C2D's?
     
  22. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,628 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,389
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
  23. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
  24. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    hey there DOM i think the p5b-dlx is a better choice than the ds3,the dlx also has the ich8r sb rather than the ich8,which means the dlx can do raid from the six main sata connectors were as the ds3 cant.

    my mates ds3 would'nt post at 350fsb too,so i'm kinda glad i went with the dlx.

    and on the chip front,i would have got the 6400 but could'nt afford it.i dont suppose it matters tho' as i can pick any speed from 1.8ghz(266fsb) to 3.9ghz(560fsb) with the right cooling.i am gonna get some h20 cooling for this now i reckon.

    i am gonna run this 6300 at 3.5ghz with ram at 1ghz.
     
  25. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    yea thats why i want that one cuz you had a good oc with it, but im not going to get that high untill i get faster ram. and did you see that pic i put on your thread on the DS3 it from another forum maybe he can help your friend if you want the site let me know
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page