1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looking to replace the Q6600.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by trickson, Dec 18, 2008.

  1. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
  2. lollerskater69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    395 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    The q9300 and q6600 have identical performance.

    If you looking for an upgrade, go with the Q9550.
     
    Zax85 says thanks.
  3. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Q9300 is like a downgrade to a Q6600.

    Get the Q9550.

    Don't use thermal paste, make sure you use vegetable oil.
     
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Q9550 would be the only reasonable choice. Not that it really is to begin with.. The Q9300 is a terrible OC'er. If I were you I would just stick with the Q6600, its still a monster.
     
    trickson says thanks.
  5. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Well I think I have taped just about every thing possible out of the Q6600 and well as you may know more is better and the Q9550 is a nice CPU and I can get more out of it than I can out of the Q6600 .
    But I don't know ...
     
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    If you got the money and can pay it all easily do it. If you are having financial troubles don't. That's my advice :)
     
    trickson says thanks.
  7. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    Q6600 to Q9550 is not exactly an upgrade.
    You should just buy another VGA card, and SLI them.

    It would give you alot more FSP, than Q9550 at 4GHz.
     
    trickson says thanks.
  8. Haytch

    Haytch New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Australia
    The Q6600 is far better then the Q9550. These boys are right, stick with the Q6600 till its time to properly upgrade. Q9300 sucks.

    If your constantly at 3.6Ghz with 100% stability now, going to the Q9550 would just be a waste of money.
    Please note, that your system will need a better PSU at one stage or another, esp. if you take the second gfx card option.

    The Rocketfish 700w is really a Huntkey Titan 650w (HK650-52PEP)
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2008
    Zax85 and trickson say thanks.
  9. lollerskater69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    395 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Thats good advice. This man knows what he is talking about. =)
     
  10. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    OK well you all make a valid point and well maybe I should just stick with the Q6600 then .
    Thank you all .
     
  11. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    q9650
     
    trickson says thanks.
  12. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    When I get my Core i7 920, I'm gonna use vegetable oil.
     
  13. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,135 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,195
    Stop spreading that BS, please. Yes, it performs better than most thermal pastes in the short term. However, there is a reason people don't use it. It has been around for years after all, it isn't like this is some new discovery.

    There are 2 main problems with Vegetable Oil as a TIM.
    1.) It runs. So is slowly will run out from between the heatsink and the processor.
    2.) It goes rancid. So it starts to smell, and it begin to mold over. Neither of which people generally consider good things to happen in a computer.
     
    Arrakis+9 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  14. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    So if I do get the Q9550 I would see a performance boost right even at stock speed I should see some improvement and when over clocked it should be big right ?
     
  15. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    You might. I noticed a bit of a speed boost going from a E2200 to a E7200. Going from a 4200+ to a E2200 tho.. Not so much.
     
    trickson says thanks.
  16. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    HHMM interesting ...
     
  17. lollerskater69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    395 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    I have my tower upward and it hasn't leaked out, nether has my brothers.

    And no I haven't heard of people using veggie oil as TIM until I showed you guys. BUT, if someone did use it, congrats to them.
     
  18. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Thanks any ways but I think I will be sticking to AS5 ;) .
     
  19. G-wiz

    G-wiz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    65 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Florida
    yea i'm using vetable oil as we speak it keeps my athlon 3800+ X2 OC from 2.0 to 2.35 28C idle and 38 load
     
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I had a Q6600 before this that I ran at 3.6Ghz 24/7, then I got my Yorkfield. Even at the same clock speed it's faster, with the added benefit of being able to clock 600Mhz higher for benching.

    One thing you must consider with the 9550, it would take 423fsb to hit 3600 and 470 fsb to hit 4GHz. make sure you know what your board is capable of.
     
  21. Haytch

    Haytch New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Australia
    ROFL, Veggie oil, why not something a little more CRUDE. Hell is that why America went into Kuwait ? I would never substitute decent quality thermal paste for something assured to eventually kill my pc. Noctua's NT-H1 can be spread on by a 4 year old. Who sends you need to stick to the $8us budget, why not go all out and get proper thermal paste.

    Are you the guy that runs his pc in a bucket of oil ?
     
  22. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    When your CPU reach a certain speed, more MHz won't give you many FPS.
    Seriously, If I was you, I would buy a second GTX260.
     
  23. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    So? Mine did that with the stock cooler and TIM.
     
  24. lollerskater69 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    395 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    show us your temps.
     
  25. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    OK enough with the vegetable oil I use AS5 and that will never change .
    Hwever I am still looking for more advice on this I am tourn , I can not get any more from this Q6600 and am looking for a CPU that can reach 4GHz like most people have .
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page