1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Losing video card signal to all six monitors???

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by kciaccio, Mar 13, 2012.

  1. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Ever since my build back in December a few times a day all six of my monitors will lose signal and I will have to restart the computer.

    At first I thought the computer was crashing, but I was seeing CPU activity on my G510 keyboard. I decided to log onto my computer thru logmein(remote log on) and my computer was still on and showing my screen saver until I bumped it off with my input activity thru logmein.

    All my hardware is new in signature including the power-color eyefinty 6 card.
    VisionTek 900373 Radeon HD 6870 2GB 256-bit GDDR5 ...

    What do you guys think it is? I have the most up to date ATI drivers.
  2. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    I disconnected the two monitors from the card that used an active adapter leaving only four monitors connected.

    Two by display port and two by display port to DVI and the problem still occurs so I can cancel out the active adapters as being the problem.

    Any suggestions?
  3. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,568 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    643
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    If you did new build you may need to look - here Control Plannel\Power Options/Choose when to turn off the display/Turn off the display; select "never" /Put the computer to sleep; select never

    See if you still have issues

    nb:AND/ATI drivers are known not to be good at comming out of standby (it may have to do with this!)

    Hope this helps

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
  4. moocow0463

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    404 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Try using single monitor see what that does sounds like card pcie or power issue if it's hardware related
  5. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    I have switched to another PCI-e slot and still have the issues.

    The problem is so random. I am going on 24hrs now without it going down. Most days it could be several times a day, sometimes only minutes apart.

    I suppose I could try using only one monitor.
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,890 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,972
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Ah, yep, had this happen.

    So, when you tried 4 monitors, which monitors were used?

    Have you tried all 4 on DP, only, or is this not possible? What connectors do the monitors support, and which do you use on each? Have you labelled each monitor so you know which is which out of the sets?
  7. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    When I went down to only four monitors for testing for bad active display adapter I used my two monitors with display port inputs and two monitors with DVI inputs.

    The video card has 6 mini display ports out.
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,890 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,972
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    So, you were using two Dell P2210H, and two of the others?

    Did you try the 4 others together, and did the same happen?


    Do you get where I'm heading here?;)

    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    • 189.jpg
      189.jpg
      File size:
      75.5 KB
      Views:
      220
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2012
  9. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    So, you were using two Dell P2210H, and two of the others? Yes

    Did you try the 4 others together, and did the same happen? No


    Do you get where I'm heading here? No, I must be a little slow. lol
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,890 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,972
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    The issue might be caused by the Dell P2210H(Which is using DP without adapters, correct?). Try using just the other 4, and see if the issue persists. I spent some time dealing with Dell and XFX on this issue, and this is part of the reason I went through 9 RMAs with HD5870.

    What's really funny is the DP is desgined by Dell, or some crap. But i think this entire generation had issues, and it's why they were quickly discontinued. I ahve no idea as to the actual cause, except that getting rid of the PXXXXH-series monitors and moving to 6950's fixed all those problems.
    kciaccio says thanks.
  11. kciaccio New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    366 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    I never would have thought of that! Thanks. I will give it a try.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page