1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Lost 6870 Bios

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by lfcevo24, Apr 4, 2013.

  1. lfcevo24 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hi guys need a little help from you people with the know how

    I have 2 6870s

    This one
    http://www.hisdigital.com/gb/product2-660.shtml

    And This one
    http://www.hisdigital.com/gb/product2-663.shtml

    I Tried to flash the Bios to the Black edition one XFS is it?
    But it didnt work so I went to revert back and my backups werent there,...

    Lock stock style traveling to my mates house then back again with a computer to flash a bios that works

    Put the first HIS bios running the same clock speeds that worked back on and it doesn't feel like it runs the same can anyone please look into the 11 Choices that are on the bios list and tell me which ones are for which card they don't say its just 11 Choices of 900/1050

    Dont know if any of you can "read" the bios to get the right ones with right connections and fan speeds and everything?

    Any help would be appreciated

    Chris
     
  2. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,635 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    To test these vga bios files; ensure they will not brick your cards look here http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=340398&postcount=24 and follow instructions


    If you open Detail and read it should say; example http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/109591/HIS.HD6870.1024.110816.html This is the first card
    core and mem and ports look the same

    HIS requires 900 core and 1050 mem [4200 divided by 4 = 1050]

    download GPU-Z here http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/SysInfo/GPU-Z/

    run gpu-z and upload a screen shot from the HIS card

    Note: dont forget to uninstall and reinstall drivers after flashing

    *will update if I can locate one for the IceQ
    Edit: Maybe this http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/112604/HIS.HD6870.1024.110727.html This is the second card
    core and mem and ports look the same

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2013
  3. lfcevo24 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
  4. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,635 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    It may be possible that the vga card/s were damaged; when flashed with the wrong bios.

    Note: other members of TPU may be able to upload a more upto date vga bios image or maybe ask around on other forums

    Edit: Welcome to TPU

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2013
  5. bonzai_cyberninja

    bonzai_cyberninja New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    42 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Aussie land
    I've got a 6870 bios around here somewhere, and I'm pretty sure its a 900/1050, don't know if its HIS however, but if you have RBE I seem to remember you could changed the manufacturer or something to suit your cards. Not sure how I'm supposed to upload a .rom file however


    But I just remembered how to do it, so have fun, its in a zip file, attached to this wonderful edited post.......I hope

    Btw you may want to check that bios over, as I honestly cannot remember wtf I've done to it in terms of voltages etc etc etc. Anyhow, good luck with it all matey.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 4, 2013
  6. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,116 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,396
    Location:
    Washington, US
  7. lfcevo24 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thats the 11 I have to choose from, Ive seen those i just wondered if any of you could read the file and see exactly which one is for which card, would HIS send them to me if i asked ?

    Also why didnt the XFX ones work? they seam to work from most people but both my cards didnt take them, and these cards cant be manually overclocked AT ALL useless, just ati driver has crashed blah blah blah, If id have known now that these cards were like this id have left them in the shop and saved some more

    .....

    One thing is for sure, I shall be flashing the cards one at a time lol
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2013
  8. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,635 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    You could try but any warranty went out of the window when they were flashed

    This has been done - here [would it be to much to ask for a thank you!]

    Because XFX Bios image is not meant for HIS vga cards

    - were drivers uninstalled and the vga cards flashed separately at a dos prompt

    What cards are Most people using; are they reference design; what are you trying to achive, higher clocks, mem, voltage or other

    nb: most people use software to OC, afterburner or other

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2013
  9. lfcevo24 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Cheers Law,

    Big help I'll give those two a try a bit later, if this week is anything to use as a guide my cards will be stuffed.

    Can someone please tell me what is meant by reference cards ? I presume just a board brought from ati that's then fiddled with and has new bits put on new bios's stuff like that? but wouldn't that make all cards that aren't directly from AMD reference cards?

    The drivers weren't removed no :S and both cards stupidly flashed at once, I kind of just jumped into it after reading a few boards and made a big boo boo

    I never have any luck with overclocking with software just crashes all the time
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  10. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,635 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Reference card comes with reference PSB and cooler in most cases
    Example
    HIS-Radeon-HD6870-1GB[1].jpg
    HIS-Radeon-HD6870-1GB-PCB[1].jpg

    However some of AMD's addin board partners choose to enhance the reference design; at this Point The Card becomes Non-Reference: For example but not limited to: tweaked memory timmings, higher quality VRM's and or Third Party coolers such as the HIS IceQ cooler including Bios Images

    For software OC using Afterburner; both cards have to be the same core and mem speed.

    Factors to be built in to the OC process
    -Fabrication process of the GPU [differs from one to another some OC well and other not so well]
    -the cards are different [General Rule of Thumb; find out the max OC for each card individually and then use the lowest OC for both cards, increase 5~10Mhz on core in stages test at each stage, if the system freezes you have gone to far, lower the OC by 40Mhz and then start the same process with the MEM increase 5~10Mhz once you get artifacts back the OC down by 40Mhz; Use GPU-Z to keep an eye on VRM Temps these can rise quickly when OC's are applied Keep these between 70~80c : 85c Max]
    -Adjust vga card fan speed manualy
    -Be aware that some games do not like OC's and testing with each game as well as benchmarks is nessasary
    -Coolers differ [while one card may cope well with heat the other may not; Place the cooler card at the bottom when in crossfireX]
    -Make sure the OC is synchronised, most third party OC software will allow for this
    -Make sure the drivers are stable; if they are unstable they will crash the OC
    -Check that the motherboard is setup and chipset drivers are up to date [Run CPU and MEM at default speeds while testing vga card OC]

    atb

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2013
    H82LUZ73, xvi and Aquinus say thanks.
  11. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,787 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    And they all should have that big white AMD logo on the bottom above PICE golden fingers(hence made to AMD specs) non-Reference will not have this logo.IS the easy way to tell them apart.

    I also forgot all Reference boards came and still come in black pcb.........


    OK IF your card is the black pcb try this BIOS http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/88738/HIS.HD6870.1024.101004_1.html

    If it is the one you posted (the last version on non-reference board then use LawII one above .
    They way that BIOS data base works is newest at top the oldest At the bottom. Your links point to the last 2 versions HIS made of the 6870 so the (1 and 3) top most BIOS versions will work,Yes make sure you flash ICE version separate from the other one.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2013
    Law-II says thanks.
  12. lfcevo24 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Cheers guys Its all sorted now, Both of the ones Law picked were right funny thing is I'd randomly put the IceQ one on already was the same when I went to change it, the second card must have been wrong and causing the random little artifacts, Thats all gone now though thanks

    Am currently running

    i5 2500k @ 4.7
    with both GFX cards Running at 920 1090 with no crashing

    Thanks
    LFCEVO
     
    Law-II says thanks.
  13. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,787 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Glad to hear and welcome to TPU :rockout:

    ps

    please fill out the system specs under your user control.Will help with reply's if we know them just by clicking it under your name.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page