1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Looping Sound Crash to Blue Screen of Death

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by MK4512, Feb 1, 2010.

  1. MK4512

    MK4512 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Randomly, my computer will freeze up, the screen will distort, any sound that is playing will loop, and then it will BSOD.

    Temperatures are not an issue, and I have run memtest and Windows 7's memory checker. After the crash, my avast! Antivirus will be broken, and I need to repair the installation. Programs won't start, and I can't even access my control panel.

    It's very annoying, any help would be very much appreciated.

    EDIT: I also updated my Catylst and Display Drivers yesterday, uninstalling the old ones.
     
  2. robal

    robal

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    485 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    At this point, it's hard to say.
    It can be hardware or software related problem.

    Buggy driver, bad BIOS settings, or hardware failure can produce BSOD.
    BSODs are nasty, you never really know.

    Please post your crash "minidump" files. We'll try to look if it's software problem.

    Cheers,
     
    MK4512 says thanks.
  3. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    What error code does the BSOD provide you with?
     
    MK4512 says thanks.
  4. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Using a creative card ?
     
    MK4512 says thanks.
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    see if it happens at stock clocks.

    My guess atm is ram - despite you saying you tested it, did you test its heat levels after several hours of use, and make sure its not slowly building up heat over time? (same goes for NB)
     
    MK4512 says thanks.
  6. MK4512

    MK4512 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    How would I acquire a crash minidump file? Also, no I am not using a creative card, I don't know how to test heat on my ram or nb, though my ram has heatspreaders, and both my nb and ram are at stock...

    Also, my BSOD code is odd. I don't have time to write it down as it only stays up for 2-3 seconds, then the computer restarts.

    EDIT: I found my minidump, but I can't upload, it says it is an invalid file...
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2010
  7. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    839 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    Location:
    Latvia
    My Computer, right click, Properties, System protection (cant realy remember in english, cause i have Latvian UI), More, System Start, options, at the bottom small system dump must be chosen from list. Then crash your sistem and attach file there.
     
    MK4512 says thanks.
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    'system protection' is the correct wording in the english versions of windows.

    [​IMG]
     
    MK4512 says thanks.
  9. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,098 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,269
    Location:
    Kansas
    My MSI video cards were doing this right before they took a dump. One blew a capacitor and smoked all to hell and another smoked as well. Sounds awfully familiar....

    If you've got a backup GPU give it a go and see if the problem arises again.
     
    MK4512 says thanks.
  10. MK4512

    MK4512 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Alright, going to try, will report back if I can get it to/when it crashes.

    Jeez, I hope my 4890 isn't broken, I paid a helluva lot for it!
     
  11. Polarman

    Polarman New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,627 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Rimouski
    Disable "Spread Spectrum" in bios.

    Doing this may eliminate a possible culprit.
     
    MK4512 says thanks.
  12. Indra EMC

    Indra EMC

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Nagoya Hills
    Set your bios into Default setting, and try running your PC for approximately 2 hours IN SAFE MODE. if that's not crash, you just have bad bios setting and bad drivers.
     
    MK4512 says thanks.
  13. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    Check Mussels' screenshot. There is also an option to "Automatically restart". Turn it off.
     
    MK4512 says thanks.
  14. MK4512

    MK4512 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I can't find spread spectrum in my BIOS, what section is it under?

    Turned off Automatically Restart.

    Also, the crashes aren't that frequent, they happen about ever 1-2 days.
     
  15. MK4512

    MK4512 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Can anyone suggest software to measure RAM heat levels?
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,565 (11.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,836
    ahem... that would require your ram to have temp sensors in them. they dont.

    Use your fingers, or a infrared thermometer.
     
  17. Frederik S Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    371
    Go to stock settings and see what happens. Had the same issue both when I OC'ed a bit beyond the limits and when my CellShock RAM where beginning to die on me.

    I would use the ultimate boot cd and run some memtest+ for a night and see if it turns up errors.
     
  18. Indra EMC

    Indra EMC

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Nagoya Hills
    why you not underclock your RAM and your Processor, better safe than sorry mate.:)

    and don't forget to check your motherboard stand-up bolts, why this is important ? because vibration from CPU fan and other fans maybe shake your motherboard, and your RAM or other peripherals loose, that's why your PC get crashes.

    so, motherboard bolts must be as tight as possible (but please be gentle, and try not to break it) make sure your motherboard not shake when using.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page