1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

looking to upgrade/build(AMD vs Intel warning)

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by p_o_s_pc, Sep 16, 2009.

  1. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    It is coming time to upgrade my main rig the CPU is getting really dated and i am wanting more crunching power for WCG. I will be using my biostar ta790GX and 4850e on another build. I also don't feel that my current board can hold up to a overclocked quad.
    the uses for the rig
    1.WCG/Bionic :D
    2.overclocking
    3.Folding
    4.gaming
    5.benching
    6.internet
    I think that is about all.

    I will be using the case,PSU,ram,hdd,HSF,video card (will upgrade as i get the funds)

    Here are the choices i am considering
    AMD
    Foxconn A7DA-S AM2+ http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813186150
    X2 II 240 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103688
    [​IMG]
    Intel
    Asus p5Q SE http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131347
    E6300 (45nm) http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819116091&cm_re=e6300-_-19-116-091-_-Product
    [​IMG]


    If someone can assure me that my current board can holdup to a overclocked PII X4 810 overclocked and running 24/7 crunching @ 100% I will go that route
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    dude, the biostar ta790GX supports the 965 so... i don't see why not. were you having problems with your 4850e any far as getting it stabled to a higher clock? (You state in System Specs. a bad BIOS Flash so that may be a problem?)

    what is your budget? if i were you i'd try to get the 550 or go a little bit more for the 250.
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  4. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,832 (4.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,402
    Go with what JR suggested :)
  5. codyjansen

    codyjansen

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    319 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    i have the amd phenom II x4 810. have not turned on the system that is in yet.
  6. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I would go with it but i won't lay a finger on anything lower then a 790gx.Why do you suggest not going 775
    my budget is about $180us I got the problem worked out.It was a bad bios flash.I reflashed it with the same bios and its fine now. I don't feel that the mosfets can handle a Oced quad. I have seen so many post on forums and newegg reviews that they burn out when overclocking a quad or become unstable even with heatsinks on them(i have cooling taken care of for them)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,820 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah man, don't do it. My Biostar TF720 A2+ which is the same thing you have motherboard/circuitry wise (plus/minus expansion slots), just a stronger chipset, burned out with a Phenom 9500 trying to do 2.65GHz at 1.375v. It also took out that 9800GT I had at the time. Got the board back from rma and I won't even run my Kuma at 1.375v for fear of it burning up and possibly taking more than just the board out with it.

    You want to do some serious overclocking? Get a better board. I could be running this CPU at 3.4GHz but my board is limiting me to 3GHz because I'm afraid voltage will overwhelm the board (and possibly other stuff as well). I say go Intel simply because it's fun to play with something different once in a while. I don't know what a good board would be though...
  8. Rapidfire48

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    535 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    If you are going AMD I would go 720 BE and an MSI 790FX-GD70. Great mobo and you night get a 4 core chip. this is not a whole lot of money.
  9. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    eh, i would try and go with ASUS, Gigabyte, or ASRock. i would say grab my board but eh that's me Lol! really though the ASRock A780GXE/128 is really something when it comes to OC'ing. the ASRock AOD790GX/128M which is the 790GX Version with the SB750, you can't go wrong with the price at $100. the performance you'd get versus a ASUS Board wouldn't be that WOW. though, i have to hand it to ASUS for their boards supporting the 965 while ASRock doesn't. that's a shame.

    btw, great find there man. i need that Quad core Athlon II :rockout:
  11. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,096 (3.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,616
    Socket 775 is a dying tech, sure parts will be cheaper but there isn't going to be anything to upgrade to down the road but ~3.6ghz cut down C2Ds with ridiculously low cache. The Q9650 was pretty much 775s swan song.

    I stumbled on a pretty good deal for a Phenom II X4 955 BE BNIB, thinking about picking it up, if you may be interested PM me.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    whats wrong with the Foxconn? From everything i have found it is better then this Biostar that i have now and the biostar ran the piss out of some of the higher end 790GX boards and it overclocks like crazy(with Duals but not so much for quads) the Foxconn is supposed to be all around better from cooling to clocking.

    also what Asus board would you recommend?

    just a FYI i am pretty set on the Foxconn unless someone can provide proof that they aren't good
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    get the foxconn, i had a A79A-S and it was a really good board IMO
    but since your going with AM3 cpu go for this one

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813186168
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  14. ASRockIQ

    ASRockIQ New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    949 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Daphne, AL
    it's not that i don't trust Em' it's just i don't see many having one. i haven't touch one but still i go with my gut and go with the other brands.
  15. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,650 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,186
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2009
    More than 25k PPD
  16. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    thanks guys. I am trying to stay away from DDR3 for awhile.I think this upgrade will be the last DDR2 board i will get.

    @assassin could you tell me how the foxconn board you had clocked and stabilty temps that kinda thing. If you would something like a mini review to sum things up would be great
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page