1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

losing power unexpectatly

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by karolpl2004, Aug 23, 2013.

  1. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    646 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    i moved to a new house. plugged in my beast and after loging in, it turns off as if it lost power. turned it on again, works for a little and same thing. eventually as soon as i turn it on, it turns of after a few seconds... tried a second computer, and similar problem occurs with that one. tried a different outlet, and same thing. is it possible the electric in this house is effed up? or just a coincidence that both computers got messed up during moving?
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,632 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,584
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Are you plugging straight into the wall or through a surge protector? Maybe try a different surge protector? Did you try an outlet in a different room or same room? Are you using the same power cable? I have made the mistake of using one of the puny cheap power cables and had power stability issues..using the heavier duty larger gauge power cable that came with my PSU made the difference there.

    I know with my PC after it's been off for a bit, it turns on and off a couple times before booting up totally. Have you waited to see if your PC does the same? Mine is an Intel..and I'm not sure on the AMD side of power loss recovery being different or not.
  3. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,066 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Try moving to to a room on the other side of the house to be sure that ur on a different circuit and try there
  4. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,795 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,492
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Way back in 1999, my grandparents had my dad build them a K6-2 450 machine, and it would shut off after about 5-10 minutes. It was plugged into a 3 outlet wall tap with a treadmill (which wasn't on). The wall tap was faulty, as they had complained that the treadmill would shut off as well long before they got their computer. We unplugged the wall tap, and both the PC and the treadmill worked properly on the original outlet.

    Try a different room, sounds like a home wiring issue or something. Does the house have copper or aluminum wiring? I know aluminum was used for a brief period (it was cheap) until the wiring expanded and contracted enough to break, and it apparently heated up pretty good as well. Might not be your issue, but I figured I would share that tidbit.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    646 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    i did straight to wall. ran an extension from a different room. one seems to run ok now, besides the smart bad status.. but my main on still acts up. i tried unplugging everything and same thing.. tried psu by shorting green with a black and it runs fine... so its coming down to mobo or cpu..
  6. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    646 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    after running it plugged in short on the psu, some strange whining noise came from my h100 cooler. does that thing have a pump in the cpu block? im guessing this is my issue.. im gonna try the stock cooler.
  7. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    The thing on the CPU is the pump/cpu block combined.
  8. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,741 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,600
    You probably just noticed the whining from the pump when you had the PSU shorted because it was running balls to the wall. It's speed is controlled by the motherboard, so it is usually more quiet.
  9. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    646 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    if the cpu gets too hot, would it just immedietly turn off?
  10. westom

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    180 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    No such conclusion is possible. That jumper has simply disconnected a power controller from the PSU. Faults that must cause a power off (including an overheated CPU) are no longer detected. Numerous reasons exist for strange operation. Too many to list here.

    Important are basic facts and numbers. Otherwise the fewer who better know this stuff can only remain silent.

    For example, operate an incandescent bulb on the same receptacle as the computer. Does that bulb change intensity or flicker? An important fact.

    To understand a relationship between PSU, motherboard, and other relevant functions requires numbers from six wires between motherboard and PSU. Measured with a meter. A tool so inexpensive and simple as to even sell in stores that sell hammers. Some sell for less than $10. Without those numbers, answers can only be speculation.

    That meter can also report on house wiring - defective or perfectly good - or if irrelevant to the failure.

    Either get facts that point to a specific problem. Or continue random changes until something works. Those are your only two options.
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2013
  11. karolpl2004

    karolpl2004

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    646 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Chicago
    the cooler was the problem. i bought a zalman cnps10x for now until i rma this one. thanks for all input

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page