1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Loop best order options?? (diagrams inside). HAF X dual 360 rads

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by douglatins, Mar 5, 2012.

  1. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    I have this setup, not really 2 pump/res just showing the two options for mounting.
    Which is the best way for me to route the tubes? To make it easy to bleed and everything else

    Top is a MCR-XP
    Back a RX360

    Type 1
    [​IMG]

    Type 2
    [​IMG]

    Type 3
    [​IMG]

    Type 4
    [​IMG]
     
  2. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    746 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    i would go for option one, the way you put you WC stuff doesn't matter that much aslong pump is @ the bottom of the case
     
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2012
    douglatins says thanks.
  3. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,561 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Loop order does NOT matter outside of having the res before the pump. Temps within a properly setup (as in enough rad) loop do not vary by more than 1-2C from any point inside the loop.
     
    douglatins says thanks.
  4. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Most direct (shortest) with least bend's is best :)
     
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,099 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,283
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Type 2 would be most ideal for draining, as the pump and res would have a decent amount of tubing so they can be moved out of the case to drain. Also, removing pump when draining can help with flow.

    Of course, the rear rad ain't gonna be fun to empty. So, with Type 2, you could lay hte case on it's side with the pump/res hanging out below, might make that a bit easier.

    Since everyone else ignored that bit of your question. ;)

    Unless using some sort of chiller.:laugh:
     
    douglatins says thanks.
  6. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Assuming the use of an EK res it can detach, negating any concern's :) There may be other res' that detach but i have always used a Tline :eek:
     
    douglatins says thanks.
  7. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,561 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Even then, temps do not vary from point to point more than 1-2C with a proper loop. It doesnt matter if the coolant is 30C or 5C on a chiller, it will still be within 1-2C from any point in the loop with proper flow rates and enough rad/cooling capacity.

    Unless that was sarcastic or something? :confused:
     
  8. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    :eek: I think there would be quite a difference in the loop in/out on the chiller, prolly a 15c ^T, but after that yes everything would be within a couple degree's. Technically :rolleyes:
     
  9. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    i will put a T line just after the pump
     
  10. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,561 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Id link to see some supporting information on that to learn where(IF) I went wrong. Thermodynamics and my frightningly mediocre knowledge of watercooling and loops tell me otherwise (and so does testing from skinee/martin labs IIRC).

    BUt we are drifting a bit OT.
     
    douglatins says thanks.
  11. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,247 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    I guess you're right, after a while temps would equalize :eek:
     
  12. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    Type 5
    [​IMG]

    How bout this? [​IMG]
     
  13. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,099 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,283
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Much better. ;)

    You don't really need the "t" though, should be able to take the top off the res and drain from there.

    Myself, for draining, I'd be removing the pump/res together anyway.
     
    douglatins says thanks.
  14. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,869 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    I already have the fittings, so unless it's a worse idea than taking top off...
     
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,099 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,283
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I like to use forced air to remove remaining water from a loop, perhaps others have more input now that your question might be a bit more clear to them. :laugh:

    Anyway, I don't think it's a worse idea, at all, really.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page