1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

looking to upgrade old rig, need advice

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by pepsi71ocean, Oct 1, 2010.

  1. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    As the title states im looking to stay cheap, i am going to reuse my CPU, ram and case.

    The rest is garbage, as i think the PSU took the GPU out.

    the CPU is a X3220
    Ram is Gskill Dominators 1066mhz
    case Cooler Master CM690

    running the cpu and the ram on another computer they passed the torture test on the uBCD.



    So i don't have a budget but im looking to replace the mobo, Gpu and psu.

    im looking to drop the money for a PSU and maybe a MOBO this may check, so any suggestions. or the gfx card first?

    I am looking at the Nvida GTX 4 series

    Something like this

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130550

    Also is there much difference between the GTX ansd GTS series?


    the motherboard and the PSU are still up for grabs, ide like a PSu around 700-900watts and

    i was thinking

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817256034



    Now the mobo i haven't a clue, but i want one that is 775 and has ddr 2 capability, but if you guys can convince me to go ddr3 for little expense then go for it.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2010
  2. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    are you dead set on staying on the socket 775? personally I'd hold out for a new CPU/RAM/MOBO from the new sandy bridge CPU's coming out later this year, its only a few months away.

    that or a current P55 mobo and core i5 760 would run circles around that Xeon CPU, especially when overclocked.

    as for the PSU I'd look at either Corsair 700-900w range, or an Enermax.

    then as GPU's go again there are new cards launching really soon, AMD's 6000 series, otherwise the GTX460 or GTX470 at the lowest price you can find are both a great card.
     
  3. Obsidian86

    Obsidian86 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    so far south you wouldn't understand
  4. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    im thinking P55 mobo then, any suggestions as i have heard DFI no longer has blood iron's
     
  5. Paintface

    Paintface New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    389 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
  6. cheezburger

    cheezburger New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    265 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    according to your rid spec i'd only suggest you this:

    don't waste your money on s1156, if anything that's below i7 860 would not be much of difference compare to your x3220. maybe 8~15% performance increase but it is not that worthy for such upgrade. if you have some piece of gold on your hand you better go 1366 and get at least i7 950 or above for actual upgrade. or else save some cash and wait for sandy bridge.
     
  7. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    i can't seem to find any ddr2 S775 mobo's, i guess the 775 is dead, ide hate to think my X3220 has no upgrade ability, but then again its been about2 years since i built this rig.

    and can you enlighten me to what sandy bridge is?
     
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    @wolf

    Less than that for Sandy bridge.

    @pepsi

    Just Intel's new architecture. Basically, a new socket. Yup you heard right, P55 is now outdated. Maybe it's time for you to go AMD?

    x4 955 Black x4 630 or maybe even an x3 440 (pricing respective)
    870 chipset
    4GB 1333 cl6 or 1600 cl7 ram

    That's what i would base it on.
     
  9. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Sandy Bridge is Intel's new architecture for the core i-series. You've got a long time until its releasse.

    As far as your upgrade goes, You can either go core i7 or Phenom II.

    TBH your rig is still really good, I really doubt you'll benefit from a upgrade ATM.
     
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I THINK his psu took out close to the whole system.

    EDIT:
    @Pepsi
    Also to add
    As far as GPU goes, you got ATi HD6k right around the corner.
     
  11. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    3 years of F@H killed my PSU and before i knew it most if not the whole system was shot out.

    EDIT: how does one figure out how well an AMD system will clock up based on FSB speed or HT etic, how would you put together a mobo, cpu and ram, and what about the ATI over the Nvida for gpu, would the nvida play well with the AMD articure?

    are there any socket's that are future proof for the next say 3-5 years, or is Intel going to play a hop up game.

    im thinking of going AMD, but im so used to the Intel artichure of over clocking the AMD side seems like chinese to me now.

    Do you think that an AMD system would be able to run games like GTA IV, Empire total war, and do it with a really good frame rate.

    I think my though is how easy is it to over clock AMD's, its been a while.


    OH, WAIT, i forgot i have a water cooling set up, and i have to go back and check the CPu water block, but i would like to use it if i can, i have about 95% of the stuff for a water setup.
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2010
  12. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922

    FSB/HT x default multi - i.e. FSB/HT of 270 x multi of 13 = 3510MHz

    If you've got a AMD black edition you can move the multi alone without touching the FSB/HT.



    A Nvidia GPU plays no differently on a AMD or Intel CPU, likewise, ATI GPUs play no better on a AMD or Intel CPU.

    Buy the best GPU which fits your budget and needs regardless of whether its ATI or NVidia.

    Intel is already changing sockets for Sandy Bridge. There is talks AMD is changing sockets with its bulldozer but will offer backwards compatibility with its socket AM3 and possibly AM2+.
    Time to broaden your horizons?

    Yes, you make it seem like AMD is inferior or something.

    I would be more concerned with a video card than run those games, a modern CPU will not restrict you.

    Very, there are tutorials online but I doubt you'll need it.
     
  13. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,293 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,464
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    AM3+ processors won't work on AM3/AM2+ AFAIK. This because the new architecture would be too different compared to the current. The backward compatibility that people talk about, as far as I have understood, refer to the fact that Phenom II/Athlon II CPUs will "fit" on an AM3+ mobo, not that AM3+ CPUs will work on a AM3/AM2+ mobo. It has initially been the goal to design it that way, but it appeared technically impossible (because AMD would else have been forced to drop certain new features in the design).
    But I believe there is an AMD employee who regularly visits this forums, so maybe he/she can give some light. :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Asrock extreme3. 8x+8x vs 16x+4x, so if you have crossfired/hacked SLI in mind it would work better. Also it has a touch better onboard audio.

    EDIT:

    If you don't mind buying 2nd hand this is one hell of a deal!!!
    [FS][US] Rapidfire's Fire sale. M4A79T Deluxe.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2010
  16. TSX420J

    TSX420J

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    378 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41

    Wait for kepler, it would be worth the wait. I currently have a gtx260 and was going to
    upgrade to a 470 but the difference in performance wont be as drastic as if I were to
    upgrade to a kepler. Save your hard earned money till next year, its going to be a fun one.
    You already have a very capable machine just hold out and get something you are
    really going to notice the difference from.

    http://www.tcmagazine.com/tcm/news/...ermi-successor-called-kepler-coming-next-year
     
  17. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,164 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922

    I'm not saying that a AM3+ CPU will work on AM3 or AM2+motherboard, instead the bulldozer architecture may come in a seperate variety to fit AM3 or AM2+ sockets. Its already been written in the major computer journalism websites that bulldozer will be on AM3 too so they can not go back on their word?
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2010
  18. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    How about this list?

    Depending on the PSU choice the total price is between 552-772 bucks.
    Ide like to stay on the low side of the 552, and im looking between 700-900 watts, any suggestions.

    Mobo

    ASRock 870 EXTREME3


    CPU
    AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb

    gfx
    EVGA GTX 470 (Fermi) 1280MB 320-bit GDDR5

    PSU
    ??????



    Now i have a D-TEK Fuzion CPU cooler that says it fits sockets AM2 S754 S939 LGA 775 S478
    because it fits AM2 will it fit AM3, im assuming this does fit because the CPU's are backwards compatible maybe the blocks are as well?

    also, are there water blocks for the GTX 470 series?

    i have hoses, and a radiator as well.
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2010
  19. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Am3 uses same cooling mounting as am2+. Psu: maybe dark2099's seasonic for $70?
     
  21. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    is AM2 and AM2+ the same?

    i'll think about it, i ready the Watercooling threads but they all suggest single rail PSU's, and advice on Water cooling this rig?
     
  22. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
  23. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Cooling wise: they are the same. Architecture wise: only a few small differences regarding ht link and northbridge.

    My advice:cpu only- Single dual 120 rad or cpu+gpu- dual loop/dual 120. I say one solid rail or 2 highly rated rails.

    And to your above post: if you need to save a touch of cash go down to a 955 Black, or if budget allows up to a 1055t. Don't bother with the 965.
     
  24. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    Ide like to cut the price down a bit, but i can barely see anywhere to cut prices. i could go with the used PSU, but i guess i should look up and see about a lower wattage PSU.

    Would 850 watts be over kill for this system?
     
  25. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page